We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sepilok Nature Resort
Nearby Hotels
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sepilok Forest Edge Resort(Sepilok)(Great Value!)
$70
$62
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$73
$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$31
$28
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$19
Agoda.com
View Deal
Hotel City View(Sandakan)
$17
$15
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
MJ Hotel(Sandakan)(Great Value!)
$20
Booking.com
View Deal
$26
$22
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$28
Agoda.com
View Deal
Sanbay Hotel(Sandakan)(Great Value!)
$18
$17
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (775)
Filter reviews
776 results
Traveler rating
467
238
52
13
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
467
238
52
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssun bearnight walksmall lakerainforest discovery centreindividual chaletsfeeding timesmain buildingshort walknature resortorang utan rehabilitation centrestayed here for nightsbeautiful place to stayshower curtaingreat settingrooms are hugestayed longerrehab center
Filter
Updating list...
555 - 560 of 776 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Beautiful gardens, lots of orchids, birds, bats, butterflies, lizards, an otter in the lake.
A lovely little oasis in the jungle. Very pleasant service - I left my prescription sunglasses behind, and they had found them when we called in two days later. We had our meals included - simple but very pleasant and fresh buffet. Great to be able to walk to the Orang Utan rehabilitation Centre so we visited 3 times in total and saw something different every time. Really nice to be in individual bungalows all overlooking the lake and surrounded by gardens.

Room Tip: If access is an issue for you be aware there are some stairs and shower is over bath.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawNSWAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our arrival day went badly - we arrived very late, we had barely cooked food from the kitchen as it was shutting, we fused the lights by turning on the tv and realised that reception was not manned at after 10 . So it look over an hour to find someone to get our power running again and I was ready to leave! But in the light of the next day it was so lovely. We had rooms 19 and 20 , so quite a walk to reception and the breakfast area - on the way we say beautiful orchids, a huge lizard, the biggest butterfly ever and a snake on the bridge and that was in the first 10 minutes! You walk along long boardwalks to your little chalets, basic but clean, comfortable and with AC ( we weren't brave enough to try the tv again! ) . There was hot water for the shower and no bugs in the room. Sitting outside the room with a cup of tea early in the morning on our little verandah, in front of the lake, watching the birds swoop down for a drink, and the listening to all the frogs and insects was really magical. The food the rest of the time was good and cheap. The discovery centre is 5 min walk one way and sepilok orang-utan sanctuary was literally next door and definitely not to be missed. The family we spoke to had seen an orang-utan by their chalet that morning!

Room Tip: Think 21 onwards were the newer chalets but not sure if they were any different inside
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roxysam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great location just 2 minutes from the sepilok sanctuary. Basic lodge but all clean. Advise you unplug the fridge before you sleep as it has a habit of banging at odd times!. Food was good and service was lively. Had the good fortune of seeing a wild orang at the back of the property as we were exploring.not all singing all dancing but does what is does very well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynn o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel is extremely well located, just 5 minutes’ walk from the Sepilok Orang Utan rehabilitation centre – which is practically the only reason to stay a night in Sandakan (although the Proboscis rescue centre is a very good add-on).
The 20+ lodges are located along boardwalks around a very scenic lake and surrounded by lush vegetation.
The beds are comfortable, air conditioning works, the bathrooms are fairly simple but there is plenty of hot and cold water (as long as you remember to turn on the heater). And it is quiet so you get a good nights’ sleep.
The food is very reasonably priced and quite tasty, which is lucky because there are not really any other options around. Sandakan is quite a long drive away and really not worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slow2Melt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was our first stop on a 10 day wild-life tour of Sabah. We stayed here solely because of its location, literally next door to the Orang Utang Rehabilitation Centre (see separate review).

My rating is for the resort only since it is possible to stay elsewhere and visit the Rehab. Centre. The rooms themselves are simple but not spartan since they have effective but noisy air conditioning, small fridges, flushing loos and intermittent hot water (the means of heating the latter is a little temperamental). The chalets, set around a large pond amidst attractive tropical vegetation, are built of wood and lined inside with rattan, part plain and part assorted tartans. Bathrooms have concrete tubs set into the floor with overhead showers. There is a private and shady outside deck with easy chairs.

Food is served buffet style but be warned - if you go for the evening walk, as we did, you can expect to find little left. It didn't appear that dishes were replenished or any thought given to the likelihood of people eating at different times. Food was neither unpalatable nor mouthwatering, just dull - perhaps if the heat and humidity had not taken away our appetites this would have been more of an issue.

Other reviews have commented on the poor service. It struck me as being inexperienced rather than unwilling; those waiting on tables were young, cheerful and helpful but lacked someone more capable to give them direction.

We paid for a guided night walk as part of our package. We recommend this wholeheartedly. Accompanied by a very experienced ranger, as well as our tour guide, we saw a wide range of birds, snakes, insects and small mammals that would otherwise have gone unnoticed. Unfortunately my wife also had her first close encounter with leeches and it was several hours before the bleeding stopped...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaDolceVita27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews