We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place with Jungle noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sepilok Nature Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sepilok
Certificate of Excellence
München, Deutschland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place with Jungle noise”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Sepilok Nature resort is a wonderful Place to stay if you wanna see the urang utans and lots of other animals.the Bungalow is realy cosy and we had a wonderful time on the terrace watching and hearing the noise of the Dschungel .staff is realy friendly.short walking distance to the urang utans center.nice walking trails into the dschungel near by.best are the animals and noise in the evening hours when you sit on the terrace.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romario1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    208
    52
    13
    4
See reviews for
106
369
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

First of all, my 3* rating is not for Sepilok. I would recommend anybody to go there. We spent a great 2 days visiting the Orang Utan reserve and the Rainforest Discovery Centre.

About the Sepilok Nature Resort. Well, the surroundings and lay-out of the resort are simply amazing, just walking in between the chalets and in the orchid park is very beautiful. If you wonder where Adam & Eve spent their honeymoon, this comes close.

My main issue is that when you read Lonely Planet, you expect also a "luxurious" hotel and it's simply not. Rooms are very basic (we had a family room), not overly clean, bathtub doesn't close, hardly any hot water, etc ... And the staff, although friendly, is completely disinterested. It's hard to motivate them to help with your luggage, the breakfast buffet isn't refilled, etc ...

We had a lovely time for sure and would recommend going there. If you expect a simple place in the most beautiful setting one can find, this is it. It's just not the place LP says it is.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We spent a night here on a recent trip to Sabah to see the Orang Utans. The resort is next door the the Sepilok Rehabilitation Centre. Beautiful well kept hotel with nice large cabins dotted through the tropical gardens. Staff were helpful and friendly and the hotel offers a range of activities and nature experiences away from Sepilok.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boomba_the_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

A lovely lodge very near both the orang utan sanctuary and the rainforest centre, built around a lake. It's worth wandering around the grounds as the gardens are very pretty and we saw hornbills (pied and black), cute frogs and gorgeous sunbirds. We did the night walk put on by the lodge too which was superb, and we saw a slow loris, civet cat, mouse deer, two frog species, a huge lizard, a sleeping hornbill and an owl. It was amazing. However, you do go straight into the rainforest, it's very muddy and very leechy. They give you wellington boots which keep a lot of leeches off but they do drop into your hair. I didn't wear a hat (wear a hat) and spent the rest of the evening, while in the lovely lodge restaurant eating my dinner, picking off leeches that were crawling down my shirt and tossing them into the river. One had bitten me on the head and blood was, unbenownst to me, dripping down my forehead. The waitress was far too polite to say anything and my husband couldn't see it as it was rather dark, but in the room afterwards I looked like an ax murderer had had a go. Very funny.
Rooms are lovely, very clean, and the food is very good. The staff are friendly and helpful, it's a great place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enaidnosnibor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I guess like most people we stayed here purely because it is located right next to the Orang Utan Sanctuary. Our agents advertise it as ‘Simple’ accommodation so I didn’t expect luxury. I was pleasantly surprised – our room was huge, furnished in lovely old style wood and comfortable beds and nice bathroom with a great view as we were higher up. I admit it wasn’t 5 star plush but the rooms and set up all tie in nicely with the surroundings and to be honest I would rather stay in a place like this compared to some starchy hotels that are pristine. I felt that this hotel at Sepilok made us feel at home in Borneo – quite authentic. Like other reviewers have commented on the food – they are right, there is not a huge selection but what you do get is nice, excellent value for money and service with a genuine smile. Even the wine (which is expensive in Borneo) was fairly reasonable here and of good quality (not cheap table wine). You would not want to stay for more than 2 nights though and I guess most people wouldn’t anyway.

Room Tip: I think the chalets higher up are larger and have more room with better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vienna1971110571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Beautiful hotel built around a liake 2 minutes from the Sepilock Sanctury. Rooms which are all individual cabins are nicely furnished, with comfortable beds and private bathrooms.

Food was very nice, mixture of local and European. Staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grinders13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed at Sepilok Nature Resort for 2 nights mainly because of its close proximity to the Orangutan Sanctuary and we were not disappointed. The resort is only a 5 minute walk from the sanctuary so easy to access. The chalets and communal buildings are built around a lake (muddy) and accessed by a wooden boardwalk which meanders through the gardens to each chalet. The gardens are lovely with heaps of orchids growing everywhere and are well maintained. The accomodation consists of individual wooden "chalets" which are comfortable and clean with plenty of room. We were lucky to have a chalet that backed onto the jungle so were blessed with wildlife right on our back door including some lovely little Red Leaf Monkeys playing in the trees. There is nowhere close by to eat so you have to settle for a very limited menu at the resort where the food was eatable but uninspiring although the view over the lake is pleasing and it is an open air restaurant and the staff are very willing to oblige. I will make some allowances for the restaurant as they are in the process of rebuilding it. There is a tour guide who services the resort and met us on arrival which was very handy. He filled us in on how everything ran including the Orangutan Sanctuary and took us on a wonderful trip to see the probiscus monkeys.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GayeHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sepilok
0.0 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 32 in Sandakan
634 reviews
11.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
11.4 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Selingan Turtle Island
Selingan Turtle Island
#1 of 1 in Pulau Selingan
145 reviews
4.3 mi away
Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan
Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan
#22 of 32 in Sandakan
59 reviews
11.7 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#8 of 32 in Sandakan
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sepilok Nature Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sepilok Nature Resort

Property: Sepilok Nature Resort
Address: Jalan Sepilok, Sepilok 90000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sepilok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sepilok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sepilok Nature Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden amongst a veritable treasure trove of tropical plants and grasses, hug trees and spectacular orchids in bloom, the quaint bungalows of the Sepilok Nature Resort are within walking distance of the world-famous Kabili-Sepilok Forest Reserve, precious home of the last wild Orang Utans of Northern Borneo. Combining rich traditional style with contemporary luxury, Sepilok Nature Resort is the ideal starting point for most other wildife land destinations in Sabah such as the fauna rich Kinabatangan River and the surrounding Sukau area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sepilok Nature Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sepilok Nature Hotel Sepilok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing