We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good facility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sepilok Forest Edge Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sepilok
Hobart
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very good facility”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2009

The SFER is a very good resort. We stayed in a dorm. room with shared facilities and our room was immaculately clean. The bathroom and toilets were also extremely clean.

It is located right near the Sepilok Orangutan Rehabilitation Centre and the Rainforest Discovery Centre. We found the orangutan experience at the Semenggoh Wildlife Rehabilitation Centre (32 km from Kuching) to be much better and a lot cheaper too. The Rainforest Discovery Centre was fantastic, an absolute must do.

The owner of SFER, Annie Chung, is very courteous and helpful. She'll spend time with you to make sure everything is OK. She can also arrange a visit to Kinabatangan Jungle Camp, run by her husband Robert. We spent 2 nights there and had a very good time. The prices are reasonable, the accommodation clean, and you should see amazing wildlife (we did).

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank young4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    164
    72
    17
    12
See reviews for
68
229
43
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2009

We stayed here for one night before heading back to real life. The venue is picturesque and our standard bungalow (180RM) had a beautiful view over the domaine with romming hills and beautiful flowers everywhere. A pond with lots of waterlillies. The room was very clean and comfy with aircon and waterbottles. The ensuite showerroom/wc was tiny however.
We visited the orangutan sanctuary (10 min walk) and the Rainforest Discovery Center (20 min walk) and then we soaked up in the outdoor jacuzzi with a drink from the bar.
Later we tried the restaurant which was OK but not astounding. The hotel arranged for our morning taxi to the airport. The internetconnection from the bar was OK, but the printer would fit in a museum...
SFER is tightly connected with the Kinabatangan Jungle Camp and offers to arrange trips. If you have the opportunity and time, don't hesitate, it was great.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2009

This is a lovely place very close to the Orang-Utan sanctuary. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the overall atmosphere of the place was very pleasant.

They can book tours from here, it's worth getting these sorted out over the phone (through Annie) before you arrive. We didn't manage to get on their popular jungle trek as it was full and had to book through the neighbouring Sepilok Jungle Resort.

The chalet accommodation was really nice and clean and private too. Having seen the accommodation at the Sepilok Jungle Resort, the Forest Edge Resort is far superior and we're glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2009

Stayed in normal chalet for 2 nights in the resort. Need to call the resort (Annie) directly for reservation as they may not respond to email on time. A beautiful resort surrounded by greenery. Room is basic (with coffee/tea facilities, no TV) with a nice balcony where you could sit, relax and bird watch. Lots of birds to see in the morning and melodious chirping sound to hear, indeed a very relaxing place. Food is delicious for lunch and dinner! Breakfast is inclusive (eggs, toast & sausages).

The resort is 10 min walk to Sepilok Orang Utan Sanctuary. Other places of interest include Rainforest Discovery Centre (a large rainforest which you could walk thru, enjoy the fresh air and observe various flora & fauna) and Labuk Bay Probosis Monkey Sanctuary (30 min drive from resort) which is a 'must visit' as you get to see the Probosis monkeys up close.

The best way to travel in Sandakan is to rent a car so that you could drive to anywhere especially to Sandakan town for good seafood. It is not cheap to travel by cab to & fro Sandakan town(1 way cost RM40!). Must try the seafood restaurant at Sim Sim Buli floating village where you choose your own fresh seafood for the restaurant to cook, prices are quite cheap (big prawns, big crabs and a fish for 2 pax cost only RM80!). It is 10 mins drive from Sandakan town. .

For more natural wildlife, must go for the 1-night Kinabatangan Jungle Camp (operated by same owner of Sepilok Forest Edge Resort). All the river cruises (morning, evening and optional night cruise) are indeed worth it! We saw many types of monkeys, wildboar, monitor lizard, crocodiles, hornbill, orang utans etc. The optional night river cruise was really thrilling and an amazing experience. The guides were really sharp to spot animals in the dark. We saw many colourful birds up close at tree branches next to river, snakes, crocodiles, owls etc.

Overall, the resort was excellent, staff was attentive and the trip was wonderful!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The room light is too dim
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ven-Ven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
104 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2009

We stayed at Sepilok Forest Edge for 3 nights and enjoyed every minute. The accomodation consists of a number of wooden chalets spread across a fairly large area right next to the rain forest, approx. 15-20 mins drive from Sandakan airport. The chalets are well spaced and you never feel like you are over-looked. Our chalet had air con, a spa bath and a balcony - real luxury in a beautiful setting. Meals are provided at a central chalet, which also has internet access and a TV. The place is presided over by the formidable Annie but all the staff were great and really helpful. Due to it's jungle-side location, it isn't easy to go out in the evenings so we ate at the resort each night. You are supposed to book your meals in advance but the staff are so great that if, like us, you are late back one night, they will still rustle something up for you. However, be aware that there are only 3 or 4 meal choices, so if you stay for a few days, you might find yourself having to have the same thing more than once. They also made breakfast early for us one morning so that we would be ready for an early start for our days sight-seeing.
A fabulous place which i would highly recommend.

  • Liked — our room had a spa bath... in the middle of the jungle!
  • Disliked — limited meal choice
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twistedwheelnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2008

We have just returned from a 6 week trip staying in countless hotels luxury and otherwise. But this was probably the best value and the most memorable. The accomodation (we had a one bed chalet) was just right. The only negative thing was the shower room was incredibly small and flooded easily. But oterwise it was comfortable, nicely equipped, and beautifully located. This really is a place to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Do not expect satelite TV etc, but think more of peaceful rustic charm.

The staff were great. So helpful and welcoming. You get the impression in the dining area that you are eating in a family kitchen. The food is simple but tasty and cheap. Maybe they could add a little more vegetarian main meals?

The grounds are fab, and the small pool, lake (complete with lotus flowers), were an added bonus.

They even stored our luggage when we went on a boat trip for a few days.

Stay here - it is the perfect antidote for those weary of the corporate blandmness of international hotels. Oodles of charm on the edge of the forest.

  • Liked — The relaxed unpretentious friendly service
  • Disliked — The shower room was a little small (or i'm too big!)
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank farmerwadey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2008

We stayed for only one night, but we all wish we could have stayed longer! It is a short walk to the Orangutan Sanctuary and the accommodations are set in a beautiful garden surrounded by the jungle. The food was tasty and reasonably priced. The 3 person dorm room was clean and sufficient, although there were a few insects and some geckos (totally harmless though). There is also a small shallow pool with chaise lounges that was awesome, especially after a sweaty day of exploring. The dorms are a great value and the staff can arrange airport transfers and bus tickets.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southcap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sepilok
0.4 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
22.5 mi away
Selingan Island Resort
Selingan Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Pulau Selingan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
2.7 mi away
Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kinabatangan Sunshine Lodge
Kinabatangan Sunshine Lodge
#7 of 10 in Kinabatangan District
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Sepilok Forest Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sepilok Forest Edge Resort

Property: Sepilok Forest Edge Resort
Address: Jalan Rambutan, Sepilok, Mile 14, Sepilok, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sepilok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sepilok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sepilok Forest Edge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sepilok Forest Edge Resort comprise of beautiful village style chalets which is surrounded by lush green surroundings and hills as a backdrop which further embraces the amazing view. Several types of chalets are available to cater to your needs, starting from the standard chalet for a superb value lodging to the Family chalet for a worry free family outing. The superior chalet is also available for those who requires some extra pampering. The Long House (LBB )consists of several rooms which are also available for those who want to experience lodging with a difference. Labuk Bed & Breakfast (LBB) is the premiere lodging spot for backpackers, nature enthusiasts or families that are just looking for a retreat with nature. LBB has received recommendations by Lonely Planet as well as various other travel guides over the course of its 15 years heritage. LBB has since moved from jalan labuk, Mile 14 to its new location: which is just a 10 minutes walk to the Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sepilok Forest Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sepilok Forest Edge Hotel Sepilok
Sepilok Forest Edge Sandakan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing