We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rodent in room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Bay of Plenty Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rodent in room”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The setting was lovely but the attitude towards the guests was very uninterested. We had a rat in the room on the first night. It had been in the rubbish bin and spread it round the floor. We informed them and we also saw it running on the roof and they did not bother doing anything about it. Also they allowed smokers to sit in the eating area and when it was requested that they ask them to go outside the staff just shrugged it off. They eventually came just before dark the following day and shoved some "stuffing stuff" into some crevices, which did no good as the rat returned in the night again. A real shame that it was so shoddily run as the setting was lovely

Room Tip: HMMMM!!! What can I say. If you dont mind sharing with the local 'wildlife'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 255068Jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    157
    41
    21
    5
See reviews for
75
242
47
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We were so pleased we booked into this wonderful slice of peace and beauty in an otherwise touristy Sepilok. We were welcomed like friends and it felt like we were for the rest of our stay. Two nights here was enough time to do all the Orangutan activities and have space to chill-out and enjoy the rainforest. The free transfer to the Orangutan Santuary was really helpful. There was a good choice of food and it was plentiful and well organised. The rooms were spacious and clean - great fun to have an 'outdoor' bathroom. The views of the rainforest were magnificent and you really felt like you were in the middle of no-where. It was incredibly hot when we stayed but the fans in the room and the communal reception/restaurant area kept us cool enough. The staff were really helpful and friendly and they served ice-cold beer, what more could you want? Just remember not to keep ANY food in your room, we found out the hard way...!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katefrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

Rooms excellent for family of four. Surprised they had ac and fan. Fantastic "outdoor" bathroom. Tasty food at good prices served by very friendly staff. Efficient free transport to orangutan sanctuary. Highly recommended. Anyone who says anything bad about this place must be crazy! Even ad free wifi.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank IaninBourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed for two nights with a family of 5. What's really great about Paganakan Dii is the lengths they go to make your stay special.

On the night we arrived they organized a night safari in Sepilok for me and my two sons. Best part of the trip we saw everything from Pygmy scorpions and pit vipers to fireflies.

The retreat has a really relaxing feel. The food is simple but the service is always with a smile. The views from the rooms make you say 'wow!' each and every time you see them.

The rooms are simple (they kindly squeezed all of us into one room to save money) but clean and the bar/restaurant area is a great place to have a cool beer and chill at the end of a long day.

I'd definitely come back here again. It's a special place staffed by really special, kind and warm people. You can't put a price on that.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamNaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Great retreat with amazing view.

We stayed in the dorm (30RM pp) which was by far the nicest dorm i slept in. You wake up looking at the sunrise over the jungle.

The staff is really friendly and helps you with your travel arrangements.

The food is also Ok. (10RM Dinner). The portions are a little bit small, but with an extra fruit plate it is totally ok.

Over all, this place is worth visiting.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sol2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed for two nights in a chalet & wished our itinerary allowed for longer. The setting is beautiful & the thoughtful layout just encourages you to feel relaxed. The staff were helpful & did everything with a smile. The pick of our accommodation in Sabah. We were still a little hungry after breakfast but how can you complain if it's free? :) All our other meals were very tasty & satisfied our appetites. The fresh lime juice drinks were the best! The owners should be proud of their establishment & staff.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingGreenFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Paganakan Dii was the best place we have stayed while backpacking in Borneo. First of all Borneo is the best! and to sleep in this budget friendly but peaceful place was an amazing experience for us. In the midst of the jungle close to the orangutan rehabilitation centre. The retreat has spacious dorms (but also single or double rooms) one of the funniest and loveliest host, lovely food but the best is the location. The outdoor showers (also indoor) and the multiple quaint little places were one could relax in hammocks or relax chairs and enjoy the view and sound of the jungle. In quite a busy backpacking trip, the few days we spent here where not quite enough and I would love to come back sometime.
Christiane and Tjitske

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tjits948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sepilok
2.6 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 32 in Sandakan
623 reviews
13.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
12.8 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Selingan Turtle Island
Selingan Turtle Island
#1 of 1 in Pulau Selingan
141 reviews
2.7 mi away
Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan
Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan
#22 of 32 in Sandakan
59 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sepilok Forest Edge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat

Property: Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat
Address: Mile 14 | Jalan Labuk, Sandakan, Sepilok 90000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sepilok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Sepilok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paganakan Dii is the perfect retreat to experience Nature in its most serene and natural state. Built on a site high above the surrounding foliage, the combination of cool longhouses and cosy duplex chalets makes for an experience worth a thousand images. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat Hotel Sepilok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing