We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“why not to go !”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Minos Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Minos Mare Hotel
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Platanias
A TripAdvisor Member
“why not to go !”
Reviewed May 29, 2005

I have just returned from this hotel after a 2 week stay. The hotel is extremely well presented but appearances can be deceptive. The beach front location of this hotel is excellent but unfortuantoely it goes down hill from there. Most rooms overlook the busy hotel car park which is extremely noisy and busy at all hours of the day and night. There are no rooms with sea or pool views

The food is extremely patchy and the restaurant is not large enough to accomodate all guests which does lead to long waits typically 30-40 minutes at peak times. After waiting some 30 minutes for an empty table we commenced our evening meal at 8.50 pm the restaurant closed at 9.00 pm at which time the lights were turned off food removed from the self service buffet to leave us eating in the dark.

Entertainment programme and staff do not speak English only Italian as were the majority of guests generally other nationalities are totally ignored. Booming Disco music plays all day by the pool, the hotel was extremely busy resulting in some English guests being moved to alternative accomodation on arrival due to overbooking. During our visit most English people were placed in basement rooms about 10ft from the car park resulting in many complaints many guests we spoke to having visited for the first or in some cases over many years have pledged never to return.

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    107
    42
    15
    7
See reviews for
81
107
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2004

We visited the Minos Mare in July 2003. Its was definately an above average hotel. The service was very good and the staff were polite and friendly at all times.
The location was excellent with only a 1 minute walk to the town centre of Platanias. Rethymon was only a 10 minute journey by car, which had a better selection of shops and nightlife.
There was not really much we could fault with the hotel, the meals were very good, but we did soon become a little bored with the evening buffet. We probably ate out 6 times of the 14 nights we were there.
The rooms were very clean and modern but maybe a little basic. I thought they were fine but my husband thought they were a bit like a travel lodge that needed a little updating.
The only other thing was that the drinks in the hotel were incredibly expensive. They were roughly the same price you pay at home. We charged all our drinks to our room when were at the pool or by the beach, and boy did it mount up!
In the evening we tended to go out of the hotel, we found some lovely bars in Platanias, and the drinks were a third of what the hotel was charging.
We loved the beach, it was very clean. Some days the waves were quite spectacular. On these days you could only paddle and they would not let you into the water.
All in all, I would recommend this hotel. I would go back again, but I don't like to go back to the same place twice.

  • Stayed July 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank blondebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 26, 2004

I stayed at the Minos Mare hotel from 6th to 20th July 2004 with my 13 year old daughter.

The hotel is situated about 5km to the east of Rethymnon in an area called Platanias, it takes about one and a half hours to transfer there from Chania airport. The hotel itself is about 250 meters off the main road next on the beach in a plesent quiet location. The hotel has a good size lobby with friendly english speaking reception staff and a dedicated multilingual guest relations manager. The airconditioned rooms have a balcony, bath, shower, toilet, tv (with international channels), safe (28 euros to hire), minibar, wardrobe, plenty of cupboard space and room for a double bed, single bed and cot. The rooms are beautifully made up every day and there is plenty of hot water with good pressure in the shower. Some of the rooms have a view of the sea, although others look over the car park (not busy) or restaurant.

The hotel has a main buffet style restuarant which serves breakfast (greek/english/continental) and evening meal. There is usually a choice of main course as well as a buffet with starters, soups, salads, other main courses, and desserts. All well prepared and delicious. There is also a pool bar serving drinks and snacks (2 euros for a soft drink, 2.7e for local beer, 5.5e for cocktails, 7e to 20e for bottle of wine) with a happy hour and a beachfront restaurant serving lunch time food. Again this has a good selection including greek items.

The hotel has a round pool which is clean and has free sunbeds and umbrellas, there is also a small childrens pool. There is a large garden area with palm trees which is nice for relaxing and reading. The hotel maintains its section of sandy beach well and again there are plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas although there is a 3 euro charge per person per day for these. The beach has an european blue flag and there is a lifegaurd. On calm days the sea is warm for swimming, but the constant cooling wind means that it is quite often not safe to swim. The hotel has an entertainment person (new when we arrived) who organises volly ball, excercises etc and runs a mini club. There is some entertainment about 3 nights a week which is ok but could be better, however the Greek night is excellent and is done together with the evening meal in the beach bar. There seems to be some arrangement with local greek people to join in and everyone has a good party and dance.

You can walk into Rethymnon along the beach in about one hour or you can take the bus which costs 0.95e (buy tickets from supermarkets, to get back take the Hotels-Panorma route from the bus station). Rethymnon has lots of little shops and alleyways and it is easy to spend a day wandering around. The Old Town taverna near the interesting folk museum is a good place to eat traditional greek food. The Kalipso Rocks diving school has an excellent introductory day on the south of island for about 80 euros.

The main street of Platanias contains reasonable tavernas and supermarkets (with cash point machines), car hire (80 euros for 3 days for a small car with aircon) and some British bars with picture menus (how sad).

I can recommend this hotel to couples and families and feel sad that I an unlikely to visit such a good place again.

Stephen Davies

Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 11, 2004

We went as a couple in early May 2004. Very modern hotel, outdoor pool area is the highlight really - nice sized pool (no diving allowed) chairs in the pool leaning onto the bar, kids pool is tiny, plenty of sunbeds/shades, bar serves toasties and sandwiches - anything more you'll have to use the beach restaurant at the end of the path (at the entrance to the beach). Drinks out here your looking at approx EUR 2.80 for a bottled beer (2.50 draught if it's available). EUR 4.80-5.80 for a cocktail. Approx 3.80+ for spirits etc, same prices apply to the indoor bar.

Rooms are basic, our family room had 2x singles and 1x double, TV (German, French, Greek, CNN,BBC World etc), pretty lame hairdryer, patio leading to balcony with Mosquito net, Safe (EUR 17.00 for a week), direct dial phone (be warned - calls made via this accounted for 50% of our hotel bill (excl accommodation costs)), mini bar, shower/bath - had no problems with hot water, but don't drink from the taps.

We never used the indoor pool, it's very small too - there's a couple of multigym machines next to this.

The restaurant is ok - but we hardly used it despite going half board. We found the breakfast slightly off-putting (continental / fried ham as bacon etc, baked beans were like baked peas) so only had this once. For the evening meal they seemed to go out of there way to provide non Greek dishes, eg Chicken Curry, Grilled Pork, Sausage and Mash, Veal...although you could get salads, pasta, cheeses etc before your main from the buffet bar. Important: We expected we could have breakfast, then lunch as our 'Half Board' (allowing us to go out in the evening)...not allowed, lunch you have to pay for and get from either the beach restaurant or pool bar. Breakfast and Evening Meal is your half board (hence we missed a few times). Expect to pay EUR 8-10 for white wine with each PM visit to the restaurant, you can't take your own - only bring back a bottle from the previous evening.

Other things I noticed:
Mini Market in the hotel
Jewellery shop
Sun Terrace (never used)
Don't go near the cats or dogs (they're Wild)
The drains tend to smell outside the hotel
2 Internet points for 1 EUR per Half Hour
Pool Table
Table Tennis

The beach I wasn't over the moon about, reminds me of a British beach when I was expecting white, clear sand. Was more of a brown colour and full of stones, sticks and even rubbish - not what I expected but it was OK.

Main street is good, a few British bars, clubs, mini markets, cocktail bars, restaurant, kebabs available, only a 30 second walk from the hotel. Beware of traffic though - there's no pavements so walk against the flow of cars/bikes.

Expect to pay EUR 5.00 to get to Rethymno in a taxi (order from hotel or 30 sec walk to the rank) - Rethymno is more of the same on a much larger scale, there's an old fort, plenty of narrow historic side streets, Easy to Get Lost (we did), there's a MacDonald's (beware of the kids coming up to you playing guitars etc demanding money) and a Chinese takeaway, some high street stores, the bus station.

Staff were generally friendly, rooms have to be vacated by 12:00 (maids are very noisy so you'll wake up anyway)

And of course - don't forgot, you can't put anything (man made) down the toilet - eg paper. Applies to all of Crete.

Hope this is of use.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 29, 2004

hotel in perfect position on the sandy beach - beautiful pool food a wide range with excellent staff. interior decor beautiful especially the reception lounge area with beautiful cretan murals painted on the walls. spotless inside linen changed every day. hotel bedrooms carpeted as are walkways to rooms so no noise of clattering feet and moving furniture - evening enterainment snack bar and pool side bar serving very nice food. staff all very pleasant and helpful rooms have tv bath and shower with toiletries supplied mini bar. perfect to relax and get away from it all. positioned not too far away from rethymnon with its beautiful harbour and shops. will be visiting again and soon.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2003

Excellent beachside location, great facilities, food superb. Best hotel in this area.Entertainment Team (Tina & Michael) brilliant.All staff extremely helpful - friendliest hotel I've been to. Downside - drinks expensive.Would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Helpful?
9 Thank Julia007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2003

We stayed here in September 2002 - and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel is modern and well-appointed, with indoor and outdoor pools, a large restaurant, including an outdoor (but shaded) area which was very pleasant, as it got very hot inside.

Set in a very quiet location, right on the beach, but within easy reach of shops, restaurants, bars, etc, if you want them.

The staff were helpful, friendly and professional. The weather was beautiful and there is lots to see in the area and further afield.

Good sunbathing areas, and never a shortage of space - or sunbeds!

Food good, esp on Greek night. Entertainment a bit variable, but sometimes excellent.

We would heartily recommend this hotel - and will go back. Martin

  • Stayed September 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank ccmanMidlands_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
0.0 mi away
Minos Mare Royal
Minos Mare Royal
#8 of 20 in Platanias
111 reviews
1.2 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
2.1 mi away
Minos Hotel
Minos Hotel
#22 of 167 in Rethymnon
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#11 of 167 in Rethymnon
614 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Adelianos Kampos
1,953 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marinos Beach Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minos Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minos Mare Hotel

Property: Minos Mare Hotel
Address: 17 Minoos, Platanias, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon > Platanias
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Platanias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Minos Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Minos Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minos Mare
Minos Mare Rethymnon
Minos Mare Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing