We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a family holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Varennes sur Loire
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Domaine de la Breche
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great place for a family holiday”
Reviewed July 21, 2011

This was a friendly campsite with a mixture of mobile homes and tents.

I would describe this as a small campsite, but with plenty to do. The staff were all friendly but we did not have much to do with the entertainment side of things, as the children soon made friends and we hardly saw them.

It was the end of the season, so the shop was not well stocked, but there was a supermarket within 10 minutes, and we had barbeques most nights. The layout of the camp was well thought out, and there were lots of open spaces for children to mingle and play.

The girls particularly loved the horse riding ( and the instructor!), who was a lot of fun and very engaging. They went every day, and whilst I am petrified of horses, he managed to get me on my daughter's horse when she was initially too scared to, and then threatened to make it canter, but he ran alongside all of the time and let any child canter while he made sure he had both the pony/horse and the child safely within reach.

The water complex was good. The slides were satisfactory, and even though the girls complained that they were a little boring, they were never off them for long.

We did not try the restaurant food, and the wine in the bar was a little expensive, so we got it from the supermarket instead.

This was a good holiday even though the Loire region was not, in our opinion, as beautiful as the Dordogne. But that didn't matter. The children were not bored for a second.

In short, you wont be dissappointed!

All mobile homes/lodgings within easy access to centre and the whole place is fine for wheelchair users. It is all very flat.

TIP: Look at it on Eurocamp/Keycamp and then book direct as you will save a lot of money!.

We travelled by train but there is now a new flight from Manchester to Brive with Jet2.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosiegibs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    56
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
122
42
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed at this site with Eurocamp. We stayed in a 3 bed comfort (very run down and no heating - suggest upgrade to premier). The site is just perfect for toddlers - our 3 year old loved the pool slides which were perfect for her age. And there were great little playgrounds dotted all around the campsite. In fact the whole range of activities on offer was great for her - including pony rides.

The only thing that let it down was the weather - it was very very cold until around 2pm. The outdoor pools are not sufficiently heated to cater for the dodgy weather. My 10 month old shivered and cried when we got him out of the pool to take his swimming costume off. He started to get a cold so we switched to a campsite further south in the dordogne which was well worth the extra 6 hours drive.

We wouldn't return because the weather is just too unreliable and the pool becomes impossible when it's anything less than 28 degrees

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

The site is a very well maintained Les Castels site which also includes Eurocamp & Keycamp mobile homes. The site is laid out very well and is quite small so wherever you are staying it is never too long to walk to the main facilities. There is a shop with fairly reasonable prices (although it will never compare with supermarkets), a bar on site as well as a restaurant - food was good and again reasonably priced. They also do take away pizzas. There are 4 swimming pools - 1 with water slides, one deeper pool, one shallow pool and one toddler pool with small slides. Also a bouncy castle and a games room near the shop and various swings, climbing frames etc. dotted around the park. Lots of other activities including pony trekking.

There were lots of British, Irish and Dutch on site plus a few French, German and Belgians while we were there. The site is ideal for younger children and seemed to be popular with these sort of families. Not too many older children who I guess may get a bit bored here. We loved it as did our 2 year old daughter, particularly the pools. Close to Saumur (6km) which contains all amenities you require (shops, petrol, supermarkets etc.)

The site was generally very well kept and although we were in a mobile home I did look at the wash blocks and toilets for campers which were always very clean. Washing machines, dryers and irons available there too. We stayed in a Eurocamp mobile home which was great and catered for everything we needed.

The camp has a quiet policy between 10pm and 8 am which seemed to be well observed.

The local area is very beautiful - this was our first visit to the area but will certainly not be our last. If we return we will certainly look seriously at staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomJonesDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogerstone
Level Contributor
134 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

We chose this site for its proximity to Saumur and the Loire, it is a Castels site, the facilities offered and the general reviews. On arrival we realised that this was a touring site that had developed over the years - the touring pitches are very good and spacious and I would recommend to anyone looking in this area.

The Keycamp / Eurocamp etc pitches are obviously an add on in the last few years but are well placed - a bit away from the pool but as it is not a large site this is not a problem. The pools are small with a limited appeal to teenagers - in fact we realised that this was campsite for families with younger children and were pleased that we chose this when our older children had not been with us on this holiday.

Our caravan was near the lake which meant that we had a lot of wildlife for children to watch - the family of ducks was fed with the left over croissants every morning and we had a list of different birds that settled on the deck to eat crumbs

There is a very small bar, shop that was open at limited hours (early July) but adequate and has bread, milk etc, a restaurant ( we didn’t try it so can’t comment). It has the feel of a small family run site which we found comfortable and friendly. We were there during the last week of the World Cup and enjoyed talking to the Dutch families on site - we all went to the bar area for the final which (despite the result) was a good evening and the site put up a small screen in the courtyard.

I enjoyed the holiday immensely (as much for the weather, which was very hot, and the chateau, stunning) and would recommend the site for its facilities and location. However as we left (mid July) it became very busy and I would doubt that the quite small pool complex would be comfortable with a full site. If I had a tourer I would definitely book on to this site

Have lots of info about local facilities if anyone is interested

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Sybil_Ramkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stansted
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

This is a third holiday in as many years to this site . First came on a two week holiday in August in 2008 booked direct with the site, then again last may half term with key camp and again this half term but booked direct again. Fabulous holiday, kids love the site with the 3 parks and the swimming pools and water slides. Very clean and Bridgitte and her family make you feel welcome. Kids are 8 and 6 had had a great time although not sure there is enough if your kids are older , but its great if you just want to get away for a week and want warm / hot weather and its not too far to drive from Calais for only a week. Will definately go back again next May half term. Caravans direct with the site a great in a quite area of the park, we just felt at home there and instantly relaxed.

Great great site.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rascalStansted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leics
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We thought this campsite was excellent - generous sized pitches with shade, good pools for children, lots of facilities but not noisy.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank CathLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2008

I agree with the previous report on this campsite.

We have holidayed with Castels campsites 3 times, and you can be guaranteed a consistent standard. However, although the position of this site was excellent, with Saumur close-by and many attractions and places to visit, the campsite wasn't the best Castels one we have stayed on.

We use Castels own accommodation, usually the 3 bedroom mobile homes, which are always very good.

However, the campsite bar and shop were a disappointment. The shop was poorly stocked, and the bar was just really tatty. One member of staff covered both places, so you more often or not had to wait for the person to come from the other place to serve.

However, I believe from an independent campers point of view this site is excellent, with large pitches and a mixture of sun/shade. Unfortunately when we were there, there was little sun to be had.

  • Liked — Position in Loire Valley
  • Disliked — Shop & Bar area
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BeverleyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varennes sur Loire
3.4 mi away
Hotel La Marine de Loire
Hotel La Marine de Loire
#1 of 2 in Montsoreau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 24 in Saumur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Adagio
Best Western Adagio
#7 of 24 in Saumur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#2 of 24 in Saumur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
2.5 mi away
Demeure de la Vignole
Demeure de la Vignole
#1 of 1 in Turquant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
17.0 mi away
Camping Loire et Chateaux
Camping Loire et Chateaux
#1 of 1 in Brehemont
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de la Breche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de la Breche

Property: Domaine de la Breche
Address: 5 impasse de la Breche, 49730 Varennes sur Loire, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Varennes sur Loire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Varennes sur Loire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an estate of 50 acres just a few miles away from Saumur, le Domaine de la Brèche offers a service with a wide variety of facilities : bar, restaurant, take away, superette and various entertainment : heated swimming pools with water slides, pitch and putt, tennis courts, crazy golf, pony club, kids club in summer, bicycle and go karts hire, etc. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
l`Etang De La Breche Hotel Varennes Sur Loire
Domaine De La Breche Varennes Sur Loire, Pays De La Loire, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing