We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Accomodation and Location - pity about the food”
Review of Minos Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Minos Mare Hotel
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2007

I fully agree with the opinion written by Marge1.
We were inspired to renounce in time from the FB because we choose to trip around the island by car.
HB was ok although the dinner was not extraordinary various.
As Marqe1 specifies in his comment lunch is extremely poor.
It is also trough that dinner/lunch is about 10 Euro.
Anyway, a doorstep away there are plenty of pubs and taverna with excellent international and traditional food open late in the evening. In case you choose for an excellent view of the old city of Rethymno and good food than choose the old port city area.
Be reminded that in case you choose to stay at the Villa of Minos Mare (5 stars) you will share the same food and swimming pool etc with the clients of the hotel; you will serve your meal in the hotel’ restaurant; in case of the villa the plus are only in-house accommodation services.
In this case I strongly recommend booking a room/apartment in the Hotel and not in the villas.
I recommend Minos Mare hotel for:

=Eexcellent location:
-close to the exit access to the motorway (E 75 – Agios Nicolaos – Chania)
-close to Rethymno (5 km leading to the beach)
-on the beach (aprox. 50 backyard of the hotel)

=Accommodation services (clean, roomy)

=Staff (English, German, French, Russian, Greek languages were spoken)

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IonutBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 276 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2007

We arrived at 5.30 to 6 am and we were told that our room was not ready for us until after breakfast, no problem the reception staff insisted their car was to take us to a hotel next door. After breakfast we went back to reception to be told that our room was still not ready but they would collect our luggage and take it to our room. This was the one and only hicup throughout our stay. The staff must be some of the best in Crete. I found the food to be of a good standard and the selection on offer would meet with approval from most guests, the housekeeping staff did an excellent job. All I can say is if you don't enjoy your stay here then you should look at yourself and you may find the reason.

Stayed: May 2007
3  Thank Rodrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2006

I think the previous reviewer must have confused the Minos hotel (on busy main road in Rethymnon) with the Minos Mare (in Platanias, at end of minor road leading to the beach). We have just returned from a 2 week stay at this lovely hotel right on the beach.

The staff were friendly and helpful and very professional and the rooms were roomy and very clean. The animator, Lucas, was hardworking and wanted everyone to join-in the activities and enjoy themselves although understood if you just wanted to lie back and relax.

The only downside was the food which was repetitive and boring and the dining room lacked management although the waiters and waitresses worked extremely hard. Unfortunately, the owner and his family arrived a few days before the end of our holiday and staff were keen to serve his party (understandably) at the expense of service to other guests.
I would definitely recommend this hotel but would prefer B&B option rather than Half Board.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank Marge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Milton Keynes
1
Reviewed April 20, 2006

this hotel was fun

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Bedfordshire, UK
115
Reviewed October 6, 2005

I booked this hotel based on reviews which were dated 2004. Having booked it I then started reading negative reviews from people who had stayed here during 2005. Being of an open mind I thought well I can only find out for myself.

Lets start with room. They are of a reasonable size with both double and single bed (some rooms only have a double and are smaller). NO ROOMS have decent view - we looked over the farm next door which is literally 15 feet from the hotel. Typical Greek farm - looked more like a council tip with animals. Other rooms have nice views of the car park or wasteland between the hotel and apartments next door. OK so you don't spend all day looking out of the window from your room but remember this is supposed to be 4 star quality on a beach location. Being on the top floor the next problem was the noise from what can only be assumed as the air conditioning unit on the roof. The noise is a vibration like a badly loaded spin drier. This noise goes on during the night and does not help when you are trying to sleep. Asked to change rooms next morning but told they were fully booked and would have to wait 3 days. We did change rooms but they were wanting us to move out of ours (so they could give it to a new arrival) before letting us know what was available for us - we thought this very strange as we thought they must know where they were wanting to put us. It turned out that they were not just fully booked but OVERBOOKED and we saw people being sent to other hotels on their arrival as there were not any rooms for them. We did get another room only to find that the shower head was useless, pation door did not lock (and this was on the ground floor) and a bulb had gone. It only took them four days to fix the faults even though we were told everyday they were in hand. So black mark for the Reception Desk staff and management for this.

Meals. There is a reasonable variety of food for both breakfast and dinner. The dinner consists of a main course that is served to your table by the waiting staff. They always seem to bring it before you have finished your buffet salad starter and it was only ever lukewarm. Breakfast was good but the staff are very very slow at providing you with tea/coffee which also turned out to be likewarm most days. We ate out for over half the holiday despite having paid for half board. So black mark for most of the restaurant staff.

Pool. Nice size pool and always managed to find sunbeds. The music played by the pool is fine if you are expecting to be at a club instead of relaxing at the poolside of a hotel. The Italian entertainment team just seem to be there to enjoy themselves regardless of the guests needs. They are there solely for the Italians and just blank you completely if you are from another country.

Would I recommend this hotel? Definitely not but we did hear from people who have been going there for years, that it used to be a wonderful hotel but has changed (for the worse) this year. Lets hope that the management take notice of what their guests think of their hotel and try to return it to what seems to have been a nice place to go for a relaxing holiday.

We travelled with Thomson and cannot fault their Rep Claire who did her best to try and sort our problems with the rooms but she seemed to get the same bad treatment as us from the hotel management.

Would we got back to Crete? Definitely, it is such a diverse island full of contrasts of scenery and good weather.

If you are in that part of Crete and like Indian food then the Shambala Restaurant is superb for both food and service. Greek Restaurants of note are The White Lady and Steki.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
15  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2005

We've just returned from 10 nights at the Minos Mare and would tend to agree with the most recent comments. The hotel accommodation, staff and food cannot be faulted. This is a true 4 star hotel, great location, beach, and the village of Platanes provides everything needed outside the hotel. Rethymnon is about 5k away (5 euro in a taxi).

The issue is really with the "entertainment" provided solely by the Italian company, Eden Village.

In the 2005 season the majority of guests at the hotel have been Italian and the entertainment has been specifically laid on for them to the exclusion of any other nationalities (British or otherwise). This is perhaps a little shortsighted on the part of the Minos management and they may well regret the decision.

Notwithstanding this, if like us the entertainment at the hotel is secondary to the other hotel features (we spend little time at our holiday hotels during the day), then this shouldn't put anyone off booking this hotel. It would however be an excellent holiday hotel if some balance could be introduced into the hotel's entertainment programme.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Skipper100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2005

Having read earlier negative comments about this hotel, I had become very wary about what to expect. I travelled with friends who had been many times before, and they too were anxious having highly reccommended this holiday. Yes the animation team were Italian, and yes they played funky, beaty music by the pool for the aqua-gym, but a simple request, phrased with a smile, and the volume was lowered accordingly afterwards. The music was mainly Italian to begin with, but when we asked, they added British hits into the mix, and we were all happy. We spent several evenings at the sister hotel, Minos, a short taxi ride into Rethymnon, where, admittedly, the cabaret was more varied. Every single announcement beside the pool was made in English first, then German, then Italian, so absolutely nothing was missed. We even made the effort to learn a little Italian, and were rewarded by being asked out to dinner by some of the Italian animation team, and Iwo, the hotel's own Slovakian animator, whose English and German were excellent. We heard several complaints about the food while we were there, but to be honest, if you want fish and chips or Sunday roast, why are you in a Greek hotel? The food was local, with several choices, particularly from the buffet if you didn't fancy either of the two main meal choices each evening. Just because some of the food was pasta, does not make it italian, and we only had pizza once, and it was gorgeous!! The hotel staff were wonderful, and were happy to teach us a little Greek, then tolerate our hap-hazard grasp of their language with many a giggle I can tell you. We have been assured that things will be different next season, with no Eden Village, but even if they were going to be there again, I would encourage anyone to embrace the challenge, join in, and have some fun like we did.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LindaW603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
0.1 mi away
Minos Mare Royal
Minos Mare Royal
#9 of 22 in Platanias
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marinos Beach Hotel Apartments
0.6 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#12 of 177 in Rethymnon
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Leoniki Residence
Grand Leoniki Residence
#4 of 22 in Platanias
281 reviews
1.2 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
33.9 mi away
Cretan Dream Royal
Cretan Dream Royal
#3 of 21 in Stalos
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minos Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minos Mare Hotel

Address: 17 Minoos, Platanias, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon > Platanias
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Platanias
Price Range: $103 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Minos Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Minos Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minos Mare
Minos Mare Rethymnon
Minos Mare Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing