We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True "cuisine du terroir"”
Review of La Marbrerie

La Marbrerie
Price range: $19 - $45
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Marble ... A place steeped in history.This large building which saw the marbles shape of Versailles was completely restored in an eco environment.Christine and Robert, children of the country, welcome you in a beautiful setting then look at the museum marble.You can enjoy a meal in the old soil polishing workshop, enjoy a plate of countries using local produce in season at all times, take a break ice in the shade of trees, and stay in a charming rooms contemporary comfort.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“True "cuisine du terroir"”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

"La Marbrerie" is reliable, delicious and welcoming. While the rest of the restaurants in the village keep restricted hours, the restaurant is open 7 days a week, from noon to 3 p.m. and from 7:00 p.m. until closing. Coming by for just a coffee or a glass of wine is fine with the owners, while the other places in Caunes are too small inside to accommodate modest consumers.

Also, "La Marbrerie" has WiFi --which they provide customers at no charge. This is the only place in Caunes that does: the Office de Tourisme has internet, but there is a charge of 1 Euro after the first 30 minutes. In effect, it is an internet café as well as restaurant.

The food I have had (the "formula" of three courses) is quite good: this summer's menu starts with a big glass of gazpacho or an appetizer, main courses and choice of desserts, all for 19 Euros, service included.

Along with the typical "formule", the Languedoc specialities: --pâtés and cassoulets are available, as well as local wines and beers.

"La Marbrerie" also sells local jams, honeys, wines and products made of the red marble for which Caunes is famous. (Caunes' red marble was used for the columns of the Grand Trianon at Versailles".) And you can buy some nice local postcards there as well.

The restaurant and B&B are a family business so the service is warm, and the aim is to please. I have come by to have a coffee around 9:00 a.m. in the morning and check my e-mails and never had a problem dong so.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marta V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    46
    25
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boutenac, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming and friendly with a good traditional menu.”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Two of us, out for a day enjoying the countryside, ate here when we happened on the restaurant in Caune. It was just what we were looking for. The food was delcious, we both had the cassoulet on this windy, chilly day -- the duck and sausage were of high quality and we were both so pleased with our choice. We saw much other food going by, all of it looked very nice, we'll go back to sample other dishes.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janis h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
306 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“A fitting finish to a great holiday”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

In the Minervois it is difficult to find an open restaurant on a Monday evening but it was the last day of our wine tasting holiday and we wanted to celebrate. La Marbrerie did us proud sitting all 11 of us together round a huge wooden table. We chose the 23 euro menu which offered an excellent choice. I had Fois gras (5 euro extra) steak and chips, the goats cheese with honey and vanilla and strawberry glacé for desert. Other highlights were the cassoulet, beef daub and klafooti. We also had 3 bottles of excellent Minervois. The total came to 382 euro for an excellent meal in lovely surroundings. The service was first class. We would happily recommend this place to others.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tasty”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Simple food well cooked ... we loved the Cassoulette. It was very quiet for Friday night. Service was friendly we would go back again

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ted Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hard to judge”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Given it was january and I was the only client, it would be harsh to be critical.
The restaurant is delightful, quirky and I made the ambience as warm as I could!
There are some lovely wines to try, and other whacky drinks. The menu is nice, short and simple and what I had was fine. An omelette at €12 is more a reflection on France than on this restaurant.
The service was a bit offhand without being rude, but they did their best to accommodate me.
I'll give it another go because I loved the hotel upstairs!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NickTheWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Marbrerie also viewed

Caunes-Minervois, Aude
Caunes-Minervois, Aude
 
Caunes-Minervois, Aude
Caunes-Minervois, Aude
 

Been to La Marbrerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing