We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden beach hotel & Rethymnon town centre”
Review of Golden Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Platanias
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Beach Hotel
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Platanias
Reviewed August 23, 2009

I visited this hotel with my wife and two year old boy on 11 August for one week. This is a fairly large family run hotel with a beautiful beach only 150 yrds or so from the rear entrance. Although the initial room we were given upon arrival was disappointing as it had no view, only a carpark, the staff offered to upgrade our room the following day with a seaview for an extra 60euros. The view from these rooms situated at the rear of the hotel are fabulous and worth paying extra for.

We went half board and the food was very good. The breakfasts included egg & bacon, scrambled eggs,various ham and cheeses,fresh rolls, and a wide selection of cereals, soft drinks and fresh fruits in addition to Greek yogurt and honey.

Contrary to other comments made on this site, the evening meals included at least two fish dishes each night, plus a reasonable selection of mostly Greek meals and a large variety of puddings and fresh fruit.

The hotel has mainly German guests, which is probably because thomsons holidays appear to be a German based company. However, there are also many other nationalities including quiet a number of Greeks, who I suspect come from the surrounding islands and mainland for the weekend.

The staff are very friendly and polite and the hotel offers live carbaret acts and Kareoke on most nights. Probably the only slight grumble is if you want to watch television late at night. There are only six channels one Greek, and the rest German and French.

This was our first trip to Greece in four years and although we really liked the hotel, we were quiet shocked as to how expensive the resort was.

Having visited the harbour over 21 years ago, I was also turned off by the pressure which is now put on tourists to eat in these establishments. We finally gave in and ate in I think a foreign run taverna, at one of the entrances to the harbour. This was one of the most disappointing meals I have ever eaten in Greece over the last 30 years, and we paid 51 euros for approximately ten prawns and a bit of cold mash and undercooked vegetables. Try and avoid this area and seek tavernas in the centre of the town.

I was also concerned to find in Rethymnon that time share sales reps are now pitched all over the ancient town in an attempt to con tourists into believing they have won a star holiday in Greece. They converse with tourists in all languages.

We received three cards from an individual from England called "Matt" He assured us that we had won a holiday and against my better judgement we went to a hotel by free taxi called the Leoniki Residence near to the Golden beach hotel in Adelianos Kampos. We were advised bt Matt and the staff at this hotel, that we would only have to spend 60 minutues looking at their hotel and the amenties this chain offer.

After filling in a short questionaire a horrible character called "Gordon" appeared. He was a proffessional mancunian from Manchester, and duly introduced himself to us. This "muppet" was happy to announce that he had been drinking heavily the night before and commenced to drink his first alcholic beverage at only 10.30am in the morning, we were offered soft drinks.

He stated that infact there was no holiday to be won in Greece, and he was simply trying to flog us a holiday in Tenerife. He was really rude and slagged off our hotel and the price we paid through Thomsons. This revolting man had the customer and social skills of a ruptured walrus and my wife and I ended the meeting after only 20 minutues. He didnt even have the courtesy to call us a taxi as promised and disappeared into the hotel. Instead his colleagues duly apologised for his behaviour (even they dont like him)and they arranged for a taxi to get us back to where we had originally gone by bus.

I have alerted the Thomsons rep(Jason) and he will now include this in future welcome meetings. Please try and avoid these people, who will try and get you to sign for a holiday without any identification or supply any literature as to who they really are. I am not certain if they are part of Greco holidays or club international(whoever they are).

Overall with the exeception of this incident we had a lovely and relaxing beach holiday with our young child.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thewho1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 325 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2009

This is a family run hotel and they certainly make their guests feel like members of the family, nothing is too much trouble for Voula, Lily and Michael. Our first room had a very small shower and I asked if there was a room with bath available. We were shown two and we chose one on the ground floor overlooking the beach, a very large room with a spacious bathroom. The towels were changed daily if required and the sheets changed three times a week. If a kettle is required just ask at reception and they will provide one if possible.
The hotel is situated right on the beach which is pebbly and the sea is rocky so the purchase of special shoes (about 4-5 euros) is advised. The Lifeguard who takes the money for the sunlounger hire is very attractive and certainly brightened up the days for many of us!! Also, the arrival of the doughnut man was a high spot, not to be missed!! My only gripe here would be the charge for the chairs around the pool, on the beach OK but not by the pool!!
There are many shops, bars and restaurants nearby and the Travel Agent opposite the hotel has very good rates for trips and gives generous discounts for more than one trip booked.
Our First Choice rep. Jason, was excellent, very friendly and helpful. He was there every day so we could always find him if needed. The Friday night quiz was great fun and he organised it very well. Thanks Jason!!

The Greek night and BBQ (an extra 10 euros but well worth it) was very good and gave us the chance to meet some other English guests who have become friends!
My only real complaint was that as the hotel caters mainly for Germans, the food was to their taste (of course) and not really to our liking! Many days we ate only the salads and some fruit - the upside was that I lost 4lbs in weight during the two weeks!! The Orange Juice at breakfast was squash which seemed strange as there were plenty of fresh oranges available!
The food in the bar was excellent and Litsa makes a very good Frappe!!

We had a lovely holiday in Crete and would certainly like to go back to the Golden Beach but maybe on a Bed & Breakfast basis.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

OK, here's the start. The Golden Beach is actually in Arkadi, outside Rethymnon, but in a good location, nevertheless. Unfortunately, everything good was cancelled out by the hotels penny pinching attitude. I had read reviews of this hotel on TA, so I had a fair idea what to expect. Although the hotel is only 250 rooms, due to the layout of the hotel, it seems larger, and it was an up and down stairs trek to reach our room. We had requested a seaview, but the hotel stretches that point, ie, if you can glimpse the sea from your balcony, it's a seaview. The room, however WAS quite spacious, having three beds, and overlooking a palm garden with the sea in the distance, it was reasonably comfortable, including a fridge.

The Golden Beach is apparently a family run hotel, so if you need to know anything it's back to reception, because, although there was a phone in the room, there was no dialling information, so it was a case of push a button and hope for the best.

Breakfast in the morning was an experience. Yoghourt ,butter and milk left out in the open, not chilled or refrigerated in any way. The cutlery usage was a joke! if you used the cutlery, the waiting staff whisked it away, and you had to hunt down for a fresh set. You got only one thin paper serviette, and the coffee was diabolical. You never got the same strength twice, and it was either lukewarm or cold! Praise for the fresh breads, though. Absolutely delicious, and a very wide range. The waiting staff could hardly bring themselves to speak to you, just rush around and try to avoid giving out cutlery etc.

The 'orange juice' was watered down squash! Yuck!

Dinner, in the evening was more of the same. Some parts good, some not so good. A reasonable Greek Salad, the best Tzatziki I've ever come across, but the hot food, well, what a mixture! Not much Greek here, a very continental selection to try to please everyone but really satisfying no one. It was not a meal to enjoy, more to endure. Again, no recognition from the waiting staff, it was an effort for them to even reply to a simple greeting.

A change was the weekly barbeque. The hotel really pulls out all the stops for this, but as you are charged an additional 10 euros, it should only be expected.

We ultimately went to the 'Imar' snack bar opposite, for Souvlaki and kebabs. If you do go there, please say "Hi" to Rula. She is very good, and the food is excellent. You'll get a great welcome, and it's very relaxing to sit and watch the world go by.

The best coffee we found was in a local pattisserie, about 300 yards out of the hotel, and turn left. Great coffee, a warm welcome, and cakes to die for!

Two excellent pools, sunbeds and umbrellas, either pool or beach only 5 euros a set, with a discount after certain hours. At least the guy in attendance did make an effort to recognise his customers, and ask after them.

The beach is shingle, sand, more shingle and ultimately pebbles at the waters edge. Reasonable enough, and quite quiet.

By and large, my view of this hotel is 'could try harder'! The waiting staff could do with some customer care training, particularly, the young boy waiter who totally ignored my wife when she attempted to greet him. Just to say "Kalispera" to a guest, should have been not beyond his powers, but it apparently was.

The bar staff seemed to be running a game where the stake was how little beer could they get away with in the glass! One constantly heard people asking for their glass to be topped up to a more acceptable measure! I had experience of that myself! It's very annoying, particularly when you are paying hotel prices for the drink in the first place.

if you should go t this hotel, don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed. If they stopped the penny pinching attitude, paid a bit more attention to their guests, then they'd have repeat customers.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnwatchescricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

We arrived at the hotel around 6 in the evening and were met by a friendly receptionist who gave us the key and walked us to the room.

The entrance to the room had a nasty edge that we often tripped on, but it was clean and open. The bathroom was a bit small, and the toilet could not handle toilet papers. But as anywhere else in Greece, you are supposed to put the toiletpaper in the basket next to the toilet (Yuck!).
We had paid for a seaview room and we got kind of what we paid for. Only unfortunate that it was on the ground level which makes it easier for insects and mosquitoes to come in. So we had to buy a Mosquito "chaser" from the supermarket and it worked fine.

The bed was ok, but the pillows were way to hard for comfort.

The hotel staff was mainly very friendly, but a bit to German orientated. We were always greeted in German, and being Norwegian, we prefere to speak English as we do not expect anyone to speak Norwegian to us.. However, the Germans seemed to be annoyed if anyone tried to speak English to them. Most of the staff understood and spoke good English, except for the night-receptionist who barely understood that we wanted him to call a taxi for our flight home.
One of the female receptionists did a good job selling tickets for the Greek evening.. Only funny though was that she seemed to sell the "last few tickets" to everyone. That said, the Greek evening was a nice experience and can be recommended to everyone.

The on-site bar had a nice range of drinks and food, the drinks being a bit expensive, while the food cost the same as the resturants nearby.

Let me say this at once, this hotel can not be recommended to families with Children. Appart from the children pool, there are no activities for children there.

The main pool was nice though, and never too crowded as most were at the beach, only a few meters away from the hotel!

5 Euro for a set of sunbeds and the parasoll both at the pool and the beach, but that seems to be a normal price for all of Crete these days. The guy watching the sunbeds and the beach is funny and really makes a good effort to make people feel comfortable.
The sea was really warm allready, but winds and strong currents gave the red flag 3 of our 7 days there, and they really enforced it, chasing people who tried to swim up from the water. But with 3 days of yellow flag and one green, we got a lot of baths in the sea as well! Very nice.

The hotel is quite far from Rethymnon, and the only way to get there is by car(taxi) or bus. However, it is not a problem to find enough resturants and bars near the hotel, only a few minutes walk away.
If you like Pizza, I recommend "Remember" on the other side of the street for the hotel. Here you get a lot of Ouzo together with the bill after the meal :)
And by the way: You WILL get tired of pork (in different variants), tzatsiki, Ouzo and Raki :)

I will probably not visit the hotel again, but that is because there are so many other places to visit at Crete. I do however recommend this Hotel to anyone who want a quiet and relaxing holiday without going shopping and drinking every day and night.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrondM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

Hotel was lovely, cleaned everyday and had a sea view, air con and fridge were included which was great as it was hot and we needed a drink during the day. staff were helpful and friendly. the only bad thing was the shower - the shower head was powerful and really good a
but the cubicle to stand in was tiny, the water went everwhere (there was a drain in the floor) and we had to put the shower curtain behind the toilet as it was usless, although talking to others at hotel most of them had baths.

Food was good = plenty of choice i just wish they had more tags next to food so we knew what the dishes were. there was salads, chicken, fish, lamb and lots of veg - not just chips!

Location - right on the beach - which was very clean but there was pebbles as you go into the sea which were uncomfy on the feet but you could buy rock shoes for £5 at the shops next to hotel.
straight across from the hotel there is a snack bar - not sure of its name and the food there is cheap and very tasty! pita bread with different fillings were our favourites and the chips were home made and amazing!
the restaurant Remember was lovely and staff were friendly and the bar man made a screamer of a tequila sunrise!!

Nightlife - not alot to do at night but you can watch the sunset from the hotel and they have entertainment there - some which is good and others which are laughable, literally! the nightclub sky park about 10mins away from the hotel plays all the new music and is a good place for a boogie. mini golf is another thing we did which is good but wear bug repellant as i was bitten to pieces and my boyfriend was fine.

Im sure no matter what age you'll have a great time!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunset-smiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2009

After reading some reviews on this site before we went on holiday I thought I had made the wrong choice but on arrival I was pleased with the overall look of the hotel. We arrived late at night an missed out first nights meal but was happy to find they had saved some for us. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the reception staff seemed mostly to be family. The rooms were comfortable although could've done with a kettle as the drinks (even coffee) were expensive in the hotel. The only quibble I had really was the shower, lovley powerful shower but the cubicle was minute and every time you moved the curtain stuck to you, not a bad whinge really. We went for 2 weeks and the food at the hotal I thought was very good for the first 9 days then I couldnt face it anymore and we went out for the last few night, but basically good value and normally could find something we liked, plenty of salads and fruit. The beach was nice but the sand a bit sharp, we stuck to the pool area which was nice but beware you are charged 5 euros everyday for 2 sunbeds a table and a brolly (which I did know before we went) but if you didnt know could be a bit of and expensive shock, but there were always sunbeds available no matter what time we got to the pool. Weather was great apart from a couple of days with cloud and the odd shower. We found the bar very expensive so maybe a trip to the supermarket and a drink on the balcony will surfice. We did that most nights really although we did find a restaurant called The White Lady just down the road which I thought looked a bit tacky but the food was good, reasonable priced and a good fun place. Also a restaurant righ opposite the White Lady called Remember, the food was really good (not the cheapest) but fab pizza but a small one is plent for 2 of you with a greek salad, we ordered 1 small 1 each and couldnt eat it. Overall the holiday was much better than expected.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canastas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

This hotel was lovely, clean and with friendly staff. The beach and pool were beautiful. The rooms were comfortable and clean but no kettle in the room so take one. Plenty of shops just outside to wander round and the main town is an easy bus ride away.
Only slight complaint was the food is very much geared to the Germans but there are plenty of restaurant outside. Bar and restaurant staff are lovely and nothing was too much. Were slightly outnumbered by Germans but told it was early season for us brits. Not full of too many children either.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SussexBoydy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
0.3 mi away
Marinos Beach Hotel Apartments
48.8 mi away
Golden Beach Hotel
Golden Beach Hotel
#66 of 184 in Hersonissos
630 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Axos
Hotel Axos
#2 of 22 in Platanias
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.3 mi away
Grand Leoniki Residence
Grand Leoniki Residence
#4 of 22 in Platanias
281 reviews
0 mi away
Kathrin Beach Hotel
Kathrin Beach Hotel
#8 of 15 in Adelianos Kampos
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Beach Hotel

Address: Adelianos Kampos, Platanias, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Platanias
Price Range: $84 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
there are many different room types in the hotel.the guests meet the owners family uppon arrival and discussin order to find the right room for each guest ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Beach Rethymnon
Hotel Golden Beach
Golden Beach Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing