We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel A Piattatella
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Monticello
Certificate of Excellence
Lausanne, Vaud, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A perfect stay!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Amazing hotel, great location - the hotel is steeped on the hillside above Ile Rousse and has the benefit of being within close proximity of the beach, yet is amazingly peaceful and quiet. The rooms are beautiful, amenities are great. The food is delicious, although the breakfast is slightly expensive for what is offered (18 euros). The service is impeccable. Overall a great experience!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank s_swiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    25
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
192
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our stay here was every bit as good as all the reports I read led me to believe it would be. It is indeed a haven of peace and tranquillity far enough off the beaten track to prevent any unwanted passers-by but only a short drive to beaches, shops and other things you might come on holiday for. On that score, thank goodness for the very clear sign posting from the coast and through the nearby village as you’d never find it without!!! You will need a car here as there is very little in the village that’s within walking distance apart from one restaurant (which was very nice but quite expensive).
The hotel itself is wonderful; beautifully and thoughtfully decorated and landscaped maximising its fabulous location and views. Evenings are very quiet, there is a limited bar service offering beers, wines and a few cocktails (although the staff were always too busy serving meals so we didn’t get to try these) but there wasn’t a full range of spirits so we couldn’t get a G&T for example which may surprise some of a 4 star hotel?
As others have mentioned the hotel doesn’t have a restaurant as such but does serve light meals. These were wonderful but the menu is not extensive enough to sustain eating 2 meals a day here (and only here) for more than a couple of days. Having said that there was a daily special which was always really good!
We had one of the deluxe rooms, which was truly deluxe! They have thought of everything, including clothes pegs to hang your wet swimwear up to dry! The highlight was however THE most amazing view ever, not just from the balcony but from the bed! So much so we left the curtains open so we could admire it as the sun rose and woke us. As someone else has written, we were limited to two coffee pods and ONE tea bag per day (per room), not that we would have wanted more in all honesty, it just seemed a bit petty considering the price you pay!
The staff and owners couldn’t have been nicer or more helpful making our stay an unforgettable experience. Yes it was expensive but that won’t stop us booking again for next year.
Fabulous.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSD58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This place is indeed lovely, and we truly enjoyed our 4-day stay in August. The hosts were charming and helpful. Only minor complaint would be the lack of a full dining option within the hotel; meal service in the evening is only by reservation and based on one 'suggestion'...all very good, but not necessarily what you have in mind! A second choice of main dish would be appreciated. That said, there are plenty of restaurants in nearby L'ile Rousse (although a car is mandatory).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melinlyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piattatella, Propriétaire at Hotel A Piattatella, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear guest, thank you so much for your very nice comment. We particularly have appreciated the title :-)
And thank you to give us the opportunity to share on the positioning of our "restaurant". It is the most complicated part of our services as you can guess. At the beginning the hotel didn't propose any lunch & diner but we quickly realized that a real demand was there. That's why we have decided season after season to develop this offer . We still today do not pretend to be a restaurant but more a kind of "guests' table"; an alternative to nearby restaurants when people prefer not going outside.
Unfortunately the hotel is too small to get a real restaurant with a large choice of dishes, and I'm afraid we won't be able to develop it more unless increasing significantly the number of rooms, which is not our objective. We also understand your position concerning "reservation", it is always annoying on vacation to planify.We do our best to minimize constraints for our guests but as we have a large fluctuation of people dining at the hotel from one day to another we try to anticipate in order to adapt the size of the team (for a better service on one side and to be able to maintain reasonable prices on the other side). Our position today is to focus on simple, typical and fresh dishes, cooked with products from our garden.
Once more, thank you again for raising this point and be sure we'll do our best to improve this important part of your stay. Best regards, Valérie & Thierry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights last week with my whole family (3 young boys and a baby) sharing two spacious bedrooms. I have a little to add to the very enthusiastics comments already published except to confirm their complete accuracy. Not only each of the hotel's features (location, accomodation, rooms comfort, infrastructure, services and food) stands at a very high standard but, even more important, they perfectly integrate with each other to create a quite unique atmosphere that fits extremely well with the beautiful moutain surroundings and view. The choice to build an hotel that deliberately turn its back to the sea while being so close from a beautiful coast is already the mark of strong identity and - once again - it is remarkable how everything during our stay contributed to bold this peaceful and very relaxing athmosphere. I strongly advice anyone visitng the north of Corsica to try to stay at least one night here keeping in mind the small size of the hotel and its deserved success will probably make this as an increasingly difficult challenge...

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Akioryuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Shortly after booking this hotel, I bought a guide book to Corsica, which advised strongly against holidaying in Corsica in July and August, because of the crowds, the traffic and the cost. The guide book was clearly written before A Piattatella opened. The peace and serenity of this hotel are hard to describe, even when fully occupied. The views from our room, San Patreo, from the restaurant terrace and from the pool are simply stunning. The photos on this site do not do it justice. Although we wanted to see as much of Corsica as possible, it was really hard to leave the hotel. Although we did tour round most of the north of the island, we enjoyed the area around the hotel as much as anywhere, particularly the next valley, which has wonderful views of Monte Padro, especially from the village of Olmi-Capella.

We didn't use the gym or sauna, or even the Jacuzzi (which also has a fantastic view); we were just content to lie by the pool or gaze at the mountains from the balcony, watching the red kites circling in front of us. The hotel is superbly integrated into the natural environment, whilst the rooms are uber chic, with neutral décor echoing the colours of the mountainside. The quality of the food - and service - in the restaurant was excellent, and we dined there all week. Why have the hassle of a drive to a busy restaurant when you can eat in tranquillity watching the sun go down and the lights come on in the mountain villages across the valley? Although choice is limited, the food is wholesome, home produced, and I don't think was any more expensive than in the seaside resorts.

Service was unobtrusive, consistently friendly and timely. It's hard to fault this hotel, other than that we did find it very expensive, staying during the peak period, but then so is everywhere else on Corsica at this time. To that extent, the guide book was right! We will definitely return one day.

Thanks to all the staff for a wonderful week.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms probably have the best views you'll ever find in a hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grumpyoldwoman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

A Piattatella is a luxury boutique hotel located outside the little village of Monticello, a 10-15 min ride to the sandy l'île Rousse. The hotel only has a handful of rooms, so book in advance. It's a luxurious place without the bling, perfect to rest and get away from it all.

The common areas and rooms are decorated with great taste, with a lot of wood for the design and natural touch. Everything here makes you feel at home: the hotel is family-run, with a stellar and personal service from the owners to the waitresses.

The view from the lounge / restaurant is also unique, facing the mountain and a little lake below.
The food on offer is rather limited but in addition they prepare a different menu every night (each dish can be taken separately) and we've absolutely loved everything we've tried! it was all very fresh and tasty. Vegetables come from the garden.

The medium-size pool is also feels luxurious and intimate at the same time. They also have a few gym equipment, a sauna, a hammam, and a massage room. The jacuzzi overlooking the mountain can be reserved in advance.
It's pretty much the perfect place !

Only minus (if we really have to look for one): the room Monte Padre is located right behind the reception and its bathroom overlooks the countryside with parking area. They usually reserve it for families with babies so it's a quick access to the restaurant and lounge. It's not noisy at all and the balcony has a great view. To compensate for its location the room is apparently the size of a luxurious accommodations but priced at standard. We've stayed there and we would come again!

Room Tip: the room Monte Padre is located right behind the reception and its bathroom overlooks the countrysi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oumanota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

One of the best hotels we've stayed in, ever. Decor was classy,
modern and relaxing. We were lucky to be upgraded to a luxury room which was huge with its own dressing area plus sparkling clean marble bathroom. If you make the most of all the inclusive features- fitness room, sauna, Turkish bath, vibration chair, jacuzzi, pool, sun lawn...then it's actually good value for money. Breakfast expensive but you can go for cheaper à la carte version. Air con doesn't cool the room at night but just as easy to open the window and close the shutter! Staff very professional. Overall exquisite.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yvonnerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticello
2.2 mi away
Best Western Santa Maria
Best Western Santa Maria
#2 of 18 in Ile Rousse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
82.9 mi away
Hotel Version Maquis
Hotel Version Maquis
#2 of 20 in Bonifacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
84.7 mi away
Hotel Cala Di Greco
Hotel Cala Di Greco
#1 of 20 in Bonifacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
83.6 mi away
Hotel U Capu Biancu
Hotel U Capu Biancu
#3 of 20 in Bonifacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
50.0 mi away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 28 in Ajaccio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
11.5 mi away
La Villa
La Villa
#1 of 30 in Calvi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel A Piattatella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel A Piattatella

Property: Hotel A Piattatella
Address: Chemin Saint Francois, 20220 Monticello, Corsica, France
Location: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Monticello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Monticello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel A Piattatella 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There comes a point when it is necessary to take a break, unwind and simply be aware of the flow of time...Far from the frenzy of daily life, in a place where you can contemplate the beauty of breathtaking scenery, inhale the delicate fragrances of the great outdoors and listen to the whisper of silence...Whether you are looking for activity or relaxation, you will immediately fall in love with this multi-faceted place.Our commitment: to offer you all the advantages of an authentic, refined hotel, located at the very heart of a protected and treasured natural environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel A Piattatella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel A Piattatella Monticello, Corsica, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing