We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have just booked for the third year...”
Review of Eveline Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eveline Apartments
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013

.... and can't wait to go back (June 2014).

Evelin is an oasis of calm & part of me wants to keep this place all to myself, but that just wouldn't be fair to deprive Evelin of the business & you other tourists of this 110% perfect spot.

The rooms, everything you need, general tidy up daily, sheets & towels changed every three/four days. The Greek night (on a Wednesday night) is not to be missed for both food, Mama your mousaka is the best & entertainment value (Greek dancing). A cooked breakfast is available & excellent value for money.

There is a bar on site, run of an evening by Andreous who's knowledge of both Crete & Greece generally, is just first class. He also mixes a very fine White Russian (you must try).

The owners & staff here clearly understand good customer service, this is certainly a place where the customer comes first.

Counting down the weeks! Zoe & Tim

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZoeandTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 175 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

The rooms are clean, airy and spacious. The staff cant do enough for you. The snacks are good value, the coffee is fab too! The pool is large and kept very clean. Plenty of sun beds available.There is a Lidl next door, for some light shopping.
The beach is about 10 mins walk, very clean, Two sun beds, a table and parasol cost 5 euro's for the day and you can come and go as you please. The restaurants are all good value and there's plenty to choose from. Taxis are clean and air conditioned and all good value too. I cannot recommend this place enough and Eveline is one I will be going back too! Oh and look out for the small cake shop in town, uummmmm.....

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmilyDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just returned from the Evelin, what a little gem !!! It's located just off the beaten track, 3mins to the tavernas, bars and shops. There was a Lidl next door which was a god send for carrying the water back. Like other reviews said, the bathroom and kitchen areas could do with a refurb but the outside areas and the staff really made up for that. They were very welcoming and made us feel at home right away. Our room was swept and mopped every day with clean towels and bedding ever 3rd day. The bar and pool areas were great, plenty of sunbeds and parasols on a grass area which was lovely and relaxing. The food at the snack bar near the pool was excellent and reasonably priced, it was a pity it closed at 3pm. The bar staff, Mihalis and Andreas, were very friendly, helpful and spoke good English. They made the time spent around the pool/bar very enjoyable. When the coach first pulled up we were a little apprehensive but when we left we did not envy those staying at the big fancy hotels because ours was like visiting old friends. On our departure we got a big hug and a wave from the owners and Mihalis, you don't get that in big hotels.
We are already looking to book for next year.

Room Tip: All rooms have a pool view except 103,104,203 & 204
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MICHAEL P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We visited Eveline Apartments in July last year, our first time in Crete, and stayed for 11 nights.

People - Straight from the outset, the staff were lovely and friendly. They welcomed all are questions, directed us about the nearby attractions and bus routes to great places.
Special mention to Christina and Andreas for being great hosts, always entertaining and helping you with anything you needed.

Room - Our room was clean, neat and had everything you needed to cook if you wanted. It was cleaned daily (if i remember correctly) to a good standard.

Food and Drink - The food was great, especially the BBQ. They had lots of food, a great atmosphere, and entertaining dancers (of course we all joined in). The bar was right on the poolside, more than enough drink you needed and Christina's milkshakes were amazing.

Locally - We visited Rethymnon town once or twice during our visit, was a lovely place. Lots of shops, unique travel gifts, lovely sea and views.
We visited the town lots, ate out most nights at the restaurants nearby - namely Myli, Vergina No.2, Remember and Taverna Garden. All were lovely with vegetarian options always on the menu for my partner Briony.
One recommendation is the local bakery on the corner as you go into the town. It has lovely fresh bread, savoury and sweet dishes. Our favourite was their feta and spinach pie!

Advice - Rooms all seemed great (from word of mouth) but seems people prefer mountain/pool side views. I wouldn't make a fuss if you didn't, our room was quiet in the corner which was lovely.
Visit the beach at sunset, get a drink and stay there until the sun goes down. Was a lovely evening when we did it.

Thank you for the great holiday experience,
Aaron and Briony.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaronjlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I have stayed here 3 times now & wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else in Rethymnon. Such a lovely family run these apartments. they are so friendly and can't do enough for you. Rooms are nice and clean and the pool and gardens are great. It's set back off the main road so it's nice and quiet. There is a Lidl just opposite where you can buy anything you need. Some nice restaurants here, our favourite is the White Lady on the main road. They are also very friendly and the food is lovely. Massive menu to choose from. There's also a nice Indian restaurant on the main road but I can't remember the name of it. He has 2 Bengali chefs and the food is fab, better than we get at home. There's a little bar/cafe on the beach which does nice snacks and lovely home made wine. We used to sit there until the sun went down.

Room Tip: all rooms are fine as they are off the beaten track
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ChristineL51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

I loved this place, everyone is friendly, i felt like i was back home in the states. They make you feel like family and do everything in their power to get you what you need and want. If you are into scuba diving they also have a centre attached which is family owned as well so you know you will be getting the same great service.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deborah t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Evelin Apartments
This was our first time in western Crete, and we were very pleasantly surprised. The Evelin apartments are a small family-run resort, which is friendly and welcoming. Be sure to ask for a pool-view room to get the beautiful mountain scenery. We had studio 207 which was great. The self-catering facilities are basic, but there is a pool-side snack bar if you need it. We did not eat there but I understand the food is very good. There is also a thatched bar which is ably run by Andreas and Christina. They were great, really helpful and friendly. The pool is beautifully clean and there are plenty of sunbeds and parasols on a grassy area, set within a very pretty garden.
There are many good tavernas within easy walking distance. We particularly enjoyed Finicas, Taverna Garden and Sky Park, but there are loads to choose from to suit all tastes. Take the short walk to the sea and you will find a long, sandy beach with sunbeds. Visit the River Taverna on the beach if you want a relaxing meal or drink – with a beautiful view.
For a dramatic walk, without the congestion of the Samaria Gorge, try the Imbros Gorge, which is smaller but still very picturesque. You can walk the 8km downhill and then catch a taxi back to the top for about 5 euros. Another extremely pretty but very steep walk will take you to the Palm Forest at Preveli on the south coast.
If you fancy an exciting day, speak to someone at Evelin Divers which is attached to the resort. We had snorkelled before but never been diving. After talking to Greg, and having a little practice in the pool, we decided to give scuba diving a try. We were both pretty scared but Dimitris and Dimitra arranged a fantastic day of snorkelling and scuba diving for us. They were brilliant – so patient! We would thoroughly recommend it.
Our special thanks go to Mama, Christina and Andreas (at the resort), and Greg, Dimitris and Dimitra (from Evelin Divers), for helping to make our holiday in Crete a very memorable one.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool-view room, looking towards the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanHuntingdon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
0.3 mi away
Hotel Axos
Hotel Axos
#2 of 21 in Platanias
428 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apollon Hotel Apartments
Apollon Hotel Apartments
#48 of 175 in Rethymnon
180 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aristea Hotel Rethymnon
Aristea Hotel Rethymnon
#28 of 175 in Rethymnon
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Leoniki Residence
Grand Leoniki Residence
#4 of 21 in Platanias
277 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marinos Beach Hotel Apartments
0.3 mi away
Cretan Sun
Cretan Sun
#15 of 21 in Platanias
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eveline Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eveline Apartments

Address: 17 Samou Platanes, Platanias, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Platanias
#4 Romantic Hotel in Platanias
#6 Family Hotel in Platanias
Hotel Class:2 star — Eveline Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eveline Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eveline Apartments Hotel Platanias
Eveline Apartments Rethymnon
Eveline Apartments Hotel Rethymnon
Eveline Apartments Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing