We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel A Piattatella
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Monticello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Shortly after booking this hotel, I bought a guide book to Corsica, which advised strongly against holidaying in Corsica in July and August, because of the crowds, the traffic and the cost. The guide book was clearly written before A Piattatella opened. The peace and serenity of this hotel are hard to describe, even when fully occupied. The views from our room, San Patreo, from the restaurant terrace and from the pool are simply stunning. The photos on this site do not do it justice. Although we wanted to see as much of Corsica as possible, it was really hard to leave the hotel. Although we did tour round most of the north of the island, we enjoyed the area around the hotel as much as anywhere, particularly the next valley, which has wonderful views of Monte Padro, especially from the village of Olmi-Capella.

We didn't use the gym or sauna, or even the Jacuzzi (which also has a fantastic view); we were just content to lie by the pool or gaze at the mountains from the balcony, watching the red kites circling in front of us. The hotel is superbly integrated into the natural environment, whilst the rooms are uber chic, with neutral décor echoing the colours of the mountainside. The quality of the food - and service - in the restaurant was excellent, and we dined there all week. Why have the hassle of a drive to a busy restaurant when you can eat in tranquillity watching the sun go down and the lights come on in the mountain villages across the valley? Although choice is limited, the food is wholesome, home produced, and I don't think was any more expensive than in the seaside resorts.

Service was unobtrusive, consistently friendly and timely. It's hard to fault this hotel, other than that we did find it very expensive, staying during the peak period, but then so is everywhere else on Corsica at this time. To that extent, the guide book was right! We will definitely return one day.

Thanks to all the staff for a wonderful week.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms probably have the best views you'll ever find in a hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grumpyoldwoman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 363 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

A Piattatella is a luxury boutique hotel located outside the little village of Monticello, a 10-15 min ride to the sandy l'île Rousse. The hotel only has a handful of rooms, so book in advance. It's a luxurious place without the bling, perfect to rest and get away from it all.

The common areas and rooms are decorated with great taste, with a lot of wood for the design and natural touch. Everything here makes you feel at home: the hotel is family-run, with a stellar and personal service from the owners to the waitresses.

The view from the lounge / restaurant is also unique, facing the mountain and a little lake below.
The food on offer is rather limited but in addition they prepare a different menu every night (each dish can be taken separately) and we've absolutely loved everything we've tried! it was all very fresh and tasty. Vegetables come from the garden.

The medium-size pool is also feels luxurious and intimate at the same time. They also have a few gym equipment, a sauna, a hammam, and a massage room. The jacuzzi overlooking the mountain can be reserved in advance.
It's pretty much the perfect place !

Only minus (if we really have to look for one): the room Monte Padre is located right behind the reception and its bathroom overlooks the countryside with parking area. They usually reserve it for families with babies so it's a quick access to the restaurant and lounge. It's not noisy at all and the balcony has a great view. To compensate for its location the room is apparently the size of a luxurious accommodations but priced at standard. We've stayed there and we would come again!

Room Tip: the room Monte Padre is located right behind the reception and its bathroom overlooks the countrysi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oumanota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

One of the best hotels we've stayed in, ever. Decor was classy,
modern and relaxing. We were lucky to be upgraded to a luxury room which was huge with its own dressing area plus sparkling clean marble bathroom. If you make the most of all the inclusive features- fitness room, sauna, Turkish bath, vibration chair, jacuzzi, pool, sun lawn...then it's actually good value for money. Breakfast expensive but you can go for cheaper à la carte version. Air con doesn't cool the room at night but just as easy to open the window and close the shutter! Staff very professional. Overall exquisite.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yvonnerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Go for it. Don't hesitate, even if at first sight it looks a little bit expensive (It is).

You won't regret, because of the stunning view, the relaxed but attentive atmosphere, the countless excursions you can make to the nearby mountain villages, the biggest olive trees in the world ( and as a woodworker, I know what I am talking about - a 6 foot or 2 meter olive trunk diameter? You can see hundreds of these). The ever-changing light, the ever-changing winds, the silence of the place. Just go for it.

Take a walk on foot from the hotel, in both directions ( towards the Monticello village, and the other way 'up' the road), you will have a world of postcards at your feet. Enjoy the view.

The hotel has a dirty little secret. It's called breakfast. Don't tell anyone.

One evening, the staff was overwhelmed when serving dinner. My advice, based on this experience,when the dining room is full, better go for dinner to the nearby Isle Rousse town, or you may be waiting a long time to be served.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelPige0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful two week holiday here with my mother. Stunning location and views across the valley to the hills. For such a small hotel the facilities are excellent: pool, jacuzzi, gym, solarium, massage. Staff very professional and extremely helpful.lenty The room and balcony were immaculate. All the food on the small menu was local produce; a real taste of Corsica. New and extensive sports complex within a five minute walk. My mother and I could not fault this ideal retreat, except for the lack of local public transport as we did not have a car, but no fault to the hotel whose owner was more than generous with his time to give us lifts to the local town of Ile Rousse. Plenty to keep us busy for the whole two weeks. Would return again without a doubt and agree with other recent reviewers

Room Tip: all rooms have beautiful views and all very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pammhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had one night here during our honeymoon and enjoyed the combination of tranquility and luxury greatly. The communication was good beforehand and we had a pleasant welcome with a tour of the hotel. The location is beautiful, overlooking the lake and valley behind Monticello. Our room also had this view which we enjoyed from the balcony - the room was clean, fresh with a brilliant shower in the bathroom. The ambience outside was lovely, local flowers and fauna and very quiet. The swimming pool is more to enjoy the view than a proper swim as it's not that big - it's worth booking the jacquzzi for an hour if it's a romantic stay.
Value for money was excellent for early May - like much of Corsica prices go up a lot in the peak summer season. Breakfast was brilliant - loads of choice and we enjoyed a simple meal the evening before in the restaurant there.

Room Tip: Try and get one with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdCed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I had a privilege to visit the hotel in the beginning of April. The stay was simply wonderful: starting with the splendid room overlooking a valley with a small lake (BTW it IS seldom that you have a chance to observe red kites chasing one another in the skies and - doing so at the hight of your eyes! ). Spacious (easily accommodating 3 adults or 2+2 ), comfortable, modern and well equipped. The chief is worth a poem… Her salmon / pomelo / pepper salad or chocolate soufflé could easily get a place in Sèvres beside the standard of 1 kilogram or 1 meter… Words won’t describe them . You need really to taste them…
Well, IF you are lucky perhaps you will be able to book a stay there even this spring / summer… I do wish you luck. The place is worth a trip. I would even say that the place is a perfect justification for a trip to Corsica… :-)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAG00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticello
84.7 mi away
Hotel Cala Di Greco
Hotel Cala Di Greco
#1 of 20 in Bonifacio
447 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Santa Maria
Best Western Santa Maria
#3 of 18 in Ile Rousse
483 reviews
85 mi away
Hotel Version Maquis Citadelle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
83.6 mi away
Hotel U Capu Biancu
Hotel U Capu Biancu
#4 of 20 in Bonifacio
632 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Davia
Hotel Davia
#1 of 18 in Ile Rousse
179 reviews
84.1 mi away
A Cheda
A Cheda
#5 of 20 in Bonifacio
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel A Piattatella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel A Piattatella

Address: Chemin Saint Francois, 20220 Monticello, Corsica, France
Location: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Monticello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Monticello
Price Range: $199 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel A Piattatella 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There comes a point when it is necessary to take a break, unwind and simply be aware of the flow of time...Far from the frenzy of daily life, in a place where you can contemplate the beauty of breathtaking scenery, inhale the delicate fragrances of the great outdoors and listen to the whisper of silence...Whether you are looking for activity or relaxation, you will immediately fall in love with this multi-faceted place.Our commitment: to offer you all the advantages of an authentic, refined hotel, located at the very heart of a protected and treasured natural environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel A Piattatella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel A Piattatella Monticello, Corsica, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing