We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect & luxurious refuge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel A Piattatella
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Monticello
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect & luxurious refuge”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I had a privilege to visit the hotel in the beginning of April. The stay was simply wonderful: starting with the splendid room overlooking a valley with a small lake (BTW it IS seldom that you have a chance to observe red kites chasing one another in the skies and - doing so at the hight of your eyes! ). Spacious (easily accommodating 3 adults or 2+2 ), comfortable, modern and well equipped. The chief is worth a poem… Her salmon / pomelo / pepper salad or chocolate soufflé could easily get a place in Sèvres beside the standard of 1 kilogram or 1 meter… Words won’t describe them . You need really to taste them…
Well, IF you are lucky perhaps you will be able to book a stay there even this spring / summer… I do wish you luck. The place is worth a trip. I would even say that the place is a perfect justification for a trip to Corsica… :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAG00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    26
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
53
211
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for four days with my wife a few months ago. We were completely surprised with the excellent décor of the building and the wonderful services of the staff. Gym, Jacuzzi and a nice pool in the garden were the other facilities that kept us busy all the time. Breakfast was really delicious and was served in an elegant style. Nearest beach was just 10 mins away. Owner of the property is a real gem! He guided us in many ways. According to our calculations, Hotel A Piattatella is one of the best hotels in the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaco Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

A great hotel above the village of Monticello almost 1000 ft above l'Île Rousse. Heated pool, jacuzzi, spa and health suite. Home prepared light meals delicious. The peace, tranquility and views something else. The whole valley can disappear into the mist in 10 minutes!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IonasDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We spent 4 nights the first week of October. This gem of a hotel surely must be one of the best on Corsica, if not the best. The room was perfect, the bed very comfortable, the material quality of bath etc. was top. Although the hotel was booked (with many drivers of the Tour de Corse Historique), it was supremely quiet and peaceful. The view from our room of the mountains was spectacular. The breakfast service on the terrace (also with view) was wonderful and the light meal menu is excellent. After the first night we reported to the owner that the down comforter was too heavy and hot and requested a different type of blanket, which was provided for the rest of our stay. This location next to L'lle Rousse was a great choice...close to the artisan villages, easy to get over to see Calvi, St. Florent and Bastia. A great place to watch the sunset is the small town just north of Calvi, where the Pizza truck can provide you the dinner to go with the sunset. If you stay at A Piattatella, make sure you walk out on the pier of L'lle Rouse to the Ile de la Pietra to see a magnificant 360 degree view, a ruin of a Genoase guard tower, and the light house...as well as to take a dip in the sea. And if you speak very little French (as was the case for us), you are in very good hands here with multilingual owner and staff. We recommend this hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank France L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

A Piatatella sits atop a hill with stunning views of a lovely Corsican valley. It is new with attractive and functional design. The top stars here are the proprietors Thierry and Valerie and their very helpful and proficient staff. The pool, hot tub, and gym are perfectly suitable for a small hotel. Though an evening meal is not available the breakfast and lite fare served until 21:00 are very well done and satisfying. Also a good selection of Corsican wines. Terrific spot!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 757983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at a Piattatella for four nights. Our review is contrary to the reviews listed.

After requesting a room with a view on our booking we were initially given a room that was like a dungeon. Dark with absolutely no view. I hope this was the worst room on the complex as we may as well have stayed in our cellar. We did request to change rooms on arrival and we ended up in two different rooms for our four night stay. This was disruptive and inconvenient but the two rooms we were given were better than the first. One had a wonderful view and the second, which we reluctantly accepted, had a partial view.

The air con in both the rooms was substandard. It took all night for the air con to reduce the temperature by 3 degrees. You can taste whatever is in the air con unit and we are both now suffering with really bad throat/chest infections.

Location is great (as we don't mind driving.)
If you get a view it is spectacular.
Very clean.
Kind of boutique chic - but not.
Peaceful and quiet.
Warm and helpful reception staff.

Room Tip: Request a first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piattatella, Propriétaire at Hotel A Piattatella, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear guest,
Our team is sincerely sorry for your disappointment. Of course we respect your opinion and thank you to give us the opportunity to improve our services.
Concerning the room mentioned, you are absolutly right, its view is partially obscured. The solution exists; it is to cut the oaks that obstruct the view and darken the room. Until now we were hesitant to do so as the respect for nature is important for us (and as some clients love it like this with its private garden, its quietness..."cocoon ambiance"). But your quote makes us reconsidering our position... and we feel ready to cut the trees.
Concerning the air-conditionning system : we feel very concerned about your remarks and we immediatly asked our service provider to come, clean and verify all the machines. Last April all air conditioning machines had been cleaned and "bio-decontaminated" (knowing they have only 1 year of activity), but in doubt, it is better to do it twice.
Please accept our apologies and be sure that our energy is focused on the well-being of our guests.
Best regards, Thierry & Valérie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Fantastic hotel, one of our best stays ever. There is not a main building but rooms are in different small houses in a beautiful garden with paths surrounded by Mediterranean vegetation; terrace for breakfast with breathtaking view I could have stayed forever, the décor is just beautiful, nothing even to nitpick, fresh, understated luxury yet with personality, attention to the smallest details, I loved the bathroom décor, the spectacular swimming pool. We also had some delicious snacks, served with style and care. We felt just enthusiastic about this place, all we expected and more. I think we can use the word “perfect” here. We also stayed at ‘the’ other Tripadvisor top rated 4 star hotel in the island with same price or more, but was by far a less amazing experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ors2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monticello
2.2 mi away
Best Western Santa Maria
Best Western Santa Maria
#2 of 18 in Ile Rousse
427 reviews
82.9 mi away
Hotel Version Maquis
Hotel Version Maquis
#2 of 20 in Bonifacio
248 reviews
84.7 mi away
Hotel Cala Di Greco
Hotel Cala Di Greco
#1 of 20 in Bonifacio
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.6 mi away
Hotel Castel Brando
Hotel Castel Brando
#1 of 1 in Brando
542 reviews
83.6 mi away
Hotel U Capu Biancu
Hotel U Capu Biancu
#3 of 20 in Bonifacio
518 reviews
11.5 mi away
La Villa
La Villa
#2 of 30 in Calvi
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel A Piattatella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel A Piattatella

Property: Hotel A Piattatella
Address: Chemin Saint Francois, 20220 Monticello, Corsica, France
Location: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Monticello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Monticello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel A Piattatella 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There comes a point when it is necessary to take a break, unwind and simply be aware of the flow of time...Far from the frenzy of daily life, in a place where you can contemplate the beauty of breathtaking scenery, inhale the delicate fragrances of the great outdoors and listen to the whisper of silence...Whether you are looking for activity or relaxation, you will immediately fall in love with this multi-faceted place.Our commitment: to offer you all the advantages of an authentic, refined hotel, located at the very heart of a protected and treasured natural environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel A Piattatella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel A Piattatella Monticello, Corsica, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing