We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to rest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Trefon Apartment Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place to rest”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

It's a lovely family apartment hotel with very friendly and hospitable personnel. It's situated in a neighborhood close to the beach and where children can freely and safely run around. Supermarket 5 min walk and really good Tavern next to hotel door. There is everything for pleasant and quite family holiday at the seaside.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Beshka85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    42
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
64
31
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rozenburg, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I spent a lot of my childhood holidays at Trefon, I just loved it. Last year went back with my kids and the magic was still there.

Together with the owners me and my parents learned all about the Cretan people, the Cretan food (not everbody eats souvlaki everyday) learned all about the culture.

if thats what you are looking for, than you certainly can book this accomodation, It is runned by a lovely family who will help you everyway they can to make your stay a wonderful one.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank eenhoorn1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

In July-August, 2012 I spent a month in Crete, in Trefon Hotel. We have one big room for three persons, but it was not small for us. I felt like at home, because in the corner it was a kitchen and I can cook some food for the kid and drink cofe not in a restorant. Owners of the hotel are very pleasant and meet you like an old friend. The Trefon hotel is the nearest hotel to the sea in Platanes. If you are looking for quite vacations with the home atmosphere, you will enjoy Trefon hotel. I didn't felt the economic crises in Greece at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Maria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

This an unashamedly biased review from New Zealand, We stayed at Trefon for a week (wife and 9yo child) and met up with a couple of other families there from Austria and Scotland (old friends with kids). Long time, no see - so we had a terrifc time: chatting by the pool (small but nice and shaded for much of the day) or at the outside bar (thanks for the learning curve with the Pina Coladas Evelyn) or in the local taverna (many, all good and very nearby). This place did not cost an arm and a leg and the owners and staff (thanks also Maria) were friendly and very genuine. Most of the visitors seemed to be Dutch who are pretty civilised (even took the World Cup loss pretty well) and not many English or Germans guests which made for a harmonious ambiance (I feel can say that as I'm half English and half German). Breakfast was good, you could book half board if you didn't want to make decisions in the evening (we did as our friends had booked half board) and we were a big group. But if food is a big thing for you, there are lots of options a short walk away. We booked direct via email as we essentially crashing a friend's family holiday, Trefon arranged pick and delivery to airport. No stresses. Pefect for us.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BritGoneKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOSCOW
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2009

we selected this hotel because of its location and kitchen. the food was very poor and untasty. pools are small, the hotel is not convenient for stay with small children. rooms are clean, with large balcony. the territory is green, many trees and flowers, and cats.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MoscowCreativa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voronezh, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2008

This small hotel just great!

The hotel placed near a see, just about 100 meters with no road crossing. It placed in quest place on private road far from big roads.
The owner of hotel is very friendly and staff too. Our apartment was clear and big, with fridge, microwave oven, teapod, glasses, and all we need to cook (but we did not do it :) ), drink tea or wine :) Also there is balcony with armchair and table. There are many big trees, flowers, bushes around the hotel.
The breakfast was good enough. And they has free unlimited WiFi! We were surprised the hotel is so good for not big money!

The beach is clear and equiped by umbrelas, with quet bars not far from beach (but we prefered to drive to lonely nude beches :) )

There are enough bars, great restarants, shops and supermarkets not far from the hotel. Also there is bus stop not far but we prefered to rent a cat (there are much rent-a-car companies not far too).

I would like to say thank you for all staff and owner and sugest for all trevelets to stay at this place!

  • Liked — Quest green place not far from archeological site with great friendly staff
  • Disliked — This place could be a little boring for teenagers
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Kikoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
1.1 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.1 mi away
Marinos Beach Hotel Apartments
0.2 mi away
Hotel Axos
Hotel Axos
#2 of 21 in Platanias
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Minos Mare Hotel
Minos Mare Hotel
#11 of 21 in Platanias
258 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#11 of 175 in Rethymnon
656 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castello Bianco Hotel
Castello Bianco Hotel
#15 of 21 in Platanias
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trefon Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trefon Apartment Hotel

Property: Trefon Apartment Hotel
Address: Platanias, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon > Platanias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Platanias
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Trefon Apartment Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 years famous for the Cretan hospitality. Guest is coming again, and again. The hotel is located in the middle of the village platanes, in a botanic gardens' in private area of a complex of apartments(ex-motakis village), next to the sea plenty of pools inside and outside, children and adult pools, restaurant, tavern, pool bars, masers, Greek/cretan buffet breakfast - Greek buffet dinner. Quiet specious apartments. The hotel is located in the middle of Crete ready to explore & relax! you are welcome! your second home is waiting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Trefon Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trefon Apartment Hotel Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing