We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best option in Sepilok on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sepilok Forest Edge Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sepilok
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
71 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best option in Sepilok on a budget”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Perfect little spot. Is is not expensive, when you stay in cheaper lodge, and the staff treats you like a king. The cheaper rooms are super basic, but the breakfast and surroundings make up for that. When you living on a backpackers budget, I think this is your best bet in Sepilok. Even though its a big resort and it also houses some more expensive chalets, its still personal. The owner even brought us to Sandakan! After all the toast and butter as breakfast (if there was any) in all of the other places in Borneo, the breakfast was heavenly. Fresh fruit, cakes and cereals!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    164
    72
    17
    12
See reviews for
68
229
43
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
budapest
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I am very sorry for writing a bad review but we were really not satisfied. The garden is heavenly nice, the swimming pool too. The chalets are nice from outside and inside, except the bathroom. Our bathroom in a D-Chalet was very dirty and ugly if you compare to the bedroom. We found a dead mice in the AC-box and during night we couldn't sleep because of the voice of the other mice. Next day we complained and the staff was smiling and promised to solve the problem, but nothing happenned, the second night we accepted that we have to sleep with mice. The breakfast that goes with the package was really very poor, the food is better if you order a la carte but we found it too expensive. very nice that you dont have other choice at Sepilok, as there are no restaurants there. You can go to other resort's restaurants to eat if you prefer, we found it afterwards. I don't advice to choose this resort unfortunately.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tundiis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I think I may have made a mistake in my booking and booked a double room instead of a chalet. I think I would have enjoyed the hotel more if the room was a chalet which I understand has air conditioning. It is so hot it really is needed to enjoy a comfortable night sleep so if you can afford it splurge for the chalet.

I really loved the dining area. I thought the food was okay (although breakfast was sparse) and the staff were nice. I didn't enjoy the pool that much. It is only about 30 cm deep and I'm not sure when it was last cleaned. The atmosphere of the dining area made up for that.

The location is good as it is about 1km from the Orangutan Centre.

Room Tip: Get a chalet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 312Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Nestled on the edge of the jungle a short walk away for the Orang-utan rehabilitation centre and a short taxi ride away from the Discovery centre. Villas are great value for money and sit around the main reception/restaurant area which also has a small swimming pool. We ate here as well with sumptuous breakfasts and wholesome evening meals. There are also a number of other hotels and restaurants along the same road which we should have tried - next time!

Room Tip: All room/villas very similar, there is also a main house that offers groups to be housed together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jez T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a couple of nights stay here which was to enable us to walk the short distance to the Orang Utan rehabilitation centre and then secondly, to take a short taxi ride to the Forest Discovery Centre. You could walk here but it was just too hot to do so? Both of these trips were excellent. The Forest Edge Resort itself is set in beautiful landscaped gardens, with trees and forest all around and the noises of the jungle both day and night, adding atmosphere. The rooms were comfortable - we had the basic chalet which had a shower but no bath which was fine. However, there was nowhere to hang clothes though there was plenty of space just to put up a rail or small wardrobe or cupboard. Most people stay a short time so I guess they don't feel it's necessary but it would be helpful to hang damp clothes overnight!!
The food was perfectly good but could have been spiced up a bit. We paid RM10 for a Tiger beer (plus tax?) Breakfast was good with a choice of eggs cooked to your taste, bacon, fruits, toast and jam, tea or coffee and fruit juice. This was all included with the room rate so in all, value for money, pleasant surroundings, helpful staff when we needed a taxi booked, and some wildlife to observe from the chalet and the main dining verandah.
The pool was small, shallow and OK for a dip but not to swim. The AC and ceiling fan made sleeping comfortable in a good bed.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Scubajools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
190 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed in one of the standard chalets.The views from the room were good,jungle in all directions.Once the aircon was fixed the room was fine if basic.The biggest problem was the lack of storage space - nowhere to hang clothes or drawers to put things in,plenty of spcae to provide both.It may be okay living out of a case/rucksac for one or two nights but it's a bit tedious for any longer.On the plus side the staff are friendly and helpful and the food is good,fresh with plenty of choice for both bereakfast and evening meals which were reasonably priced. It is a fantastic location for visiting Sepilok Orang Utan Sanctuary and Rainforest Discovery Centre .

Room Tip: all chalets have good views Deramacot is probably the worst
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on the first of our 8 nights in Sabah and as a transition from Australia to Sabah it was quite good. The chalet we had was good and airconditioned and not too far from the main building. The food was ok but v slow in being served and a bit bland. It was close to both the Sepilok Orangutan Sanctuary which we walked to and the rainforest research centre.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paula01795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sepilok
0.4 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
560 reviews
22.5 mi away
Selingan Island Resort
Selingan Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Pulau Selingan
135 reviews
2.7 mi away
Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kinabatangan Sunshine Lodge
Kinabatangan Sunshine Lodge
#7 of 10 in Kinabatangan District
10 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Sepilok Forest Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sepilok Forest Edge Resort

Property: Sepilok Forest Edge Resort
Address: Jalan Rambutan, Sepilok, Mile 14, Sepilok, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sepilok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sepilok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sepilok Forest Edge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sepilok Forest Edge Resort comprise of beautiful village style chalets which is surrounded by lush green surroundings and hills as a backdrop which further embraces the amazing view. Several types of chalets are available to cater to your needs, starting from the standard chalet for a superb value lodging to the Family chalet for a worry free family outing. The superior chalet is also available for those who requires some extra pampering. The Long House (LBB )consists of several rooms which are also available for those who want to experience lodging with a difference. Labuk Bed & Breakfast (LBB) is the premiere lodging spot for backpackers, nature enthusiasts or families that are just looking for a retreat with nature. LBB has received recommendations by Lonely Planet as well as various other travel guides over the course of its 15 years heritage. LBB has since moved from jalan labuk, Mile 14 to its new location: which is just a 10 minutes walk to the Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sepilok Forest Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sepilok Forest Edge Hotel Sepilok
Sepilok Forest Edge Sandakan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing