We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit staged for tourists but still worth a visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sepilok Orangutan Sanctuary

Sepilok Orangutan Sanctuary
Book In Advance
More Info
$112.00*
and up
Full-Day Orangutan Rehabilitation Centre and City Tour in Sandakan
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Sepilok
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney
Level Contributor
99 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A bit staged for tourists but still worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

It is highly commendable what this Sanctuary is doing to protect the Orangutans in the area but we felt that the feeding session we witnessed was a little staged.

There were lots and lots of people here and it was difficult to get a good view of the feeding platform. The ranger appeared with two orangutans following him - we weren't lucky enough to witness them swinging in through the trees. The video and information centre are very informative.

Be warned the mosquitoes here are vicious!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank szjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    223
    77
    27
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little touristy, but overall a fun activity!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

A little touristy, but overall a fun activity! With some luck the Orangutans get pretty close. Try to go around the feeding times, otherwise you might not see any..

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PStef_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“I like the place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

It was amazing seeing orangutans from close distance. I saw only three, though. The place is in the middle of the rainforest so it is the natural habitat of orangutans and many other endangered species. Enterence fee goes directly to orangutans. Sepilok center encourages the native Malaysian people to save the rainforests. Otherwise they can easily destroy the rainforests for palm plantation. They have to know that they can make a fortune by saving orangutans and jungles. For me it was a kind of necessity to go there.
I took public bus number 14 from Sandakan, it was 5MYR, on the way back i walked to the junction a mini tourist van just stopped and i got in, it was 7MYR. So my trip was reasonable. If you want to see more touristic orangutan rehabilitation center, i would recommend Taiping, 3 hours drive from K.Lumpur. It is like an island zoo. You can see the babies as well.
I like the place, the jungle was impressive.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PetekAtes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were lucky and got to see about 6 orangutans and a baby orangutan coming to eat at the feeding platform for the 10am feed. A couple of them were really putting on a show for the tousits and it was hilarious.
We came back at the 3pm feed and it was comparitively subdued. There were no antics from the orangutans and fewer than there were in the morning. If you don't get a good 'show' at the 10am session, I recommend returning for the 3pm show as you never know what you're going to get.
I understand some of the reviewers were disappointed that the orangutans were mostly far away, but like the concept that we walk on an elevated platform and not on the ground in their envirnment. The point of the sanctuary is to rehabilitate orangutans and introduce them to some independence, so I think it's essential that humans keep their distance.

Tourists are given the advice on numerous occasions NOT to bring in water, sunglasses etc. There are free lockers to put them in. Many people ignored these requests. One man had his Ray Bans snatched off his head, chewed up and literally spat back out at him. As entertaining as it was that one came up to us, she could have cut her mouth on his sunglasses, or been poisoned by someone's sunscreen bottle. Please respect the wishes of the park staff and don't bring those items in.
Also, don't come with an expectation of getting up close and personal, it's about what the orangutans need for their rehab, not what we might want to see or do with them.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KickingTheBucketList
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Glorified Zoo”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is only slightly better than a zoo. You watch the monkeys eat some food from about 15 meters away. That's it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AkoGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sepilok Orangutan Sanctuary also viewed

 
Sandakan, Sandakan Division
Sandakan, Sandakan Division
 

Been to Sepilok Orangutan Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing