We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
11 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$365
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/26/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
$351
View deal
Agoda.com
$298
View deal
Hotels.com$363
Priceline$367
Travelocity$365
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (482)
Filter reviews
482 results
Traveler rating
406
60
14
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
406
60
14
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids club beautiful hotel restaurant manager main building buffet restaurant house keeping wonderful pool every guest perfect holiday pool or beach old town greek style end of june sea water welcome drink breakfast and dinner plenty of sun loungers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 482 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2019

Where to start with this superb/excellent hotel review?
We were allocated a junior suite in the main building (room 204) a corner room with a patio area facing the sea (sight of sea between apartments) and views over the pool to the right together with a small side balcony.
We arrived at 22:30 and were greeted by reception staff as we got off the minibus. The cases were taken to the room whilst the various hotel facilities, etc. were explained to us. We were then shown to our room, and all the room facilities were explained. As we had arrived late we had missed the evening dinner service, but the hotel had kindly provided a sandwich and a bowl of fruit in the room together with a welcome drink. Since we were on a half-board package, we were given a voucher for use at the a-la-carte restaurant for lunch on our last day, as we were being collected at 5pm for the return journey to the airport.
Room 204 has a huge walk-in shower, two sinks, excellent water pressure and plenty of hot water. In the room are tea and coffee making facilities, mini bar, fridge and safe with a 6 digit code. The bed originally had a topper mattress on that we found made it much too soft for a comfortable sleep, but this was removed the next day as requested which gave us a firm mattress for a good night’s sleep. As room 204 is at the end of the corridor it is very quiet with no one passing, although the maid’s storage cupboard is immediately opposite next to the lift which can cause some noise disturbance, however cleaning activity does not begin until after 8am.
You can choose to sit outside for all meals in the sunshine or inside when the evening weather was a bit cooler.
Breakfast buffet is available from 07:30 until 11:00 so there’s no rush to get up for breakfast before it closes. There is a very warm welcome by all the staff, and the choice and quality of food is superb, with at least a dozen hot dishes and a cold selection table, including traditional Greek cuisine as well as international dishes together with lots of fresh fruit choices. The fresh portions available are not large but these are regularly topped up before the plates are emptied and the display is in a very welcoming and artistic manner. Sparkling wine, tea, coffee, fresh fruit juices and water are also available for breakfast at no extra cost. Attention to detail and presentation of food is beautiful, a work of art.
Buffet dinner is also of a very high quality although the a-la-carte restaurant is available providing high quality table service of a 5 course meal. There is a limited a-la-carte set menu with 2 choices for each course included in the half-board package that changes weekly, but a full a-la-carte menu is available to choose from too at an additional cost. The a-la-carte restaurant is a jewel in the Grecotel Caramel crown, serving awesome food with excellent presentation and service.
The hotel complex is quite small with just 69 rooms including the main building and a number of separate small apartment blocks set out in a village style complex with well-lit pathways at night. All the buildings in the complex have been designed for discretion with minimal overlooking from one room to another, and well maintained gardens throughout. Most of the steps between the 3 floors do not have any hand rails, although there are a couple of lifts, if this is an issue for people with walking difficulties.
The fabulous swimming pool is 1.2m deep across the whole pool and there is a separate Jacuzzi. This area has been creatively designed with its really unusual 'lily pad' sun loungers in the water and sunken dining area. The pool is filled with sea water and lights up in different colours in the evening.
There are sufficient sun loungers with mattresses, umbrellas and a number of cabanas for shade around the pool. The complex includes access to a very clean sandy beach with comfortable sun loungers with mattresses and sunshades available at no extra cost to hotel guests. This serviced beach area also has a snack bar and 2 changing cubicles, together with outdoor showers. There are plenty of clean beach towels available as required at both the pool and at the beach whilst small bottles of water are provided once a day to guests around the pool and at the beach.
In summary an excellent 5 star small hotel complex; so peaceful and relaxing; quality good sized bedrooms; top quality furnishings and décor throughout; excellent service; very friendly and helpful staff with nothing being too much trouble. Choice and quality of food are excellent. Top rate training and ethos for all staff who are obviously proud to work at Grecotel Caramel Boutique Resort.

The only aspect that needs improving would be the towels in the bedroom as these have seen better days and were a bit thin and way past their best.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgios_Daskalakis, General Manager at Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2019

Dear chchester
Warm greetings from Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort and sunny Rethymno.

Thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday in Crete and for sharing such an elaborate account of your experience with other TripAdvisors.

Guest comments are of utmost importance to us and a great tool that enables us to constantly evaluate the level of our services and facilities. Within this context, we are delighted to read that we have managed to exceed your expectations in so many aspects and rest assured that your constructive comments on the issues that you have encountered will be thoroughly looked into with the team.

On behalf of all of us, thank you once again and we are looking forward to welcome you back to Caramel in the not so distant future.

Best regards

Georgios Daskalakis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2019

Small boutique hotel with 69 rooms.
The rooms are extremely clean, and perfectly appointed. Beds are comfortable.
Very nice bathroom with good rainshower.
Breakfast buffet is excellent. Fresh orange juice; more than enough choice of hot and cold.
Evening buffets are equally of very high standard and varies every evening.
What sets this hotel far above others is the staff: every member is charming, friendly and extremely helpful. Special mention for Oggy, the maitre. He has the natural flair and humor to entertain you everyday.
We had a wonderful stay !
Are there some negative points ?
only 2:
the pool is beautiful, but at the end of april freezing cold. Some heating with solar panels, would be far more comfortable.
Refreshments at the pool are prohibitively expensive: 3,9 euro for a glass of sparkling water ...

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Frederic3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgios_Daskalakis, General Manager at Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2019

Dear Frederic3006
Warm greetings from Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort and sunny Rethymno.

On behalf of all of us, here at Caramel, allow me to thank you for selecting our hotel for your recent Cretan escapade and we are very pleased to read that we have managed to provide you with a pleasant and relaxing holiday in so many aspects.

Thank you also kindly for the constructive comments and rest assured that we will look into them and apply all the possible rectifying actions.

Looking forward to welcome you back in our resort in the not so distant future.

Best Regards

Georgios Daskalakis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2019 via mobile

Iv never written a review and had to join TripAdvisor just now. We are actually still at this hotel, half way through our babymoon holiday. I have been so pleased so far that I wanted to post a review now to ensure everything is fresh in my mind and I don't forget anything! We arrived at Grecotel very late in the evening due to our flight but all travel woes quickly left us when we were shown to our room. Knowing our late arrival the hotel had left fruit, wine and sandwiches in our room. From the next morning it just carried on getting better really. This hotel is immaculately clean, the decor is chic and the staff seem very happy working here. Oggy the manager makes you feel like you are the only guests in the hotel, I have no idea how he remembers every guests' name and previous conversations with them but it brings a special personal touch.
I read a previous review suggesting the beach be raked, I noticed every morning a member of staff raking the beach. This recognition of feedback was nice to see and the hotel does seem to seek ways in which it can improve further (I'm not able to provide this as I think it's perfect here).
I would definitely recommend having breakfast to your room as this is included (when your stay includes breakfast) with just a €10 tray charge. We are on half board and had breakfast on our terrace which was idillic and a memorable experience.
The food at the restaurant is also beautiful and is just that higher quality than other 5 star half board hotels.
All in all we love this hotel and will be happy to return along with our family once our baby arrives!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank alana r
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgios_Daskalakis, General Manager at Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2019

Dear alana r,
Greetings from Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort and Rethymno.

Thank you very much for taking some of your holiday time to write such a wonderful review of your experience with us, whilst still in house.

As you have so kindly noted, guest feedback is our most valuable tool that enables us to constantly assess the level of our services and facilities and take the necessary steps for improvement.

We are delighted that your stay exceeds your expectations and rest assured that we are all at your entire disposal to assist you in making the most out of the remaining 3 days of your stay.

Best regards

Georgios Daskalakis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2018

we loved our time at the Caramel, we had a beautiful room just a few steps to the private beach with beautiful cabanas for relaxing, the pool service boys were the best on assuring we could enjoy our days, (shout out for Andy!).
The hotel manager is awesome, he surely knows how to make the hotel workers happy as you could see only beautiful souls working there, from the 3 super professional Maitre D to the chefs, from the table service to the cleaners... all so kind and attentive...they truly all amazing.
The receptionists are so helpful and kind, we loved in particular Maria!
the swimming pool is a delight to look at while having bfast or dinner and the entertainment was high quality &varied.
We loved the location and all about it !
thank you for a beautiful holiday
Donatella and Stefano

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Trail29721772580
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgios_Daskalakis, General Manager at Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2018

Dear Trail29721772580,
Greetings from Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort and sunny Rethymno.

First of all allow me to thank you for choosing our resort for your recent holiday, but also for taking some time to share your experience with a review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay. Thank you for notably mentioning the facilities, namely the pool and beach areas, as well as the entertainment, but mostly for the mention of the service offered by our team.

Rest assured that your comments have already been shared with the team and we would all be looking forward to welcome you back in the not so distant future.

Best regards

Georgios Daskalakis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2018

We, two of us, plus a little furry friend, stayed at this hotel for 9 days during the second half of September. It is situated on the eastern outskirts of Rethymno along the old Heraklion to Rethymno road, which is a bustling and not particularly smart area. But enter through the impressive frontage and you find yourselves in a different world – a positive haven. What a contrast!

On arrival, we were ushered into reception while a porter parked our car and dealt with the luggage. A welcome drink ensued with a charming member of staff followed, with registration details efficiently dealt with. To our surprise, we had been given an upgrade from a junior suite to a bungalow suite with garden. This, needless to say, was very much appreciated. It was situated very conveniently between the main building and the beach and perhaps 40 metres from the extraordinary swimming pool, which forms the focus of the hotel complex. A complimentary bottle of wine and snacks were in the room. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and beautifully tended.

We had booked on a half-board basis and didn’t regret it. Breakfast was extraordinarily comprehensive and varied. Everything one could wish for from the huge buffet plus the possibility of dishes freshly cooked to order, not to mention the morning glass of bubbly. Dinner was also arranged as a buffet, again with an enormous range of dishes. Such arrangements can occasionally be rather disappointing, but not here. A very good standard. We also ate at the à la carte restaurant on a couple of evenings and much enjoyed the menu there. Dinner was, on nearly every evening, accompanied by live entertainment I the pool area – much enjoyed

That’s the bare bones of the hotel, but a hotel and the experience you have there isn’t solely about the comfort and cleanliness of the accommodation, or the quality of the food, but is largely determined by the attitude and quality of the staff. This is where the Caramel seriously goes off the top end of the scale! Faultless service throughout. Lovely, helpful, welcoming, professional people who seemed to be enjoying their jobs and did them very well indeed. I take my hat off to them all. Well done all round!

I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, and our little furry friend agrees

Room tip: I would, if returning, book a bungalow with garden. It was splendid.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank croquetmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVGENIOS LOMIS, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2021

Dear croquetmike,

Thank you very much for spending the time to share your experience regarding your stay with us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and we are most grateful for your kind review which I have shared with everyone who helped make your stay so pleasant.

Receiving kind comments like yours gives us strength to try even harder to exceed our guests’ expectations with even more enthusiasm.

We truly hope to welcome you and your grandchildren in our Resort in the future.

Yours truly,
Evgenios S. Lomis
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews