We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet resort in a nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sepilok Forest Edge Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sepilok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night while we visited the Sepilok Orangutan Sanctuary. It was a 15 minute walk to the sanctuary which made it easy to visit for the morning and afternoon feedings. We traveled with our two young boys and were able to book a room with an extra bed. The cabins are comfortable and clean. Breakfast was good but the selection is limited. We also ate lunch at the restaurant. The menu is not extensive but the food was good. The resort was very quiet and relaxing. There are board games in the restaurant and we saw a few other guests hanging out just playing games and having a drink. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJML_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

289 - 295 of 489 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice spot within walking distance of the orangutan sanctuary - which is nice as you can go in the afternoon when there are less people. The gardens and pond are lovely and a super place to relax. The standard bungalows were nice with a small porch to sit outside and aircon to keep you comfortable at night. The bathrooms are small but fine. The food was excellent and worth the slightly higher price. Overall a good option in Sepilok.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lovely, friendly staff and a great relaxing place in a very picturesque setting. We stayed in the double room which was basic but fine. The restaurant is nice - not cheap but good food though there should be more selection, especially for vegetarians. The tiny pool is a nice spot for relaxing in. The orang-utan centre is a 10 minute walk away

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcladley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Came here with a bunch of friends for a small getaway. The wooden chalets are quite a distance from each other which we prefer as it gives more privacy. The beds are super comfy. The staff was really friendly and very accommodative. The food is awesome! Haven’t had anything like this around here. It’s really east meets west kinda feel. What I enjoyed the most was chilling by the pool on the beanbag with the jungle surrounding while surfing the net with the free wifi! Will definitely come here again, the ground is just so open and welcoming.

Room Tip: - The best view is “Menanggul” as it is facing the forest reserve. - try the white fish tamu and ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had a cabin in which 6 of us stayed (4 adults, 2 kids). The staff were very accomodating and the food here is excepional. We did some of our best eating here. It was particularly nice after a day sweating buckets in the jungle.
The beds were very comfortable and the cabin was well kitted out, with both air con and ceiling fans (if you are not a fan of the former). A small pool (not sure you could call it a swimming pool, more like an oversized jacuzzi without the bubbles) which kept my kids very happy.
Only a short walk from the Orangutan Rehab Center it was definitely the right place to choose. We nearly went to Uncle Tans and after seeing Uncle Tans accomodation on a day trip with them I was thanking every higher power out there that we had booked at Forest edge!!!
It comes highly recommended.
Go here if you want to relax, NOT if you want any kind of party scene as there is absolutely none of that here!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Located about 10minutes walk from the Sepilok Orangutan Santuary, the hotel is fairly isolated, and located on the edge of the jungle. Little wooden huts dot around the grounds, and encompass the main hut which is the restaurant, where free wifi can be found. Each of the little huts are very basic but comfortable, with balconys overlooking the grounds. The simplicity of the rooms actually adds to the experience and jungle atmosphere. The food available at the restaurant is a little pricey, but there are no other options locally, however it is very tasty and rather large portions! There is also a plunge pool overlooking a lily pond which is a nice place to cool off after a day exploring the jungle.
Overall we found it a pleasant place to stay, but our experience was tainted by misunderstandings by the staff who promised our laundry would be back 24 hours later, but it didn’t turn up until 5minutes before we were due to leave for the airport (a day and a half after it was promised!). We also felt that we were over charged for laundry and taxis because there were very few other options.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

So peaceful and relaxing.

Arrived at 8am just hoping to drop bags off we were greeted with cold face towels and lemongrass juice while the staff made our room available. This excellent service continued throughout our 5 night stay.

All the staff are very warm and welcoming and the resort is no more than a 10-15 minute walk along 1 straight road from sepilok rehabilitation centre.

The quality of the lunch and dinner is something that beats many top restaurants. (Try the red curry lamb shank and roasted pineapple for dessert)

Lodges are basic and could do with a fridge, however this does not distract from the quality of the stay as the bed is so comfortable.

Overall this place is very relaxing and well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kakilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sepilok
0.4 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
693 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#4 of 33 in Sandakan
657 reviews
11.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 33 in Sandakan
544 reviews
11.3 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#8 of 33 in Sandakan
326 reviews
10.7 mi away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#21 of 33 in Sandakan
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sepilok Forest Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sepilok Forest Edge Resort

Address: Sepilok, Mile 14 Jalan Rambutan, Sepilok, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sepilok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sepilok
Price Range: $52 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sepilok Forest Edge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sepilok Forest Edge Resort comprise of beautiful village style chalets which is surrounded by lush green surroundings and hills as a backdrop which further embraces the amazing view. Several types of chalets are available to cater to your needs, starting from the standard chalet for a superb value lodging to the Family chalet for a worry free family outing. The superior chalet is also available for those who requires some extra pampering. The Long House (LBB )consists of several rooms which are also available for those who want to experience lodging with a difference. Labuk Bed & Breakfast (LBB) is the premiere lodging spot for backpackers, nature enthusiasts or families that are just looking for a retreat with nature. LBB has received recommendations by Lonely Planet as well as various other travel guides over the course of its 15 years heritage. LBB has since moved from jalan labuk, Mile 14 to its new location: which is just a 10 minutes walk to the Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA and Orbitz so you can book your Sepilok Forest Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sepilok Forest Edge Hotel Sepilok
Sepilok Forest Edge Sandakan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing