We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From Zero to Hero”
Review of Golden Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Platanias
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“From Zero to Hero”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is not the Hotel we have originally booked, as otel.com has simply made a mistake and ruined our holidays however the situation has been saved by the hotel owners who were very helpful in sorting everything out for us. At the end of the day we had to stay at Golden Beach Hotel and as we didn't like the first room we have been offered we have been moved to another room which was much more nicer, brighter and with the sea view. Overall, rooms are nice, bathrooms very poor though. Very small shower, curtain that stick to your bottom and very old style. Breakfast very good, large selection of dishes, cooked as well as continental. The hotel is right on the beach, very close to Rethymnon. Saying this we had a great time.

Room Tip: We would recommend staying in the main part of the hotel as we seen quite a few rooms in the additio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xFoodAndTravelLoverx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    98
    67
    21
    14
See reviews for
64
158
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I want to write this from a North American perspective to give people a basis to compare accommodations.

First, the staff are friendly and the service is excellent. Tipping doesn't appear to be expected.
Second, the food choices are of good quality and variety, both in the dining room and bar/restaurant. Brilliant bread and buns.
Third, the lobby and grounds are not lush, but are clean and well kept.
Fourth, the hotel had some fun and interesting entertainment, which to us was more enjoyable than the usual evening animation team lip-synching found on our side the pond.
..........................

Our first room was dark, dated, and a little run down (see pictures). The AC fan was very noisy, but the room was otherwise quiet and the beds were comfortable. Room safe was a $17/ week option. No view to speak of.

Our second room, a $14/ day upgrade, was much brighter and in better condition with a lovely view of the sea. The shower was tiny and the curtain will cling to anyone, large or small. Beds were quite firm. The one bedroom suites on the west side of the hotel are much nicer but weren't available the week we stayed there. We enjoyed the view and the quiet AC fan in our second room.

All loungers at the pool and beach cost $7.00 per day/per couple, an expense, we've never before encountered.

There are stores, bars and restaurants up and down the street, nearly all with similar contents, menus, and prices.

I give the hotel a 5 for service and friendliness, 4 for food, 3 for beach and pool, and 2 for rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SilverL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

just returned from a two week stay at this hotel,would not reccomend this hotel if you want good food and a peaceful holiday,foodwise it mostly catered for the germans of which there was many staying at the hotel,the dining room is also very noisey with people scrapeing rather than lifting their chairs on the tiled floors you could not hear yourselves talk.Also doors slamming shut in the hotel at all times niht and day,people coming home early hours of the morning talking and shouting very loudly. on the plus side the staff are very friendly and helpful and the hotel stands on a very nice beach

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CURLY53TOPKNOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Golden Beach Hotel had the pool, beach, entertainment and good service and it was very clean. It's a little way out of town, but Rethymnon is easily accessible by bus. The breakfast has a wide choice, but the dinner, though there was good choice (salads, hot buffet, bread and cheese and wide selection of puddings) was not quite as good quality, especially the hot food. We ate in the hotel every night though. Overall it was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaMonkeyCoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Arrived with high hopes from reading previous reviews but nothing prepared us for the shabby and cramped room with a view of a hedge from the balcony. We had booked and paid extra for a sea view so went straight down to reception to request a different room but were told none available but come back in the morning and a new room could be allocated. This room not much improvement and food in restaurant very unappetising so decided reluctantly to change hotels. A whole day of our 7 day holiday ruined! Other guests reported similar problems and receptionist only interested in getting extra cash from guests for adequate rooms. Beware charges for sunbeds also, around the hotel pool area.

Room Tip: Don't bother unless you have plenty of cash to flash at the receptionist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terence K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Hotel very pleasant, however, I did notice it was more geared up for the German Tourist (used to be an all German Hotel)! Saying that, staff ok, food ok but a bit of the same each day, pool area and beach very nice. A bit disappointed that you had to pay for your sunbeds around the pool (however, it does say this in brochure) as it's been the first time I've had to ever to do that a hotel! Food pretty much the same most nights, however, I would recommend an excellent Taverna up the road called White Lady, staff extremeley accommodating and excellent choice with the food if you fancy a change. Drinks expensive in the bar 4 drinks costs us approximately 26 euros.

Would recommend to stay here if you are thinking of holidaying in Western part of Crete, just about the right distance from the Town of Rethymnon. Not really a hotel I would recommend if you have children, not a lot going on for them.

Room Tip: My parents booked and paid for a sea view room, however, they were given a basement room which you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sneezy28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We returned last Sunday and I treat english as my second language after being surrounded by Germans for two weeks.Everything there is geared up for the continentals who always get preferential treatment over the Brits . its a pity because the staff seem nice when there not dealing with a Germans problem when they have made you wait long enough.The food is fine if you want to have breath like a dragon while your there so spicy its untrue.What they don't tell you is when you get there you have to pay extra for the use of sunbeds around the pool and on the beach if you hav'ent payed enough already.Next time I think of Crete I might just as well go to Berlin.

Room Tip: Pay extra when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
48.8 mi away
Golden Beach Hotel
Golden Beach Hotel
#60 of 171 in Hersonissos
593 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.4 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Adelianos Kampos
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Axos
Hotel Axos
#2 of 20 in Platanias
390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marinos Beach Hotel Apartments
0.5 mi away
Minos Mare Hotel
Minos Mare Hotel
#11 of 20 in Platanias
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Beach Hotel

Property: Golden Beach Hotel
Address: Adelianos Kampos, Platanias, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Platanias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
there are many different room types in the hotel.the guests meet the owners family uppon arrival and discussin order to find the right room for each guest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Beach Rethymnon
Hotel Golden Beach
Golden Beach Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing