We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“amazing place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Really good value dorm room in beautifully made long house. Friendly and helpful staff who organised onward journeys for us. Surrounded by beautiful woodland and good food. Free shuttle to sepilok. Surely the best place to stay in this area

Room Tip: Would highly recommend the dorm
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizziebris85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    152
    41
    21
    5
See reviews for
71
236
46
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Such a tranquil retreat in such an amazing part of the world. Stayed in the dorm but some of party had a private room. Was happy in the dorm. Doors all open on to boardwalk terrace with just forest to see. So relaxing. Food good aswell and good price for where you are and what you get. And only a short trip to see the orangutans. Really was perfect. Could have spent months here

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlhsea12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
329 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

If your prepared to just relax with someone special in a beautiful jungle setting then this place is for you. Don't go if you're single and looking to meet people. We stayed in a private cabin and it was wonderful. Beautiful open air bathroom and gorgeous wood furnishings. You are very isolated but the front kitchen/chill area is nice, the food is decent and they don't gorge you on prices (since your almost forced to eat there because of location). Free shuttle to Orangutan center and main intersection is nice too.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

One is actually sleeping right in the middle of the rainforest. I had a villa to my self with a spectacular view over looking the rainforest. My pace time was sitting on my balcony with Binoculars to spot an array of bird life that came to life in the evening and early dawn. Clean and bed comfortable. Bath room was rustic with a charming out door feel to it that only added more ambiance. The shower was open yet I felt so private having one outside and it added to the total appeal of the stay. Rooms are air conditioned. Walls of the rooms also do slide back if you want to feel as if you are suspended in the rain Forrest. I would recommend that you bring your own mosquito coils as there seemed to be none supplied and a spare towel just in case they run out. I was fortunate however one of my friends did not have one. Toilet is modern. A free shuttle bus runs to Sepilok a few times a day. Will coat Rm 40.00 from the airport in sandakan In a taxi one way. Highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Have a room away from it all. Truly unique experience to be had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ningaloo2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

This hostel is no doubt one of the best places I ever been. The landscape is breathtaking and the service (and they amazing cook) are just the best I have seen around South East Asia. They give you free rides to the rescue centers or you can rent a great mountain bike and go by yourself. Clean rooms and great facilities. Top Rainforest Hostel!

Room Tip: All of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WZKOSerrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

I was only meant to stay for two days, but stayed for three and lay about in a hammock for one of them! This place is gorgeous -- it's a fair way off the main road (pretty sure it's a bit more than the 2km it says..) but well worth checking out! Close to the organutan centre, and the free shuttle will get you there and back during the day.
The staff are wonderful and helpful, and the food is great too! The dorm is big, but was never very full when I was there. The beds face east, so you wake up as the sun comes up through the wooden slats. Showers are wonderfully refreshing after a day in the jungle. The sun deck is also great for star gazing at night as there's no light pollution. Get the Google Sky Maps app so you can make out the constellations.
Bring cash, otherwise you'll have to pay for a cab to get to the ATM about 20 minutes away.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Let me start by saying that the surroundings and the hotel itself are absolute gorgeous. Each private room is essentially half of a villa, each has an amazing view into a forest or over a valley. Most of the walls in each room are movable, so that you can create an open space into the forest or overlooking the valley. The rooms have good privacy. Bathrooms are semi-outdoors, but have total privacy and great feel to them.

The restaurant/reception are is nearby and with great views. The food is average, but not too pricy (around 12-15 MYR per person + 5 MYR for a drink). The staff make an impression of being helpful, but on many occasions failed miserably. Just a few examples:
- errors when ordering food: ordered one thing, got another or part of order missing
- we booked a transport to Sepilok for early morning and confirmed it again, but it never arrived (they couldn't give us any explanation as to what happened afterwards, but didn't even apologise).
- they promised they would help us with booking bus to Mt Kinabalu, but in the end didn't lift a finger and we had to go to Sepilok B&B, who were of great help, even though we didn't stay with them
- we did laundry through them and one item was missing, but they kept saying we never gave it to them. After we left, they sent someone on a motorbike to chase us to give us this item as they found it. So great they gave it back, but they didn't really have to accuse us of lying in the first place. It just made them look very stupid.
- they offered us to pay in GBP instead of MYR, but their exchange rate was 25% lower than the bank rate that day (I understand some commission, but 25%???)

There's a great park just outside the hotel, with beautiful lake with water lilies and lotus flowers, a deer farm and crocodile farm.

So all in all, highly recommended for location and quality of accommodation, but be careful when using their services.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kemot1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sepilok
2.5 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#7 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
13.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
13.1 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#4 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sepilok Forest Edge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat

Property: Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat
Address: Mile 14 | Jalan Labuk, Sandakan, Sepilok 90000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sepilok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Sepilok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paganakan Dii is the perfect retreat to experience Nature in its most serene and natural state. Built on a site high above the surrounding foliage, the combination of cool longhouses and cosy duplex chalets makes for an experience worth a thousand images. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat Hotel Sepilok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing