We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very special place...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Peupliers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varennes sur Loire
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Peupliers
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A very special place...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were so keen to stay with Tracey and Mike that we re organised our French road trip for when they had availabilty-we made the right decision!
This place is awesome,Tracey and Mike are perfect hosts sharing their life and lifestyle perfectly with you-thanks for that guys,we all felt very relaxed!
Mikes breakfasts and evening meals are Michelin star standard,my sister and l are coeliacs and Mike catered for us with care and imagination,every evening was just magic!
It is a fabulous place to stay to explore the Loire valley, returning each evening to a heated pool and gourmet food was the icing on the cake.
Max made it all the more special-a waggy tail and a cuddle each time we returned-just love him!!
We are looking forward to returning.....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzyB93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikewilke, Owner at Les Peupliers, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thanks for the lovely review. Mike enjoyed the challenge of creating interesting meals that Anne and yourself could eat as happily as the other guests. We always try and make guests feel at home here, that's our main aim. We are so pleased that you have decided to come back and visit again in 2014. Best wishes from Mike, Tracey & Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
132
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have just spent a wonderful 5 days with Mike, Tracey and the very mellow Max. It's the best place we have ever stayed in. The accommodation is superb (our room was one of the Haylofts), the gardens lovely and the pool ever so slightly heated, the breakfasts are delicious and whatever you do you must sample Mike's cooking. We ate out only 1 night of the 5 we were there as we felt we couldn't get better anywhere else. And ladies treat yourselves to one of Tracey's super relaxing treatments. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this lovely place.

Room Tip: The Hayloft rooms are extremely spacious although they are upstairs which may be a problem for those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikewilke, Owner at Les Peupliers, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback from your stay with us. We try our best to make it an enjoyable stay for our guests and are so pleased that you enjoyed the food, treatments and your room. Kind Regards, Mike and Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Despite having visited many places around Europe and the US there is nowhere else where we feel more comfortable and relaxed. Apart from "regular" visits we celebrated our 40th anniversary there and have just returned from celebrating my 70th birthday. Whatever the reason for our visit the instant we are welcomed by Tracey and Mike (and Max of course) we feel relaxed and all the world's problems disappear. Tracey and Mike are the perfect hosts; Mike's cooking and classes and Tracey's beauty treatments are the icing on the cake. So we will keep going back hopefully for many years to come

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan_Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikewilke, Owner at Les Peupliers, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We are honored that you chose Les Peupliers to celebrate your 70th birthday with your family and friends. We hope that we did you proud Roger and left you with memories of a specia celebration. Our very best regards as always, Tracey, Mike and Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We attended and thoroughly enjoyed one of Mike's cooking classes. As a passionate foodie who has done a few of these types of classes this was one of the best ones! Mike is relaxed, helpful and very willing to share his professional knowledge. You leave with some great recipes and some real inside tips and tricks.
I also enjoyed one of Tracey's hot stone massages - outstanding!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppet2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesPeupliers, Owner at Les Peupliers, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
It is so good to hear that you enjoyed your cookery class with Mike and that you rated it so highly, especially as you have done other classes in the past. Mike has a true passion for his craft and loves passing on his knowledge to others.
I'm glad that the Hot Stones massage had the desired effect and that you felt the benefit afterwards.
Please come and visit again the next time you are over here. Best Regards, Mike & Tracey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

..........to see Mike, Tracy and Max. We are welcomed like family, treated like royalty, fed like lords, and all in a beautiful French Farm Complex wonderfully converted by themselves. It's conveniently situated for visiting all of the central and western attractions of the Loire Valley and the pool is superb to return to after a day out. I loved Tracy's Pebble Massage and we ( six close friends ) all voted to eat in every night as no restaurant could better Mike's gastro meals.
Neddless to say we will return again. We highly recommend Les Peupliers to all.

Room Tip: We've tried them all and they're all amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bensonholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesPeupliers, Owner at Les Peupliers, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Many thanks to the gang for coming back to Les Peupliers yet again! Thank you for your generous and kind comments. It is always a pleasure having you to stay with us and we are so pleased that we are still delivering on what we offer here. We all look forward to your next visit. Best wishes to you all. Mike, Tracey & Max (star of the show)!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed in this beautiful accommodation for three nights as part of a cycle tour of the Loire valley area. Mike and Tracey were extremely helpful locking away our bikes and offering suggestions to enhance our stay. Everything was faultless but a special highlight for us was meeting the other guests over the sensational evening gastronomic occasions!! We would certainly return were we ever in the area again, and highly recommend this outstanding little gem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjbmcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesPeupliers, Owner at Les Peupliers, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for saying that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do try and make all of our guests feel at home here at Les Peupliers and thank you for the great comments about Mike's dinners. They are a special part of what we offer guests and Mike is passionate about good food as you know. Please visit us again next time you are in the Loire Valley.
Kind Regards,
Tracey & Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this wonderful bed and breakfast and could have stayed much longer. A delightful and lovingly restored French farmhouse, in the countryside near the little village of Varennes. Easy driving distance to local attractions, or Mike and Tracey also have bicycles available for guests to use. Mike's cooking is indeed superb, and it is well worthwhile staying in for dinner. Our double room with en-suite was spacious, charmingly decorated, quiet and very comfortable with french doors that opened onto the courtyard. Really stunning location and wonderful hosts. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKtravelllers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesPeupliers, Owner at Les Peupliers, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for all of your positive comments about your stay with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Your kind words make it all worthwhile! Kind Regards, Tracey & Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varennes sur Loire
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Marine de Loire
Hotel La Marine de Loire
#1 of 2 in Montsoreau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
5.1 mi away
Fontevraud L'Hotel
Fontevraud L'Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
21.7 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#1 of 24 in Saumur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
11.6 mi away
Chateau de Rochecotte
Chateau de Rochecotte
#1 of 2 in Langeais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
13.0 mi away
La Closerie Saint Martin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Peupliers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Peupliers

Property: Les Peupliers
Address: 2 rue de Montauron, 49730 Varennes sur Loire, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Varennes sur Loire
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Varennes sur Loire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury bed & breakfast accommodation in the heart of the Loire Valley. Lovingly restored and renovated, Les Peupliers provides five luxurious guest bedrooms and suites, each with private facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Les Peupliers Varennes Sur Loire, Pays De La Loire, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing