We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”
Review of Nefeli Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nefeli Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for a week on September, 2013. The price for the hotel with such service, accommodation, food and location was just perfect.
The stuff is great, always smiling, polite and helpful. The food is great, the chef always comes to check if everything is ok, he indroduced himself and gave five to my little son asking his name. My son was very happy during the rest of the dinner.
Tourists mostly germans, but everybody understands English, so no language problems at all.
Rooms are clean and nice. The pool is big enough, however it is not quite comfortable that the pool is near the main street, but we did not use it as the beach is near, great coastline.
Rooms hae air conditioner (free), safe box, refrigertor, TV, wi-fi (extra charge).
The bus stop is oposite the street, 10 minutes and you are in Rethymno.
I would definitely come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: We got a family room (2 rooms with 2 little balkonies and 2 fridges, TV's) on the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank infiniteness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    70
    34
    6
    8
See reviews for
38
82
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orenburg, Russia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had a great time during September 2013 at Nefeli hotel. Cozy atmosphere, amazing working staff, very nice apartments. In the evening it’s getting magnificent and romantic. We got a very nice room with the view to sea. We enjoyed the food, and girls at the restaurant were just amazing! Guys at the reception were very kind, open-minded and polite. They always smile, and you feel Greek hospitality at every corner of the hotel. The owner of the hotel is everyday there and he always eager to answer your guestions. We are grateful to Nikos and his team for excellent service and great holidays on Crete. It was the first time in my life, when I thought that if I’m back to Crete, I’ll definitely choose Nefely.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anastasia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banja Luka, Republika Srpska, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Nefeli is ok hotel for 3 stars.
Pool is big enaugh and peaceful, my 5 years old son liked it.
Food (halfboard) is ok, there are lot of greek diches, lot of olives, olive oil, eggplants, sheep cheese and so on. Also, lot of fresh salads and very tasty sweets.
Our room was small and, khm... smelly. Probably smokers room, so I had to keep window opened all the time. Good side of room was a big balcony with a lovely,purple flowers three on it. :)
Room service was good, everithing is clean, pool was cleaned every morning(until nine o clock).
Every second night, thera was a music program in the hotel(greek nignt, soul night, belly dancing night, international music night...), so it was very noisy, but I think that other guests enjoyed it.
Location is ok, about 5 min. of easy walking to the beach. Beach is good, big, but vawes was slightly dangerous for my kid, so we spent lot of time on the pool.
There are good beach nearby, Baja beach, there are a free shuttle bus in the morning and station is infront of the Nefeli hotel, and I like it very much. It's also station for bus to Rethimnon nearby Nefeli (you have to by a bus ticket on the hotel reception).
Staff is obligingly, especially on the recepcion.
I recommend Nefeli to the families, but, If you have a small child, ask for a room with no contact with a pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jednajelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My wife twisted my arm to go on holiday. Given that she is also budget conscious, Greece and Crete especially came to be a logical choice. Having never been to Crete before, locations and hotels fell into the category of "suck it and see". We booked a package deal with Olympic Holidays, not something we normally do, we tend to be more of the independent travelling clan.

Crete was simply wonderful. Not only a very picturesque part of the world but an island that is populated by very friendly and helpful people. This was keenly evident in the Nefeli Hotel. I was pleased with the quality of our accommodation, it easily exceeded expectations...but the icing on the cake was the hotel staff. They were so friendly and helpful...from reception right the way through to the kitchen porter. I would happily highly recommend the Nefeli Hotel to friends and family. A great holiday made by having a first class base.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I returned to this hotel after first visiting the year it opened (late 80's). The service and friendliness of the staff is just the same. Great pool area and rooms spacious and clean and overlooking the pool.

Close to the beach and also plenty of shops in the local area as well as resturants. Short bus ride to the busy town of Rethymon where there are loads of fish restuarants around the harbour and also museums and the fortress to visit.

Food and facilities were brilliant. Will certainly return again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTravelGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The hotel itself is Ok (seen worse) Our first room was at rear of hotel overlooking the bins no view and a tiny balcony .Not that you would want to sit looking at the bins....We complained and to be fair they moved us quick enough to another hotel for one night...next day we moved back to Nefeli
The second room ...tiny balcony again only slightly better view... Put up with it as all this messing was eating into our holiday..

My advice ...Don't go half board... food same almost every night and a bit hit and miss. One major annoyance there is no drinks available with evening meals. unless you pay for them youself..this includes water...yes you have to pay for a glass of water with your evening meal!!!!

breakfast they supply fruit juice but this option is cordial not fresh juice.. tea coffe also supplied .

The rest of the guests where all German. I think we where the only English couple. The TV is German except for BBC news chanel. TV in Lounge always on German channel...not a problem dont do much TV on holiday. books available to borrow all german. as usual some germans are ok some are not the happiest people to spend 2 weeks with

Now for the good bits The staff are amazing the hotel is clean and handy for everything you need including beaches.. 3 mins walk . I think if you get a decent room and eat out at night its a grat hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you demand a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jimarands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife, scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We are a couple 21 and 20., Just back from Nefeli Hotel for a week now and just want to go back. Me and my partner aren't very fussy people to start with but rated this hotel very highly! A little hitch when we arrived at midnight on our first night,we got put in a room that overlooked a car park and main road and was very noisey on our first night arriving. When we woke the next morning we asked down at reception to be moved and the staff were very friendly and moved us to another room within hours of asking, which we just absoloutly loved! air con in the rooms, a small fridge, cleaned every day (apart from sunday) and towels changed every day. The pool area was very quiet which we enjoyed because most of the time we got the pool to ourselves (the pool was cleaned regularly of what we saw). We were half board and the food was a good standard although we felt the food catered more for other countries other than British, however we did eat here every breakfast and most nights for tea. Apart from my partner and I and another lady we were the only people that spoke English the rest of the people staying their spoke another language (mostly German) but we liked this for piece and quiet!! There are plenty of bars round about, ! bar straight across from the hotel we visited every night as the stuff were so lovely (and of course Euro 2012 was on, much to my partners delight). Food is very cheap round about, a bus is on offer to go into the main town which only cost 1.50 euro. Beach very close and lovely, do need to pay for your loungers but buy a lilo at lidls nearby and just pitch up on the sand! Place is lovely for a very quiet get away with a pool, sea and sun! Fab! Be prepared for a long bus drive to the hotel though, takes over a couple of hours but worth it! TAKE US BACK!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank er21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
0.1 mi away
Hotel Axos
Hotel Axos
#2 of 20 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.1 mi away
Grand Leoniki Residence
Grand Leoniki Residence
#5 of 20 in Platanias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marinos Beach Hotel Apartments
2.3 mi away
Minos Hotel
Minos Hotel
#19 of 165 in Rethymnon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Minos Mare Hotel
Minos Mare Hotel
#9 of 20 in Platanias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nefeli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nefeli Hotel

Property: Nefeli Hotel
Address: 161 Leoforos Machis Kritis, Platanias, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Platanias
#7 Romantic Hotel in Platanias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nefeli Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Nefeli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nefeli Hotel Platanias
Nefeli Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing