We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good clean safe resort”
Review of Grand Leoniki

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Platanias
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Leoniki
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Platanias
hants, uk
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“good clean safe resort”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Stayed here in August for 1 week. Excellent location as a base to travel and see alot of Crete (by car). The room was clean and comfortable with a small kitchen area and a nice balcony. The resort itself was really nice with a choice of several pools, a library with books and various DVDS, an area for kids to play table tennis, a jacuzzi and small gym and squash court.
Safe location with a good choice of restaurants a short walk away. The local beach is walkabale, but Rethymno is only a short drive away.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kj1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    41
    13
    5
    7
See reviews for
27
39
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Nice staff. Basic room. Mostly a cheap and dumpy area. Only stay here for a centralized location.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Northface17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Platanias hotels

Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We booked through RCI. The tiny apartment was very disappointing. The furniture was falling apart. The bathroom was tiny. The TV and little sidetable were covered with dust. There was a safe in the room but you have to pay to use it! - the most ridiculous thing! There is not even a laundry facility in the hotel or nearby. I would definitely not recommend this place. There is no charm in this area, although the beach is only a short walk away. Try to find a hotel in the old town if possible where there are lots of nice restaurants and plenty of charm.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelbug6836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We stayed here for a week in May, it was the start of the season so the weather wasn't brilliant however this hotel had everything so we never got bored. The hotel itself was extremely clean and livable, with a bedroom upstairs and kitchen / living room downstairs the apartment was nicely seperated and also had a spare toilet. Apart from the occasional cockroach that kept finding its way though the water systems (we believe) this place was amazing, I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lennon121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2010

I was very happy at this resort, even though I admittedly spent little time on the property. It was not incredibly luxurious, but very comfortable, and we were able to explore the entire island over the course of our week in Crete from this convenient central location. I had a nice massage at the spa, dipped in the pool and the jacuzzi, and enjoyed coffee and drinks at the bar. The staff was very helpful when I needed them. I liked the design of the rooms. It is great having a full kitchen--we brought wine, coffee and snacks back to our room. We also had two full baths which was very convenient. I can't address the cost/value because I was staying via a friend's timeshare week.

All in all, this is a great place if you are renting a car and want to visit many parts of Crete and get back by dark. I don't think it would be as much fun without a car, because there isn't much within walking distance save a handful of restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank time2getaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

The timeshare resort is clean, in need of updating and situated in a quietish area. Restaurants are good - nothing outstanding with some great bars all within easy walking distance. Need a car to go anywhere but scuba diving is fantastic; you are picked up and dropped off at the hotel.
We couldn't go in or out of the hotel at any time of the day without tripping over sales people for several timeshare outfits. Even in Chania (miles away) we were accosted by young people trying to persuade us to visit for the hard sell. We let them drone on for some time and then told them we were staying there! All day, every day these sales people just go on and on.
Dictator of a lifeguard spoilt three teenagers time in the pool - constant reprimands for stupid stuff (throwing a ball/playing together), and trying to shut the pool at 6pm not 7 when we'd got back from days out. Front desk tried hard sell on half board but so very glad not to have done this - very expensive and not a lot of choice it appeared. A lot of the food apart from main course was the same each day and would have been well over 100 EUR every day for our family.
Not a place we would return to - either the hotel or the area but better than what we saw of either Chania or Heraklion.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ta5662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Check in is at the main entrance (Leoniki Residence) and there is a ridiculously tortuous route to reach the Grand Leoniki part. It is far quicker to reach this by a side street - turn left out of main entrance, then its next left, entrance up on the left about 50 meters.
We stayed here for a week in Jul/Aug 2009. Only tried lunch by the pool, which was fine, served by a very helpful lady who is in charge of the bar and food at lunchtime. They had a very good offer on when we were there, which was 3 meals a day for 20 euro. There were a couple of extras too - seemed worth doing, though we didnt take it up as we prefer to eat in different places. Local places that we thought were good included Steki and Taverna Garden. At lunch we found a basic place by the beach called Yianni's. The food here was good, and Yianni gave everyone a free carafe of wine after the meal - from his own vineyard, he said. It was jolly good.
Grand Leoniki was fine, though there isn't much room around the little pool at this part of the hotel. You could always go to the main pool, though.
Our room was fine, with a decent balcony, dishwasher, separate bedroom, kept clean and well supplied with linens.
Note: they don't supply pool towels, so bring your own or buy locally (they aren't expensive).
There is a good supermarket if you turn left out of the main street entrance (its 100m on the right - called Maleme.
We caught local buses to the nearby historic towns of Rethymnon and Chania - both are a must to visit in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Snickerbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
0.1 mi away
Grand Leoniki Residence
Grand Leoniki Residence
#5 of 20 in Platanias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
46.4 mi away
Village Heights Golf Resort
Village Heights Golf Resort
#3 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Axos
Hotel Axos
#2 of 20 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.2 mi away
Marinos Beach Hotel Apartments
4.1 mi away
Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa
Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa
#24 of 165 in Rethymnon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Leoniki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Leoniki

Property: Grand Leoniki
Address: 197 Leoforos Machis Kritis, Platanias, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon > Platanias
Amenities:
Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Platanias
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Leoniki 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Also Known As:
Grand Leoniki Platanias
Grand Leoniki Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing