We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and beautiful views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location and beautiful views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

My sister and I stayed here for 2 nights to be close to Sepilok. Our hut was spacious and clean and the views of the jungle are fantastic as you walk to your room. It was such a great experience to shower with the sights and sounds of the jungle right there. The food was a little basic and the service slow, which were the only things that let it down slightly. It was great to be able to jump in the free van to Sepilok. Overall it was an unforgetable stay, very sociable and we met lots of friendly travellers

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzijane3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    152
    41
    21
    5
See reviews for
71
236
46
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay very much. The specious rooms were nice and clean. The staff helped us to book our ongoing journey. We had dinner at the resort's restaurant and it was delicious.

All in all a fantastic stay. The only thing we didn't like was the breakfast - if there would be some more options for the breakfast, it would be definitely 5 stars...

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Johannes L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I wish I could have stayed here longer! I only had two nights and if I could have carried this place around with my on my back I would have! For 135 a night, we got a room with a queen bed and a double bunk bed (although it was just two of us so we had no use for the other two beds). There are fans and airconditioning as well as your own bathroom with a water heater. The whole lodge/resort/hotel area is amazing. Really nice places to hang out. There are sun bathing spots, hammocks, covered areas with throw pillows and bean bags, dining areas. Overall just a great place you stay. The only thing you will regret is not staying longer!

There is a shuttle that takes you to the rehabilitation center at 9am and returns at 4pm. We woke up early and walked to the Rain Forrest Discover Center so we could be there when it opened at 8am to look at birds. The walk is about 5km down the road and we saw orangutans outside the discover center in the trees! At 1:30 we walked to the orangutan rehabilitation center from the RDC for the afternoon feeding and caught the shuttle back to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScienceChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, UK.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights while exploring Sepilok; splashed out after travelling cheaply and got a big family room chalet with rainforest views. Room was lovely and spacious and atmospheric, and loved the open bathroom with shower views onto the jungle. Food was really delicious (probably the best noodles we had in our month in Sabah) and shuttle services to Sepilok were really handy. Good value for the days we had. Disappointing breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amjbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sepilok, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Amazing.... Amazing place!!!! A little off the beaten track but it has to be to hold such beauty... I arrived late at night without accommodation and thought there would be taxis etc..... Nope.. Ended up out on the street with my bags in a thunder storm alone... A car filled with staff from the hotel stopped and brought me here.... So kind of them.... So glad they did as its an amazing place. There is free breakfast and free transfer to the orangutan sanctuary...all included in my 30 mrt a night dorm room... The grounds are filled with Bridges over water filly filled lakes. It's just an amazing place...

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool or fitness centre but why would u want that in this place. Everything is i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheeran23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed in one of the Ridge Chalets which had lovely views of the forest and the "open" bathrooms. Particularly liked the fact that the side opened up onto a small balcony. Only the double bed had a mozzie net but we managed to string up our own single mozzie net on the rafters above the top bunk (evidence that other occupants had done this). Room really clean, shower just warm but ok, lots of "visitors" of the insect kind so check if using the loo at night! Nothing too alarming though. The food was really lovely and the staff really helpful. The free transfers to Sepilok and the RDC were excellent and also easy to arrange other transport (for the night walk at Sepilok or the RDC). We wished we had booked more than our 3 nights as we hardly had any time simply to relax and enjoy the surroundings of Paganakan Dii, sadly we couldn't extend our stay as the chalets were fully booked. Good internet access at the reception/relaxing room but not in chalets. We met some great travellers whilst here and there was a really nice atmosphere in the evenings when we all sat around chatting. Ming Ming the cat was simply a star ! Make this your destination if you are visiting Sepilok or the Rain Forest Discovery Centre. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for the Ridge Chalets even if on your own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Higgy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this forest retreat. It was a great base for heading out to explore Sepilok and staff were helpful to book tours and activities in the rainforest.

The accommodation was wooden huts raised on stilts. We stayed for two nights in a deluxe room which overlooked the rainforest and gave a fantastic view. The bathroom is open air so one night meant a moonlight shower to avoid Mosquitos! The bed had a full mosquito net and we were not disturbed by any mosquitos in the room. The room also had air con and a fan which we were grateful of in the forest heat. You are actually staying the in the jungle so you hear the wildlife and general rainforest sounds day and night. However, the accommodation was very clean and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. There was also wi fi in the communal area which we were surprised about.

We went to the Orang Utan centre in Sepilok on day 1 which was really good and the retreat have a free shuttle to the centre about 10 mins away. We also took a day trip (day 2) to the Gomantong caves and the Kinabatangan river. This was about a 2 hour drive away. The Caves were beautiful but nothing could have prepared me for the number of cockroaches crawling the floors and walkways. The river cruise was amazing. We think we were particularly lucky but we saw wild elephants, monkeys and an orang utan. We only did the sunset river cruise but you could have done a similar 3 day/2 night stay at one of the resorts on the river if you wanted. The day trip we booked included dinner and that was excellent.

We thought 2 days/3 nights was enough for what we wanted to see in the jungle. We then spent one night in Sandakan which was a city where you could have gone on the same tours to the jungle but we were glad we had stayed in the rainforest for a few nights.

We would recommend this place to friends!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A_RTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sepilok
2.5 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#6 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
13.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
13.1 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#4 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sepilok Forest Edge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat

Property: Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat
Address: Mile 14 | Jalan Labuk, Sandakan, Sepilok 90000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sepilok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Sepilok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paganakan Dii is the perfect retreat to experience Nature in its most serene and natural state. Built on a site high above the surrounding foliage, the combination of cool longhouses and cosy duplex chalets makes for an experience worth a thousand images. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat Hotel Sepilok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing