We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic !”

Sepilok Orangutan Sanctuary
Book In Advance
More Info
$112.00*
and up
Full-Day Orangutan Rehabilitation Centre and City Tour in Sandakan
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Sepilok
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We walked from our accommodation, Sepilok Jungle Resort, to the rehab centre. There was a small entrance fee and camera fee but these guys are basically self funded so what the heck. The centre is a wonderful wooden structure that blends in nicely with the rain forest, there they have the ticket office, video-education centre and souveneer shop. They supply a locker for your bags as the orangutans get curious sometimes and a bag snatched by an ape is difficult to retrieve ! There is a board walk through the jungle to the viewing platform & out again, mabey 1 km all up, the platform is constructed so that everyone can see the apes. The number of orangutans to see can vary but we got lucky and saw 7 indivduals, adult and juvinile. You have to remember this is a rain forest so an umbrella is a good idea. We did the morning session to enjoy the relative cool morning air. The boardwalk is slippery when damp so sensible shoes are a must as is insect repelent. the walk through the jungle is wonderful, full of birds & butterflies. If we get a chance we would do it again, for now it's a must for anyones bucket list.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1crowbait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    228
    77
    27
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

The bus from Sandakan cost MR5 each way and takes about 45 minutes to get there. Costs MR30 for a day ticket and MR10 for a camera. I went to the morning 10am and afternoon 3pm feedings. Both were really good. Saw a lot more orangutans at the afternoon feeding. There is a fair bit of construction work going on so part of the walking trail is closed. There's not much to do between the two feedings so walked up to the rainforest discovery centre. About a twenty minute walk each way.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Well worth a visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We went only for the afternoon feeding and the viewing platform was nearly empty. 3 orangutans came and hung around for about an hour. Price was a bit high for what we did but it does go towards the rehabilitation of the orangutans. It may be a better value if you go for both feedings and when the walking trail is open (they told us that a tree had fallen on the walkway but after reading other reviews here it sounds like it has been closed for at least a few months)

Helpful?
Thank drewpunck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfil, Canada
Level Contributor
245 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Orangutan watch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We were very lucky and saw 6 including a baby the day we were there but it's always a chance there will be none. Gift shop is a little pricey and will take $US but all the proceeds do go to the conservation efforts.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank OntarioTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A bit staged for tourists but still worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

It is highly commendable what this Sanctuary is doing to protect the Orangutans in the area but we felt that the feeding session we witnessed was a little staged.

There were lots and lots of people here and it was difficult to get a good view of the feeding platform. The ranger appeared with two orangutans following him - we weren't lucky enough to witness them swinging in through the trees. The video and information centre are very informative.

Be warned the mosquitoes here are vicious!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank szjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sepilok Orangutan Sanctuary also viewed

 
Sandakan, Sandakan Division
Sandakan, Sandakan Division
 

Been to Sepilok Orangutan Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing