We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Most exquisite deluxe B and B in Varennes”
Review of Les Peupliers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varennes sur Loire
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les Peupliers
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Most exquisite deluxe B and B in Varennes”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I am flying back out to see Trace and Mike in September . Taking some more lovely Friends. This is the most relaxing and beautiful accommodation I have ever stayed in.
The rooms are immaculate , beds so comfortable , decorated to a very high standard and Mike Wilke's cooking is 5 star.
Tracey cant do enough for you checking your every need .
Max their lovely dog is always ready to meet and greet and even carrys in your paper for you.
Cant wait to come again.
Shopping in samur , fabulous food with Mike , champagne with Tracey and a massage if you need to relax even more.
Highly recommend to everyone .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 760sally-m760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
134
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at Les Peupliers for three nights in July.
Our stay was one of the highlights of our month long holiday holiday in France.
Tracey and Mike are wonderful hosts, and made our stay a memorable one.
The accommodation is decorated to a high standard, and is very clean and comfortable.
We had dinner with the other guests on three consecutive nights, Mike's cooking was superb!
The cost of the three course meal with wine was very reasonable, considering what some restaurants charge!
We did not have any difficulty finding the property at all.
The surrounding area is a wealth of beauty and interest, so many fascinating things to do or see.
If we are in the area again, we would not hesitate to stay with Tracey, Mike and Max.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Just got back from a visit to this wonderful place. My wife and I really enjoyed every moment of our stay here. Welcoming, beautiful, attention to detail and most of all relaxing sums Les Peupliers up! Mike and Tracey go more than the extra mile to make everything run seamlessly. They can't do enough to make you at home and answer any question you have. Their knowledge of the area is invaluable to planning days out, choosing restaurants to visit and places to go to try some of the local wine. Go here and make sure you sample of of Mike's superb cooking - You won't regret it!

Room Tip: We stayed in Hayloft 1 and would do so again if/when we go back! All rooms seemed to be fabulous and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We went to les Peupliers a few years ago and had a wonderful time and decided we wanted to celebrate our 25th anniversary and my 50th birthday there. We invited 6 friends and my 2 sisters in law who were all truly impressed without seeing the rooms so it just got better. Mike Tracy and Max are exceptional hosts with fabulous food, wonderful Thai massage and perfect butler in Max the dog. Thanks for making it a wonderful time to remember for us and see you all soon xx

Room Tip: Happily stay in any room all rooms have excellent facillities
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonbabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiddy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We were invited to attend Les Peupliers to celebrate our friends 25th wedding anniversary and 50th birthday, so thank you Sharon and Les.
Les Peupliers was perfect for the celebration, Tracey, Mike and Max ( the Labrador) could not do enough for us.
We enjoyed three excellent evenIng dinners! Served and explained in detail by Mike.
The Hot Stone massage was also pretty special, thanks Tracey.
The location was perfect to explore France if required or just chill around the heated pool.
A tour of the wine cellar is a must do! and bring plenty of the local wine back home mmmmmmm nice.
Don't forget to purchase Mike's homemade jams, sauces and ketchup, you will experience these at breakfast and dinner, so you can try before you buy.
We will be returning in the very near future, to enjoy the experience again.

Room Tip: Every room is spot on, so you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BKOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

After spending three days in July 2011 at what turned out to be the best b&b of out of six on our tour from the South to the North of France, we decided to return for a longer stay of seven days in July 2012. It's a tranquil countryside spot ideal for visiting the many Loire Chateaux, towns and wine makers. We were greeted by Tracey, Mike and Max the adorably laid back Golden Labrador like old friends. We stayed in one of the Hayloft rooms (largest of rooms) which are very spacious, tastfully decorated and fitted out to an excellent standard. Having seen all 5 rooms when there, we would have happily stayed in any one of them! Breakfast is a real treat, fresh seasonal fruit from the garden, Mike's home made preserves, museli, bread and yogurt in addition to what you would normally expect in a continental breakfast. Then when you think that this is good, be sure not to miss Mike's evening meals which are a true taste sensation at a very reasonable extra price. To try to describe how good his creative chef skills and how sumpuous the meals are would take too long and you would probably think I am exaggerating, plus he is so calm and relaxed about everything he does! Tracey, who is the other half of this great partnership is not only a wonderfully vibrant host, she is also a very accomplished beauty therapist who practices a range different treatments. The Loire is not always as warm as the south of France so it is comforting to know that when you want a swim in their garden pool that they keep it heated all the time. I have stayed at many places in my life, but this is a little gem which I might well regret telling the World about if the result is that I have difficulty booking it again, but we feel Tracey and Mike deserve the recognition for being at the top of their game.
P&J Cheltenham UK

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Just spent a relaxing few days with Mike and Tracey after a weekend at Le Mans 24 hrs race. This was our third visit to see them over the last five years. The standard gets better as the years go on and Mike's dinners (preceded by cocktails and canapes) are still as fantastic as ever! We always stay in a spacious Hayloft room - it's worth it! The heated pool is a perfect temperature, most welcoming after days out and about visiting local chateaux or wine tasting (and buying!). Les Peupliers is ideally located for Saumur, Angers, Amboise and many other interesting towns. PS Leave plenty of space in the boot to take home some of the fantastic wines that are produced in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Car0lineandge0ff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varennes sur Loire
12.6 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel La Marine de Loire
Hotel La Marine de Loire
#1 of 2 in Montsoreau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
21.7 mi away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Les Terrasses de Saumur
Les Terrasses de Saumur
#1 of 2 in Saint-Hilaire-Saint-Florent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
11.5 mi away
Chateau de Rochecotte
Chateau de Rochecotte
#1 of 2 in Langeais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevraud
Hotel La Croix Blanche Fontevrau...
#2 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Peupliers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Peupliers

Property: Les Peupliers
Address: 2 rue de Montauron, 49730 Varennes sur Loire, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Varennes sur Loire
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Varennes sur Loire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury bed & breakfast accommodation in the heart of the Loire Valley. Lovingly restored and renovated, Les Peupliers provides five luxurious guest bedrooms and suites, each with private facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Les Peupliers Varennes Sur Loire, Pays De La Loire, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing