We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nest Restaurant- great but some strange food..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sepilok Forest Edge Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sepilok
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Nest Restaurant- great but some strange food..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

The whole resort and restaurant was stunning and a nice escape from the basic dining and lodging of the sepilok jungle resort we were staying in just 5 mins down the road. Loved the setting and free games they had to play. Drinks were nice and my husband's white fish meal was great- but what I ordered was really bad. I ordered the 'kaffir lime prawns' which were scented with a jasmine oil and chilli, however what came out was not that- it was about 12 small prawns served with head and shell on covered in a sugar syrup, it had no flavour of kaffir lime, chilli or jasmine. So so strange. The waitress came and argued that I couldn't send the dish back without paying for it, but in the end they didn't charge me- I don't know what that chef was thinking, but he really didn't do well with those poor shrimps! He needs to taste his own food and see what he thinks.
The whole weirdness with the service staff then dampened our experience which was a shame because we loved everything else about it!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikaela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    165
    72
    17
    12
See reviews for
68
229
44
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights exploring the surrounding jungle and viewing the wildlife. The hotel offered a peaceful, beautiful location as a base.

Its in the middle of no where. 10 minutes walk from the Orangutan Rehab centre and a hot 30 minute walk from the amazing Rain Forest Discovery Centre.

The restaurant area is lovely with wifi is you need it, the food is wonderful and the staff lovely.

We stayed in one of the Chalets which while basic was lovely.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a quiet retreat to take advantage of the stunning rain forest and wildlife

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed in one of the cabins. The grounds are beautifully maintained and from the balcony we were able to watch the many species of birds and even deer that visit the resort. The 40 minute interesting jungle walk around the resort is well marked and takes you well into the forest surroundings . ( Wear suitable shoes for a muddy uneven trail)
The cabin was basic but comfortable with a pleasant warm shower. The reception, restaurant area is pleasant with a good range of fresh fruit, cereal, eggs and toast for breakfast. The restaurant meals are limited but good. The young staff were friendly and did their best. This is not a four star hotel but you feel you really are on the edge of the jungle and that is exactly what we wanted. Sepilok reserve is a 15 minute walk along a quiet road.

Room Tip: Choose a cabin overlooking the grounds. The fitness centre is the jungle trail - all you need !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chad66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

An extremely beautiful site however rife with problems none of which the staff ever addressed after repeated requests

I travelled with a group of 15. Mine was the only room not ready upon arrival.

After waiting over an hour I was given the keys. Immediately upon entering it was clearly visible that the sheets comforter and pillowcase of the one bed were covered in yellow stains of some sort. I asked for fresh coverings and was actually refused

At dinner, i actually preplaced my order 4 hours ahead as we were a group of 15 and all wished to eat together. I was not served for 90 minutes after every one else was served--- even after approaching the staff to complain twice

Clearly my dinner was forgotten. When received it was cold and smothered with soy sauce-- virtually inedible and bearing little resemblance to the same dishes ordered by others in our group. No apology for the delay and no offer of even a drink while waiting

The room had supplies to make coffee but no coffee pot/kettle. In the morning when I realized this i advised the staff. I was simply given a coffee at the restaurant (and charged for it)


In summary it is a beautiful site but run by staff who clearly don't care about keeping guests happy. To be avoided

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank edkravcik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woolpit, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Overall this place is really charming in a lovely setting with great restaurant and feeding stations to attract birds. We had a standard chalet which had a fan and aircon, both a bit noisy but worked ok. Kettle in room and free water. Beds a bit old and bathroom very worn with no hot water while we were there. The WiFi didn't work at all either. The little plunge pool was a godsend as it was so hot. Food was very tasty, varied and no more expensive than in other tourist class establishments. It's a hot 10 minutes walk to the orangutans so take a brolly from your room for shade or rain. Get their at least half an hour before feeding and more if you want to see the film. Also they shut at 4pm prompt and the sunbears next door shut at 3.30pm so allow time to do that first.
Our main criticism about the hotel was the transfer from the airport we asked them to arrange. It cost only 5mr less than a taxi and was so slow going into town to join us up with another group that we almost missed the orangutans in morning feeding. Don't bother with it. The other staff at the lodge are lovely but don't expect them to be efficient in getting your bill, taking bags, ordering taxis etc. Tip:keeping checking and don't let time disappear making you miss the main event!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madamjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

This place is simply idyllic. Wonderful setting, beautiful chalets, friendly staff and great food. Really quiet and relaxed with chalets that look out over the forest and a lovely little pool. The surrounding area offers jungle walks (where we saw flying squirrels) and the orang-utan, proboscis monkey and sun bear sanctuaries.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank shopbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

This resort is just lovely. But since the location (in the middle of the jungle) there's not much to do here but the place has a nice verandah, offers some games and a small pool so it's great for relaxation. They even offers a wifi (greatly used by tenants, us included) that didn't work great. No wonder thought since we're in the jungle.

We stayed in a three bed dorm, that we had on our own which was the cheapest at the location and really worth the price! Ok bed, clean room and sheets. The shared toilet ok (sometimes didn't flush). The room was covered in mosquitonet at the windows so no mosquitoes in the room! It was a bit damp (though it rained heavily during the night) otherwise the stay was perfect with good food and included breakfast and nice staff.

If I'll go back I would stay here again!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank yasminarafat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sepilok
0.4 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
22.5 mi away
Selingan Island Resort
Selingan Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Pulau Selingan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
2.7 mi away
Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kinabatangan Sunshine Lodge
Kinabatangan Sunshine Lodge
#7 of 10 in Kinabatangan District
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Sepilok Forest Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sepilok Forest Edge Resort

Property: Sepilok Forest Edge Resort
Address: Jalan Rambutan, Sepilok, Mile 14, Sepilok, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sepilok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sepilok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sepilok Forest Edge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sepilok Forest Edge Resort comprise of beautiful village style chalets which is surrounded by lush green surroundings and hills as a backdrop which further embraces the amazing view. Several types of chalets are available to cater to your needs, starting from the standard chalet for a superb value lodging to the Family chalet for a worry free family outing. The superior chalet is also available for those who requires some extra pampering. The Long House (LBB )consists of several rooms which are also available for those who want to experience lodging with a difference. Labuk Bed & Breakfast (LBB) is the premiere lodging spot for backpackers, nature enthusiasts or families that are just looking for a retreat with nature. LBB has received recommendations by Lonely Planet as well as various other travel guides over the course of its 15 years heritage. LBB has since moved from jalan labuk, Mile 14 to its new location: which is just a 10 minutes walk to the Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sepilok Forest Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sepilok Forest Edge Hotel Sepilok
Sepilok Forest Edge Sandakan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing