We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sepilok Forest Edge Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sepilok
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, great food”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This place was delightful. We were en route to see orangutans up river and this was a 'convenient' starting point - however it has become a highlight of my trip. The staff - friendly and sweet. The setting - very pretty with lovely tropical gardens. The food was surprisingly delicious, and the outdoor dining room - a picture, (take citronella for Mosquitos). The cabins were very comfortable. We stayed on two occasions and on both visits I had the best sleeps! Waking to the sounds of the rainforest birds and the chatter of squirrels = magic.
Just remember - you are in the tropics eg. prepare for mosquitos.
Also remember, conveniences we take for granted in the west are often considered luxuries in Borneo - like (very) hot showers. If you want to have a good time - be flexible and enjoy the adventure.

Room Tip: We chose a cabin far from the dining hall - overlooking the forest. Magic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snstaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    181
    74
    17
    12
See reviews for
73
242
48
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

very quiet and well appointed retreat in the middle of the rain forest very close to the Orang tans .plenty of nature walks and trails with lots to see . the food was excellent and the service was very good as well. The cottages were clean and simply appointed but each had a very welcome a/c and good showers .we thought it as very good value for the money

Room Tip: ask for the Bilit cottage -furthest away from the main area but perfectly isolated in the rain fores...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeremy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

The grounds were beautiful , enjoyed lazing by the pool listening to the birds. We stayed in the cottage - fairly basic but comfortable, private , peaceful & cosy for a couple of nights. Food was very good at the restaurant, they have little games (Jenga etc) for guests to play! We enjoyed the games with gin :) it's in a good location to walk to the Orangutan sanctuary. Would be happy to stay here again!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura_m_fergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Longhouse section - basically their budget wing. I imagine if you stay in a cabin then it's a lot nicer but the budget room was fine for us. Luckily it was nearly empty as there is no sound proofing at all in these rooms (there are actually high up gaps linking the rooms together so you hear everything).
Location is good - easily walkable to the oangutang rehab sanctuary and the bear sanctuary.
We organised a transfer from the bus stop but it wasn't there when we arrived which was annoying.
Food is nice but highly overpriced - you think it's an ok price as it's meant to serve "2 to 3" - it isn't, each dish is a single serving so everyone ends up ordering more. Breakfast is just odd - service is slow (or non existant). You may get offered eggs, you may not (but then as you are leaving you realise the next people have been just given eggs).. You may get offered coffee, but you probably won't unless you ask for it. If coffee does turn up it's never with sugar or milk. There is a shortage of spoons (ie none) and the milk and juice are in some weird bowl of ice set up that is impossible to use. Similarly a lot of things are covered in cling film to the point where you can't get into them. These are minor points but there are so many minor points it ends up frustrating and really unprofessional... the food is actually really good.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Grant_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

This is an attractive property and a nice place to stay. Sadly, the same cannot be said for their restaurant and the miniscule portions they serve. The menu says that their entrees are suitable for 1- 3 people; in fact, it should read "suitable for 1/3 person"! One vegetable entree yeilded exactly 4 bites. No exaggeration, 4 bites! When we complained, they told us " Yes, we've had complaints before about serving size, and are going to talk about it ". Stop talking, fix it!

Stay here if you choose but do yourself a favor; take the short walk down to Banana Cafe to eat. You'll be glad you did...

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank UncleBilly232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Beautifull resort, walking distance from sepilok orang outan, in an authentic countryside landscape. The resort is quite big with nice bungalows dissiminated in the park, in a very quite environment.
You can feel they try to do well (nice furnitures, nice plates in the restaurant, barbecue to roast toasts mumm). We were in a chalet superior which was huge and comfortable. The bathroom equipment was pretty poor but working.
What makes the (negative) difference of this resort is the service, one of the worst we had so far in Asia: when checking in, we were just asked to wait till the room be ready, without further care. For dinner, we waited a lot, did not get what we ordered and they did not serve all of us at the same time. For breakfast (quite good by the way), no spoons to helped serve jams or honey ....
This could be ok if the price was not that high . If they don't raise the bar in terms of servic, this place will not be as successfull and it's a shame since they have great assets

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed here last week and it was just lovely. We had a standard twin cabin which had perfect views over the resort and trees. Beds were very very comfy, food was some of the tastiest we ever had and the staff would do anything they could to help.
All in all I thoroughly recommend staying here. It's location is a mere 15 minutes walk from the orangutans which is much more convenient than the Lonely Planet top recommendation Pagandai (sp?) which is a drive away. Compared to the other options nearby this place was small but perfectly formed and the little pool is a real bonus after a day out and and about. Wouldn't want to have stayed anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CP003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sepilok
0.4 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 32 in Sandakan
622 reviews
11.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
11.0 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan
Gloria Plaza Hotel Sandakan
#22 of 32 in Sandakan
59 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#11 of 32 in Sandakan
39 reviews
22.5 mi away
Selingan Turtle Island
Selingan Turtle Island
#1 of 1 in Pulau Selingan
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sepilok Forest Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sepilok Forest Edge Resort

Property: Sepilok Forest Edge Resort
Address: Sepilok, Mile 14 Jalan Rambutan, Sepilok, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sepilok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sepilok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sepilok Forest Edge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sepilok Forest Edge Resort comprise of beautiful village style chalets which is surrounded by lush green surroundings and hills as a backdrop which further embraces the amazing view. Several types of chalets are available to cater to your needs, starting from the standard chalet for a superb value lodging to the Family chalet for a worry free family outing. The superior chalet is also available for those who requires some extra pampering. The Long House (LBB )consists of several rooms which are also available for those who want to experience lodging with a difference. Labuk Bed & Breakfast (LBB) is the premiere lodging spot for backpackers, nature enthusiasts or families that are just looking for a retreat with nature. LBB has received recommendations by Lonely Planet as well as various other travel guides over the course of its 15 years heritage. LBB has since moved from jalan labuk, Mile 14 to its new location: which is just a 10 minutes walk to the Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Sepilok Forest Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sepilok Forest Edge Hotel Sepilok
Sepilok Forest Edge Sandakan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing