We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Leoniki
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Platanias
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Axos(Platanias)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Nefeli Hotel(Platanias)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cretan Sun(Platanias)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rethymno Village(Platanias)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Amaril(Platanias)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveler rating
13
48
14
5
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
48
14
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsout of seasonindoor pool and jacuzzilong poolroom keyshort walkmini marketconvenient locationone bedroom apartmentacross the roadpoolscretetavernasshopsappliancesmaremsunbeds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 88 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just got back from Crete after staying a week at the Grand Leoniki. The resort itself was lovely. Nice relaxed ambience, we had a lovely one bed apartment that opened out straight onto a pool. It had everything we needed. The staff at the resort were lovely, especially the restaurant staff, and particularly the manager, we was very obliging with trying to fit around our needs. We felt so welcome there. I'd read previous postings about the food and definately half board was worth the money, the food was very fresh and delicious and we felt good value for money. We were also on the look out regarding the sales people, but we had a quick intro from our RCI rep and he then left us to it. The area itself was pleasant enough and plenty of places to eat. Beach was just over the road. I would recommend having a car though, as taxis are quite expensive, although there is a regular bus service, if you want to go further than the local town - Rethymnon, you need to be getting onto different buses (I lost my camera on one). The other option is to book trips and there are plenty of local agencies you can use. All priced quite reasonably, pretty well organised and certainly helped us see the best of the island. Would certainly consider going again.

Room Tip: Try and get one directly by the Pool. The mattresses can be quite hard.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had fun in spite of our accommodations. This "Diamond Resort" was, in my world-travelled opinion, a terrible place to stay. We stayed there on a friend's timeshare points, and the "resort" is overrun with sales agents trying to sell timeshares. Every 10 minutes someone in a light blue oxford shirt escorts a wide-eyed couple (or family) around the pool area, pointing out the "luxurious diamond resort amenities." Meanwhile, we were stuck in a unit with:
(1) a HORRIBLE bed (about which the staff was able to do very little -- a sleep sofa would have been more comfortable, as this was a double bed made of two twin mattresses that "V'ed" severely toward the center, with springs and bars jabbing into your back all night long.
(2) only one sweeping of the floor by housekeeping over the entire week we were there. Sheets were never changed although she did make up the bed 5 of the 7 days
(3) a mini-kitchen but no salt and pepper or cooking oil or any of the standard items present in any reasonable kitchen -- it was as though they wanted to entice you with the economy of being able to cook your own food, but first you would have to fully outfit the entire kitchen with spices, cooking oil, butter, even a frying pan and coffee maker. We settled on buying yogurt and sandwich meat, and making tea in the electric kettle. There was a dishwasher but you would have had to buy powder... and there were only two of anything -- two small coffee cups, two bowls, two teaspoons, etc., one ice cube tray, and no frying pan. Just one dishtowel which got rather wet and mangy looking by the end of the week.
(4) there were two of us staying in the room, but only one "magnet" capable of keeping the power on. We each had a key, but only one key had a magnet, something that had to be affixed to the electrical switch at the entry in order for any of the interior electrical sockets or lights to work. We had asked the concierge if it was possible to run the electric and a.c. without the magnet in place (in the event that one of us wanted to leave the room and take a key and not have to coordinate custody of the magnet with the other) and he assured us everything would run even without the magnet in place. This was a silly (and false) response -- why have a magnet if it wasn't really necessary to turn on the unit's power? We ended up quite frustrated at having to know each other's whereabouts and return times at all hours in the event the other wanted to return to the room and (gasp) have a shower or bath or watch television. This is a big island with lots to do and no cell phone coverage for most of us, not just a tiny little spot where cell phones make up the difference if you can't locate each other.
(5) Pool hours were more restrictive than any hotel I've ever stayed at: 8 a.m. (although many days not really until 9 a.m.) through 7 p.m.
(6) The public "hot tub" in the "spa and wellness area" was tepid, just 35 degrees C (96 F) and the fiberglass surface inside was slimy, slightly orange, and gritty, as though the water hadn't been circulated through or cleaned on a regular basis. Basically, it was gross and the jets were substandard. I would expect a better unit in someone's backyard!
(7) The "esthetician" at the spa was on the snippy side, reprimanding me for not having booked an appointment for a facial when I first arrived, as she was just so busy now. I did mention this to the spa manager and he was apologetic and responsive.
(8) The food menu was extremely overpriced -- we were offered a "meal deal" that would bind us for a minimum of four days at maybe 25 or 29 euros per day (I don't recall), for breakfast plus either lunch or dinner, extremely high when compared to other restaurants in the area. Breakfast consisted of pastries, bread, coffee, etc., no meat or eggs, and I'm not sure about dinner but it was presumably more substantial.
(9) The Greek dancing show was equally expensive, including a dinner, at 25 Euros per person - whereas other restaurants along that same strip had free entertainment of equal or superior caliber several nights per week.
(10) The internet was absolutely awful. It was unsecured (with no WP/security code), would quit and flicker constantly, and you could only log in if you were sitting in one of two areas at the complex -- around the back swimming pool, or in the front lobby area. Hence, these areas were full of people diligently typing away at their smartphones when you were trying to enjoy the pool or ask questions of someone in the front desk area. There were only two public computers for the entire complex of several hundred people, and no place to print any travel documents, etc.
(11) The hot water system in our room was very unpredictable, varying from scalding hot to freezing cold with no notice
(12) The remote control for our tv did not work (this was the only thing they were able to take care of for us, and they did so with no fuss)
(13) Most hotels offer extra towels if you are going to the pool -- this one did not, and we had to reuse wet (and sandy) towels for our baths and showers for most of the week, with only one change of towels over the course of our entire stay. We did not complain as we had already felt badly complaining about the bed and tv remote, but rather we came home each day hoping to find clean dry towels to no avail.
(14) Finally, and a rather trivial note at that -- there was only one English-speaking television channel (BBC world news) with which to stay in touch with the international world while so far from home, and the satellite feed skipped so badly it was impossible to watch.
(15) Basically I felt this entire place was GORGEOUS in appearance, and very well built, but after it was built they just let the day to day details "go to pot." It looks beautiful at a glance, but even after the first day it was evident that it was mostly for show. We did have fun, in spite of all this. It was a "beautiful" place to stay, but management should really do an overhaul if it wants to keep guests happy.

Room Tip: Do NOT buy a timeshare here! It seems they just want you for the sale, with no follow-through later in terms of keeping guests happy once they are "snared."
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SueinGallup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We are staying at the resort at the moment and we are very impressed with all aspects of the resort. The pools are well utilised by all ages. The restaurant is fantastic. We took up the opportunity of half board. The food is of a very high standard-fresh from a nearby organic farm. The service is attentive and all the staff are very helpful. Our unit is one bed roomed built in Cretan style, as is the whole resort.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the pool.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renwick12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday at the Grand Leoniki Platanas. Was I happy? No not really !! The resort needs a lot of renovations. The pool areas are rather nice (there are 3 pools there) well looked after. The apartment was in need of a complete make over. We had a 1 bedroom & bathroom (which you reached by a nice flight of stairs) Kitchen (no washing machine) a living area which had 1 arm chair, a weird sofa bed (that was your settee, most uncomfortable) a table & 4 chairs & a balcony with a table & 4 chairs. The downstairs shower room had a sliding door that fell off when my husband was in the shower & the maintenance man looked at it, shrugged his shoulders & walked out !!!! Would I go back to Platanas - NO. It's a smallish village with not a lot to see or do. If I go back to Crete I would stay in Rethymon. It's got a lovely harbour, lots of shops & lots more people.

Room Tip: Not recommending.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank caroleshapiro58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Well, this was the second time we stayed at the Grand Leoniki.

The Kids were younger the last time, & we went later in the season so the pools were warm!

A little older now, and with us going out-of-season, (April) only one pool was open near the reception.

The squash courts, sauna etc were all up and running, we made good use of the squash court in particular!

Nothing special room-wise, the soft-bed was a little annoying to put up & down every day.

The staff are superb & go out of there way to help you, very friendly!

Food was limited, breakfast was more than adequate with a modest selection of hot & cold buffet-style & a chef making the one-off orders for boiled, poached, & scrambled eggs etc

Plenty of car parking round the back.

Some good Greek & modern eating places within a few minutes walk.

pop eye serves good authentic food & drink at really good prices.

The White Lady restaurant, bar provided really great food, drink (every night) & a "real" Greek dancing evening!

You should see the "locals" go! Guys in there sixties doing the Zorba and then some! superb!

My two girls really enjoyed the nightly trip there, and I really enjoyed the food!

We traveled across Crete looking for old haunts such as Star beach & the Water Park at Anopoli, but all were closed as the season started late this year with Easter being late etc

Not sure when we will be back there as we have found a couple of other places that we would really like to try.

But, Grand Leoniki certainly scores well if you want to explore the western side of the island.

We prefer to be nearer "Ag Nick" and Hersonissos having children.

More for them to do and a late night latte in the square above the town is the best way to relax!

I do love Crete, there really is no other place like it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PAP030565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews