We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to judge”
Review of La Marbrerie

La Marbrerie
Price range: $19 - $45
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Marble ... A place steeped in history.This large building which saw the marbles shape of Versailles was completely restored in an eco environment.Christine and Robert, children of the country, welcome you in a beautiful setting then look at the museum marble.You can enjoy a meal in the old soil polishing workshop, enjoy a plate of countries using local produce in season at all times, take a break ice in the shade of trees, and stay in a charming rooms contemporary comfort.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hard to judge”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Given it was january and I was the only client, it would be harsh to be critical.
The restaurant is delightful, quirky and I made the ambience as warm as I could!
There are some lovely wines to try, and other whacky drinks. The menu is nice, short and simple and what I had was fine. An omelette at €12 is more a reflection on France than on this restaurant.
The service was a bit offhand without being rude, but they did their best to accommodate me.
I'll give it another go because I loved the hotel upstairs!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NickTheWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    46
    25
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“World's best cassoulet”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We came upon this restaurant by chance while out for a walk at lunch time in this medieval town on a cold, rainy day. The special here is cassoulet, and two of us ordered one to share, along with a salad. The salad was beautiful, large and fresh, and the cassoulet was absolutely packed with different meats and the beans were perfectly cooked. It tasted just the way it's supposed to, and we had a wonderful meal there, service was as warm and friendly as the food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Where to eat in Caunes-Minervois”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We enjoyed our meal. The price was reasonable, the food was good and cooked to our liking ...and they served the meal with tasty vegetables!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Worth a visit just for the "Fisherman's Pot"”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Had dinner in the garden at La Marbrerie hotel in Caunes-Minervois last night. Ordered a small bottle of local red called Domaine Tour Boisee - a blend if Grenache and Merlot which was a little tart for my taste at first, but soon started to grow on me.

I have by now completely thrown any concept of restraint in regards to food intake on this holiday out the window and once again ordered from the Menu Terroir (or Menu Terror as my waistline has begun to refer to it). For appetiser I had the duck pâté; not as rich as foi gras, but quite tasty, served with a lettuce leaf drizzled with something that tastes like a thick Worcester sauce and a gherkin. Only complaint, the bread tasted like it was a day old.

For main I ordered the "Fisherman's Pot". I asked the lady serving me if this was like a bouillabaisse and she indicated with a roll of her hand that it was similar. It consisted of pieces of hake, shelled mussels and whole baby potatoes served in a thick, delicious broth. There was something comforting about this dish, like your mother had just whipped it up in the kitchen and served it for Saturday dinner (if your mother was French I suppose). Rich, hearty and flavoursome, this is one of the culinary highlights of the trip so far and worth a four star eating on its own.

Next was a small round of chèvre served with a drizzle of honey on the side of the plate. I've got to say I'm not a big fan of goat cheese, but when served with something sweet (like the cherry jam at La Chaumiere in Quillan) it really is quite palatable.

Once again, I ordered the nougat ice cream for dessert. Honestly, I can't get enough of this, and once again it didn't disappoint. Good food in a lovely garden setting in the South of France. How many boxes does that tick?!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kst01231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congupna
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Let down by the food”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The atmosphere of this place is good but the food and service disappoint, it was busy whilst we we there but the that doesn't excuse the service or the poor food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mbjanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Marbrerie also viewed

Caunes-Minervois, Aude
Caunes-Minervois, Aude
 
Caunes-Minervois, Aude
Caunes-Minervois, Aude
 

Been to La Marbrerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing