We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and so close to the Orangutan sanctuary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sepilok Nature Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sepilok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Booked and paid for on line direct with the resort, no problem at all.
We thought we would get a chalet, but got a two storey house with two balconies, hugh for 2 people.,Comfortable and clean, and the horn bills tapping on the bedroom window in the morning was priceless. The food was ok and very reasonable, compared with the Jungle resort that we had previously stayed at it was first class accommodation, service and food. There is nothing to do in the evenings apart from a night trail in the sanctuary, so a two night stay is more than enough. There is a small TV in the bedroom, but english speaking programmes are not guaranteed.

Room Tip: Ask for the detached two storey house, very quite and away from the clusters of other chalets and ma...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tait57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (648)
There are newer reviews for Sepilok Nature Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

475 - 481 of 648 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Friendly staff, large rooms, great bathrooms,air conditioned. Stayed here for one night on return from amazing jungle experience- see other review. Few things didn't work but were rectified quickly, placed us a long way from our teenagers but moved us to another room when we pointed that out. No complaints great place to relax and visit the sanctuary right next door. Feels like an oasis large trees gorgeous surrounds overlooking man made lake. Great value

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happy-wanderes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The chalets are well appointed in the two times I've stayed here. once in September 2011 and recently August 2012. Aircon worked fine and all rooms had clean bathrooms. The food was ok, I would've expected better for the price but the beer was COLD!! It is a short walk from the resort to the orangutan rehabilitation center. I visited the rehab center on each of my stays and was not disappointed. We saw at least two orang utans on my four visits to the rehab center. Very relaxing atmosphere at the resort. Look for hornbills near the lagoon, I spied one!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mad58285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Be careful about your expectations of this "resort". Although it was clean and the gardens were lovely, there was nothing to occupy guests when you were not on tours or walking in the rainforest. The staff were very unhelpful, to the point of rude, there were issues with our showers and airconditioners and the food left alot to be desired. While it is conveniently located next to the Sepilok Orangutan Centre, you can still visit this through booked tours from Sandikan - there were no special perks for staying next door that we were made aware of. If you have children, I do not advise you to stay more than one night. More suitable to couples or nature lovers who are only staying for the walks.

Room Tip: If you are booking a second chalet for the kids be aware they are not attached and are 10-15m away.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TashDfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

A great location to see the orang utans which are literally next door. We had a huge clean chalet with AC. The setting next to the lake and gardens is very beautiful. And finally- you could order food off a menu instead of having the buffet! Everything we got was delicious, spring rolls, fresh grilled fish and yummy beef rendang. We only stayed one night which is probably plenty for Sepilok as there isn't much to do other than the sanctuarys.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NSDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is practically next door to the Sepilok Orangutan Rehabilitation Centre so this was great for us. The chalets are spacious, clean and airy and set amidst tranquil gardens and a lake which is home to a 3-legged monitor lizard who loves to share your breakfast! The food is good and the staff are charming and helpful/ Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaureenRidley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here one night in order to go back to see the orangutans next door - our room for all of us all (2 adults plus 2 children) was enormous. We ate from the menu (not the buffet) and found the food to be delicious. It was extremely hot so in the afternoon we went off to a nearby hotel to use their pool (though we were very pleased we were staying where we had chosen); we'd found out we could do this from the very helpful Orangutan Appeal UK lady at the rehabilitation centre.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sepilok
0.0 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 32 in Sandakan
646 reviews
11.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
11.4 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Selingan Turtle Island
Selingan Turtle Island
#1 of 1 in Pulau Selingan
148 reviews
11.7 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#8 of 32 in Sandakan
325 reviews
9.2 mi away
Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan
Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan
#23 of 32 in Sandakan
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sepilok Nature Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sepilok Nature Resort

Address: Jalan Sepilok, Sepilok 90000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sepilok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sepilok
Price Range: $17 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden amongst a veritable treasure trove of tropical plants and grasses, hug trees and spectacular orchids in bloom, the quaint bungalows of the Sepilok Nature Resort are within walking distance of the world-famous Kabili-Sepilok Forest Reserve, precious home of the last wild Orang Utans of Northern Borneo. Combining rich traditional style with contemporary luxury, Sepilok Nature Resort is the ideal starting point for most other wildife land destinations in Sabah such as the fauna rich Kinabatangan River and the surrounding Sukau area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sepilok Nature Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sepilok Nature Hotel Sepilok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing