We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff amazing here. such friendly atmosphere. one of best hols we have ever had”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Platanias
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Christina Apartments
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Platanias
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Had family hol here after reading good reviews and we loved it. nikos is full of energy and whole family makes you welcome. great location and pool spotless clean. good restaurants in the area. even staff took us for traditional mezes in the villages and mountains. suitable for all ages. we understand why people go year after year. thankyou we will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanne38England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
There are newer reviews for Christina Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 222 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

Arrived at 1.45am to a lovely warm welcome, free drink and showed to our room 201, bit of a disappointment I have to admit, very basic and a view of a fire escape. On waking went to the pool snack bar for breakfast everyone seemed so friendly, yes there was the odd few who got there towels out first thing taking the large parasols every time, but that's not as annoying as the welsh family who was so loud and so was there kids, and the gran of the family who spent her last night on the balcony next to us till 4.30am drinkiing, singing, laughing and being a nuisance. Having never been to Greece was not prepared for the poo bin, which was only changed twice in our weeks stay, we had to ask for fresh towels on our 3rd day then got 1 more change of towels and bed linin changed once, but for a cheep last min booking was ok for the money ( worked out half price ) don't think I would have been happy paying full price for the holiday though, would only return IF it was a cheep late deal again !

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed in Christina apartments for 2 weeks, greeted by a very welcoming couple (Joan and Aiden) who look after the place during the day, serving hot food and drinks at affordable prices. The first free drink was a nice touch.
Room was spacious, clean and house keeping staff changed the bins and bed linen regularly.
The only criticism about the room was the shower, very poor shower as attachment was broken and the shower head needed to be held (big deal?)
Christina apartments is in a great location with many restaraunts, bars, tavernas all around and within walking distance, a bus is available every half an hour to take you into the main town of Rethymno where the Venetian Harbour has some lovely restaraunts (although these are rather expensive) take a walk around old town and visit the numerous souveiner shops and boutiques.
The apartment was right next to the beach, although the beach was not sandy and the pebbles very hot under foot, the water sports area 200 yards down the beach kept me happy with Jet Skiing, boat rides, bannana boats etc.
The main disappointment of the holiday would be the lack of live music, bands, tribute acts, general entertainment in both Platanes and Rethymno which is something i look for when booking a holiday.
Costas, Nikos, Christina and Ann-Marie are all great staff and they look after the bar of an evening, staying open till 2am with Grecian dance nighs, bingo, quiz and bbq nights.
Overall, a great, family run, friendly apartments with a great atmosphere!

Room Tip: Request a pool side room, maybe a bit noisy of an evening if you're the early to bed kind but th...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank danny_bucko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Just back from a fortnight with my daughter, we had a great time albeit it was very hot and the only comfort was on the beach that you are unable to walk on as A, Too hot. B, It's very pebbly. When we arrived we went into room 209 but this just looked out on to a fire escape. We asked to move to another room 304 which was much better. The family are truly lovely people and will do anything to help. Nikos, Kostas, Christina and all the family are great. Ann-Marie, Joan who run the bar are also lovely people. There is a good atmosphere in the bar area Nikos turns the music up, Kostas turns it down.....Funny as :-) Rooms are clean and the air con is a must, 4.50euros a day, we had ours on all night and kept the door shut during the day which worked. My real only criticism was the bloody people who got up at silly o'clock to put their towels on THEIR beds and then shot off down the beach for the day but nothing was done about this! "FACT" it's not the Germans any more it's the British SHOCKING. Turn right out of the apartments and head down the road until you reach The Academy for food! Lovely and inexpensive....Most of the others are over priced. You will have a great time! Enjoy!!

Room Tip: Try not to go lower floor facing the back
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank newalla11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Looking for a week, self catering in Crete (Rethymnon) we found Christina Apartments via Thomson. Booking blind (with just the brochure info) we were very pleased with the outcome. Flight and transfer with Thomson was good (very tight seating on plane for me at 6 foot tall). Transfer 1.5 hrs.

At the apartments Christina and the two boys (manning the onsite bar with snacks and icecream) and other staff were very welcoming. free drink of your choice on arrival. We were made to feel at home, comfortable and at ease immediately.

Room was clean, with ensuite toilet, basin and small shower (not great shower head and attachment), hot water at all times, towels, fridge, cupboards and wardrobe with plenty of hangers, two cooking rings, microwave, kettle & toaster, sink, enough cutlery and crockery for the 2 of us, table and 2 chairs, twin beds, bedside tables and dressing table and mirror. Radio, phone and alarm clock. Outside patio with table and 2 chairs. Airconditioning at extra price 4 euros a night? (although we were downstairs and didn't utilise, which was a relief in the evenings as much cooler). Safety deposit at 12 euros a week.

Restaurant opposite apartments was excellent and again owners and staff very friendly, with great home cooked food. 20 - 25 euros gave a very decent 2 course meal with a drink.

BBQ evening at apartments good, food good and free drink, with Cretan and Greek dancing. Bingo and karaoke evening also on offer.

Room Tip: in hot weather choose lower rooms or basement, rooms facing pool could be noisy? and balconies not p...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Grandaughter, daugh-in-law and myself (Grandmother) stayed at Christina from 31/05 until 15/06, on arrival early hours of the morning we were greeted by Nicos with a very welcoming mug of tea. we were allocated room 404 (excellant view of the pool and sea) it was very spacious/clean and towels/linen was changed 4 times, bins emptied every other day. Cannot comment on the kitchen to much as we did not use it. We chose to have breakfast which Joan and Aidan cooked to perfection, full breakfast was 7 euro's (very good value for money) Joan and Aiden made you feel so very welcome and always had time for a chat and laugh, Daughter-in-law even requested shepards pie one day, Aidan had it all ready for us the following day. (even received an email from Joan/Aidan to check we arrived home safely.

Nicos/ Kostas/Christina were great fun and made sure that you had everything you wanted, nothing was to much trouble for them.

I would certainly recommend the apartments to couples also families who are on a budget, you certainly get full value for money.

So, for clean spacious rooms/good food/lots of shops and restuarants/clean beach/lovely pool/good value for money, this is the place for you and family.

Room Tip: Request a high room far from the bar, it closes 2am and can be very noisy with the traffic as well
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lesley55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

When we arrived I must admit to being aprehensive, after various drop offs at luxurious looking hotels to arrive at a small apartment block seemed a bit of a let down, but boy was I wrong. From the beginning the welcome and friendliness of the staff was never in doubt. We were catered for in every way, looked after exceptionaly well, indeed while we were there Kostas and Nikos actually took it in turns to drive and elderly holiday maker to the hospital where his wife had been admitted with a chest infection. The apartments, pool and bar areas were spotlessly clean, and there was always someone around should you need anything. The decor in the aparment was not elaborate but comfortable, with I found plenty of room and patio doors opening to the balcony from both bedroom and lounge. Maid service was twice weekly, emptying bins and supplying fresh sheets and towels, this I found quite adequate. We hired a car and Nikos sat with us in the evening showing us the best routes to ensure we saw the local scenery and not just the tourist spots. He organised twice weekly trips up the mountains to sample local food in small taverna's the cost approximately the same as a two course meal in any resort restaurant, and the views were amazing. Friday nights were BBQ nights 13 Euros got you a brilliant home cooked BBQ cooked by mama and papa, with bar staff and grandchildren all helping out this was like being invited to a family evening with Cretian dancers and lots of smiles from all hotel guest. Even the guest themselves seemed ultra friendly the atmosphere was really special this was unlike anywhare I have stayed before this was not just a stay in an apartment in crete, this was an all round Cretian experience and far more than just a holiday. So thank you Nikos and Kostas, Mama and Papa, Joan and Anna Marie for a truely memorable time on your beautiful Island, and hopefully I'll be able to return soon

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chrissimmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
0.5 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palladion
Hotel Palladion
#3 of 15 in Adelianos Kampos
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 15 in Adelianos Kampos
2,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Axos
Hotel Axos
#2 of 21 in Platanias
403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Orion Hotel
Orion Hotel
#57 of 175 in Rethymnon
483 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marinos Beach Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christina Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christina Apartments

Address: Adelianos Kambos, Platanias, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Platanias
#8 Romantic Hotel in Platanias
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Christina Apartments Hotel Platanias
Christina Apartments Rethymnon
Christina Apartments Hotel Rethymnon
Christina Apartments Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing