We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have loved to stay longer there!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
L'Ancienne Boulangerie
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We felt welcome and home at once at this charming little place, providing everything you possibly could wish for - yummy croissants & coffee in the morning, good advises where to go and what to do, nice room for relaxing, nice setting within the heart of the ancient little village - and will be sure to be back again soon! :-)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHP_PRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 88 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2011

Our first visit to Caunes-Minervois and we loved the area and L'Ancienne Boulangerie. Maybe our new favorite area and place in rural France thanks in no small part to a great host full of valuable and right on information and help.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eandjinpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We only had one night in this great town, but a wonderful accomodation. We would certainly return and spend more time. Gareth was a great host, and how relaxing to have English the primary language.

Room Tip: Only one night in this charming town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redshale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

We stayed here 5 years ago with our teen-age children and now we returned as part of our celebratory 30th wedding anniversary trip. Our host, Gareth, put us immediately at ease and told us to make ourselves at home and treat it like our "Granny's house. We set in immediately to relax and enjoy the wonderful ambiance of this location in France. Gareth gave us wonderful tips and suggestions to make our daily explorations more than we could have hoped for. We had to revisit the restaurant across the way --Hotel d'Alibert with the ever iconic Frederick. We were not disappointed; wonderful food, great host and the setting is perfection. This was a trip we hated to see end. The charm and character of this B&B and the warmth of the host was the icing on the top.

Room Tip: Get a room that opens onto courtyard--lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbarathefirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

Stayed in L'Ancienne Boulangerie for 7 nights, really enjoyed it. The owners made us feel very welcome and had excellent local knowledge. One of our rooms had a microwave, kettle and fridge...really handy at times. Very quaint, suited all of our children (9 year old and teens) Missed eating at Hotel across the road, have to do this the next time. Plenty of parking within a short walk. Probably best not to drive right up as streets very narrow. (Park at the Abbey ) Pool in next village (no boxers allowed!!! Considered dangerous. Speedos only, 2 of us couldn't swim as a result and no refunds given) Swimming at lake nearby. Overall an excellent base for us.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fee2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

It was a lovely place the moment I steped in. I felt right at home and very relaxed.
The beautiful terrace garden on the second level is a great place to chill out with a cup of tea and a novel. I was charmed by the clean and comfortable room which was beautifully decorated. I slept very well. The owner , Gareth was very friendly and welcoming. I would definitely love to visit again and highly recommend travellers to explore this charming bed & breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshinesoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

We came to this place after a weekend in Collioure and a stop at nearby Carcassonne. We were bone weary of crowds. This quiet inn in this very small town was just the antidote we needed. The rooms are attractively decorated and very comfortable. The price is very attractive. We spent two nights here. We were sorry we hadn't budgeted more time.

We didn't get to meet Roy (although he is who we had corresponded with by e-mail), but Gareth is a great host. We enjoyed talking to him over breakfast, and he would be a great person to converse with over a bottle of wine after a day of sightseeing. He knows this area well and has a lot of really good suggestions.

There is no wi-fi, and the only internet access is a pay-terminal in the breakfast area. But, really, sometimes you just need to take a break from all that. If you're on an extended trip to France, this place makes a wonderful weekend getaway where you can hide from the crowds.

Parking is unavailable at the B&B, but this wasn't a problem. There are several free parking areas located within easy walking distance. The parking areas seem very safe ("Touch wood," as Gareth said,) The streets are very narrow but are two-way. You may get the chance to practice your negotiating skills with an oncoming driver.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OtherMountainDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caunes-Minervois hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Marbrerie
Hotel La Marbrerie
#1 of 2 in Caunes-Minervois
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Deux Arches
Les Deux Arches
#4 of 4 in Caunes-Minervois
6 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Angel
Villa Angel
#1 of 2 in Caunes-Minervois
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel d'Alibert
Hotel d'Alibert
#2 of 2 in Caunes-Minervois
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Le Minervois
#2 of 4 in Caunes-Minervois
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Ancienne Boulangerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ancienne Boulangerie

Address: 20 rue Saint Genes, 11160 Caunes-Minervois, Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne > Caunes-Minervois
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Caunes-Minervois
Price Range: $93 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ancienne Boulangerie in the pretty village of Caunes Minervois located at the foot of the Black Mountains. Minutes from the Medieval Walled City of Carcassonne. Our award winning five bedroom Chambre D’Hôte set amongst the cobbled streets of the village and once the Bakery for the 8th Century Abbey awaits your arrival. The village still retains its quaint quiet charm with colourful shuttered houses and views over the vineyards and Pyrenees. Whilst the village has a weekly market, 2 Boulangeries, a Pharmacy, Cafe, Restaurants, Post office and Supermarket. Located in an area of beauty with vineyards, sunflowers and sunshine, the Canal du Midi and nearby Carcassonne. This is part of southern France that still retains its rural feel. Relax on the sun drenched terrace after a day of Cycling, Hiking or exploring and enjoy a welcome aperitif as the Abbey Bells Chime and the quietness of the village encompasses. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your L'Ancienne Boulangerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing