We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great holiday”
Review of Venus Apartments

Venus Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Venus Apartments
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Platanias
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Just returned from yet another stay at the Venus. The apartments may not be a modern as others, they are clean and comfortable. The swimming pool remains well maintained with plenty of sun loungers and chairs. Overall,once again, I must highly recommend these apartments for independent travellers who enjoy being welcomed into the Cretan way of life.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank candjaydeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 30 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2011

we have been going to venus apts for over 15 yrs and we have seen many changes over the years. All the family have and still friendly and helpfull at all times. If you want a nice relaxing hol with a nice pool there is no better place. And be prepared to do some greek dancing on barbecue night also be carefull of the home made raki (very good). we went our first time having stayed at other apts in the area but now we always go home. E.g. venus apts.

Room Tip: A room in centre off complex nice and cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bantam58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

A spotlessly clean pool awaits you at the Venus Apartments in Platanias. Most days we had the pool to ourselves, but even when others were there it was still a picture of tranquility. The owners were extremely hospitable and gave great advice about where to go and eat and where not to. There were lots of greek families and couples staying there, which we believe you can take as a very good indication of the quality of the complex, we were not disappointed! Should we visit Crete again we would most definitely stay at the Venus Apartments, aside from the heat- it felt like a home from home!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnabelleH30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

These family-run apartments are spotlessly clean and neat. I've marked down the sleep quality because the beds are rather hard - that won't be unexpected if you've self-catered in Greece before. The swimming pool is a huge bonus - very clean and, more to the point, quiet! We quite often had the pool to ourselves but even if all guests used the pool there would be plenty of sun beds to go around. The family who run the apartments and restaurant/bar live on the premises and are absolutely delightful. Friendly and always willing to help. It's a 10-15 minute walk into Platanes where there are lots of good restaurants to choose from. We caught the bus into Rethymon and it only took around 15 mins to get there (you can also get a taxi for around 8 Euros). Definitely worth a visit as the old town is lovely and there are amazing fish restaurants around the harbour (pricey but nice).

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoycieA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2010

Great Holiday (again) Last two reviews is a different Place
You cannot find fault with the Venus this is our 24th time there since they opened in 93 we have been twice a year many times Great place for all you will not be disapointed

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VeryHappyPeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2009

We booked these apartments following the earlier good reviews on trip advisor. The last two bad reviews do relate to somewhere else that has somehow got mixed up on here. The apartments are set back off the main road with not a lot surrounding it so there is no view of any description. My husband and I travelled with my mum and little girl. We had a one bedroom apartment for all of four of us with two beds in the main room and two in the bedroom. The drawback is the bathroom being off the bedroom so whoever is sleeping in the front room has to go through the other room to the loo etc. Worth taking into consideration depending on who you are going with and who is sleeping where. The pool is huge, clean and excellent with plenty of sunbeds to hand. My little girl (2) enjoyed it very much and I like to swim and it was plenty big enough to do so. The rooms are clean, big but basic with a small outside area, the single beds are very very hard and the bathroom shower is tiny. The family are friendly and cook lovely eggs in the morning, fresh from the chickens across the road and do a good greek salad and lovely coffee. However, the food menu is limited, the wine is terrible and the bar/eating area is basic. It is a short walk to Platanias where there are loads of nice restaurants and bars. Although with small children/buggies it is advisable to get a taxi as it is along quite a dark road with no form of pavement from the apartments to the main road. It also doesn't cost much in a taxi to Rethymnon. Unfortunately, there was unexpected rain and this caused power cuts so the weekly barbq was rained off. Also, you have to pay extra for air conditioning (5 euros per day). A reasonable place to camp down for a week if you want a good pool etc but after a week you will be wanting your own bed and bathroom ;-)

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delly73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

I knew this place would be basic l but I would not recommend it. The photos of the pool are not true as it is currently overgrown and the pool is full of bags of rubble and the shower is overgrown and has a distinct smell of sewage about it.
The room was small and basic and although we asked for a room change the promise never happened. We had cockroaches in the room and had to clean the bathroom oursleves before we could consider using it. It was filthly but nothing that cleaning it properly could not solve!
The room was never cleaned and on day 5 we had to ask for it to be cleaned and the rubbish taken away along with clean towels. They did do this when we asked but this was the only time in an 11 day stay.
We had a hire car and went out and about most of the time though and spent little time in the room, so did not let it ruin out holiday to crete.
Please note that these apartments also call themselves the Oleander apartments too but they are one and the same. The Venus apartments that everyone in earlier reviews raves about is not this one. It is a different address, higher in the mountains not on the main strip. If you click on the link through tripadvisor it will take you to the venus apartments that I have reveiwed.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SashaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Platanias hotels
1.5 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.6 mi away
Grand Leoniki Residence
Grand Leoniki Residence
#4 of 22 in Platanias
281 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Amaril
Hotel Amaril
#21 of 22 in Platanias
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cretan Sun
Cretan Sun
#15 of 22 in Platanias
129 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Axos
Hotel Axos
#2 of 22 in Platanias
429 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marinos Beach Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venus Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Apartments

Address: Fourlanou, Platanias, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Platanias
Hotel Class:2 star — Venus Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Venus Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venus Apartments Platanias
Venus Apartments Hotel Platanias
Venus Apartments Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing