We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time There”
Review of Golden Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Beach Hotel
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Platanias
England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Time There”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We booked a late holiday through Thompson's and like many others we read all the reviews on Tripadvisor which were very helpful. We wanted a beach holiday where we could swim in the sea. This was our main priority. We needed two rooms, one for my wife and myself and the other for our 18 year-old daughter. When we booked the staff in Thompson's Harrogate (Caroline) could not have been more helpful and informative and all the flights, transfers and Theresa the rep were spot on.

We asked for a quiet room with the two rooms next to each other which is exactly what we got. The rooms were at the back of the hotel away from the sea. The rooms were clean but a little dark and no view. We arrived at about 11.30pm and were told that a meal had been kept back for us in the restaurant. The meal was cold but none the less much appreciated.

The next morning we asked if we could upgrade to a sea view room and Miss Koumnas who I believe is one of the owners could not have done more to meet our request. We had two rooms (211 and 213) which were excellent. The upgrade cost 140 Euros in total but it was worth it to us.

The Hotel
The hotel was lovely and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was varied each day with a mix of usually four or five meat dishes, one fish dish and vegetarian options as well. It was tasty and well prepared. It is buffet service which makes the service quick and easy. I was impressed with the very quick replenishments when something had run out. There is no charge for the aircon in the rooms or free wifi in the lounge area which was great. There are three desktop computers in the lounge area which can be used at a cost of three Euros for one hour and as long as you remember to log out this can be used throughout the week at any time. Very good. There was some live enterainment on a couple of evenings during our stay which was OKish. At breafast on two occasions there was also some piano and sax music. There are two pools and a very small pool for very young children. These didn't seem to get too crowded during the day. Not the place for a quiet swim though with several large inflatables provided and balls being passed around. Overall we really enjoyed the hotel side of things. There is a charge of 12 Euros per week for the safe in your room. There is no kettle in the room but and the fridge in the room is very handy. The shower in the bathroom is very small with a curtain hanging down sticking to you so water will go everywhere on the floor - not a big problem though. Be realistic this is a 3* hotel and it is very good for that but don't expect the world and you won't be disappointed.

The Beach
The beach couldn't have been closer. There is a charge of five Euros a day for two beds and an umbrella. This was about right for the area and I would prefer to pay for this than the aircon and wifi. A tall Greek adonis of a man walks around to collect the payment in the mornings and the beds are yours for the day even if you leave them to go for a siesta or lunch. There was absolutely no problem with getting a bed on the beach or near the pool, no one getting up at 6.00am to put their towels out! I mentioned earlier in the review that our priority was the beach and swimming in the sea. This is where the disappointment started. Unfortunately, on five out of the seven days we were there the red flag was flying and we couldn't go in the water. On the other two days the waves were still quite strong with strong under currents. Be aware of some large rocks about 15 feet into the water which cannot be seen. Don't expect a shallow sloping sandy sea bed as you enter the sea. There is a steep slope as you enter the sea and then the rocks so be very careful. This is not the place for swimming in the sea and I would not let young children near the sea here. Perhaps that is why most children were in the pools. The beach and sun beds are cleaned each evening and morning and the beach is kept very clean. You can order drinks and snacks and they will be delivered to you on the beach. The beach is a mix of sand and fine shingle but nearer the water's edge this turns into quite sharpe gravel with larger stones. My advice would be invest in aqua shoes on your first day (six Euros). The Hotel kindly provides beach towels at no charge - great.

The Area
The hotel is situated and set back from the main road. There are several shops including supermarkets, clothes shops, fir shops, fish feet cleaning shops and souvenir shops and a few restaurants. If you turn right at the main road there is a small supermarket which sells just about anything and where English is spoken well (very helpful). You can also catch a bus there to Rethymnon and you can buy tickets in the hotel or in the supermarket (about 2.40 Euros return). The journey doesn't take too long but the buses do get very crowded. If you turn right onto the main road and walk for about 5-10 minutes you will find a lot more shops, bars and restaurants. We found a small bar called Eyes which has free wifi and it's run by a Yorkshire man. On the night we were there they had live music which was great fun. There are a lot of different nationalities in the area particularly Germans and Russians with some Polish and Brits thrown into the mix. This was not a problem at all and English is widely spoken in the shops and bars. No one was too pushy there.

Overall we had a very enjoyable time there with the only disappointment being the sea and water's edge being unable to swim there. Would we go back? For the hotel and frienly staff - yes but for swimming in the sea - no.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room - the view is stunning! Buy water/wine and snacks in the supermarket and take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cuddlingcelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    101
    70
    21
    14
See reviews for
65
163
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

An excellent hotel close to the beach and on the bus route to the nearest small city of Rethymnon. The breakfast and dinner were good, but the lunch is excellent. The staff were amazing and hardworking. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ardbeglily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

A Lovely place to stay for couples thirty plus , a quite hotel with some really good entertainment.
Not much going on at the beach except for sunbathing, sea shore slopes away rapidly so kids be aware .
The food is first class , especially the Greek evening , the choice is stunning.
Sometimes there is a saxophonist playing whilst your having breakfast , a romantic atmosphere prevails all the time .
Mostly German and Russians but who cares when there is hotel, pool, and beach , what more could you want ?
For those who want to chill I could not recommend a more pleasant place , with a short walk to a vast selection of bars and restaurants this is the ideal place.
Staff friendly and helpful and a little Greek goes a long way so learn some basics before you go such as thank you, cheers, and good morning .
Rooms are basic holiday types but you really need just to sleep in them .
Bar and evening area a real treat . The photos do not do this place justice .
Excursions from this place can be early in the morning so shop around .
Samaria Gorge you have to be up at half four and some others a bit later .
Also be aware of what coaches they use as some have no air conditioning.
Reps are non existent it seems, The 4x4 trip with George the guide is a must ,
Be aware of hidden costs on some trips which bumps up the price .
The trip to Santorini was worth it but the added trip to the volcanic island was not ( extra 24 euros) .
The trip to Bali was ok but overpriced , best go to elfonsi beach by local coach .
The local bus ride to the main town of Rethymnon is ok but can be packed so go by cab .
Ah also to make the holiday even more wonderful book the vip lounge up , well worth the money
and if travelling via Thomson see if you can go by the new Dreamliner plane as it makes such a difference ,
I hope this helps a bit to those are thinking of booking.
To sum up , if you are over thirty then this is the place for you .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1margrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rethymnon, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was lovely, the staff was very helpful. It's a family owned hotel and you get that from rhe feeling of a very cozy atmosphere. You have to try the cocktails that Michael makes at the bar, a guy with fantastic long hair and a very cheerful attitude.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JQcreations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Four of us all 60 plus just returned from 14 fabulous days at this lovely hotel. Our flight out from Gatwick was as scheduled and transfer to hotel smooth and very scenic. We were checked in immediately and shown to our rooms on first floor by Michael (Son of owners of the hotel) he explained how Aircon and door lock worked and was very welcoming. We had paid extra for sea view and we had rooms directly over the bar/swimming pool/beach area. Lovely views. . The hotel was beautifully clean and the smells of a kind of scented candle wafted everywhere. The food Buffet breakfast and dinner were more than adequate, For breakfast there was always eggs (cooked various ways) bacon, sausage, tomatoes etc etc. Various cereals, fruits, breads jams etc etc . Dinners were always soup, various meats, fish and endless variations of salads, and many different choices of desserts. We chose a white med- sweet wine every night which was delicious. I must admit by the end of 14 days the dinners did become slightly monotonous but we usually find that the case wherever we go. The hotel arranges a BBQ/Greek night every Tuesday. This was superb and not too be missed. The food was endless and the choice unbelievable. We paid only 12 euros for this. The pools were well kept and the beach area was beautiful The beach chairs/umbrellas were run very efficiently and there was also a boat on the sand serving cocktails run by Demetri and served on the beach by the very lovely Maria. Whilst there we booked a cab into Rethymnon and walked upto the Fortezza and around old Rethymnon. Our cab driver Costas insisted we not pay him on our journey in but said he would return at 3pm to collect us and take us back. He was there at the Harbour dead on 3pm. We also did the 5 village trip on the Little Yellow Train, tickets available at reception. For 17.5 euros we got 4 hours driving into the hills and wandering the villages. It was very hot up in the villages so if you go take plenty of water. The hotel laid on entertainment most nights, DJs, Belly dancers, Greek dance lessons, They also laid on entertainment for the breakfast time but too be honest this was a bit much for us first thing in the morning listening to saxaphones or pianos. The area around the hotel had numerous shops and bars but the road is extremely busy and I would be a bit worried if we had had our grandchildren with us. Everyone who worked in the hotel was so lovely and we shed a few tears saying our farewells. If we had a complaint at all it would be that the bar most definately needs 2 barman working it at night, 45 minutes waiting for drinks was a bit too long. But perhaps they can remedy that one. Our holiday was with Thomson and to top a perfect holiday off we were flown home from Heraklion on the new Boeing 757 Dreamliner. It was what it says a dream. A beautiful way to end a beautiful holiday.

Room Tip: We had rooms 111 and 112 which were a bit noisy being over the bar .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katerina50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just had 11 nights in this lovely greek hotel. Had a room on first floor with a side sea view which meant we had welcome shade and could also leave balcony doors open but still have complete privacy. All the staff were great and had a smile for everyone even at very busy times. Barbeque was really good and it was pleasant having breakfast to the sounds of a pianist. Absolutely no traffic noise just the sounds of waves lapping onto the beach - very relaxing. Would definitely like to return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DickieDastardly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinas Powys, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just spent 2 glorious weeks at this hotel, our room was to the back of the hotel not on the beach side which I was ready to complain about but my wife suggested we try the bedroom for one night,the room was large,clean and quiet so we decided to stay and that was the right decision, we both felt the food was excellent, staff were pleasant with ready smiles. The only problem was the lack of any were to walk after dinner except the very busy side road. We shall go back next year.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of the rear bedrooms if you need a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marand17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
48.8 mi away
Golden Beach Hotel
Golden Beach Hotel
#60 of 171 in Hersonissos
605 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.4 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Adelianos Kampos
2,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Axos
Hotel Axos
#2 of 21 in Platanias
393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marinos Beach Hotel Apartments
1.1 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#11 of 175 in Rethymnon
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Beach Hotel

Property: Golden Beach Hotel
Address: Adelianos Kampos, Platanias, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Platanias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
there are many different room types in the hotel.the guests meet the owners family uppon arrival and discussin order to find the right room for each guest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Beach Rethymnon
Hotel Golden Beach
Golden Beach Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing