We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, nice chalet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sepilok Forest Edge Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sepilok
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Good location, nice chalet”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were pretty impressed by Forest Edge Resort - although the lodging is better than the food. We had a standard chalet for 3 nights and were happy with it, by and large. It was in an awesome location on the property overlooking the pond. From our balcony we had an uninterrupted view of pretty much nothing but beautiful vegetation. The chalet itself was clean and quite compact but certainly had enough room. A couple of improvements might be to replace the mattress (not very comfortable) and to provide a shower enclosure or shower curtain within the bathroom to keep water from getting everywhere.

Breakfast was quite good but other than that, we found the meals pretty weak. The menu is small and trying for boutique-like items and they didn't have the more basic stuff that we were looking for. As well, the supposed-to-be-hot meals usually arrived on the cold side. Service in the restaurant was generally good, although a bit hit and miss depending on who was serving. The setting of the restaurant - outdoors overlooking the beautiful (somewhat wild) grounds - was very nice. We took most of our meals elsewhere and found the Banana Cafe at Sepilok Jungle Resort, just a couple of hundred meters down the road, to have better meals at better prices. However, the accommodations at Forest Edge seemed far superior to those at Jungle Resort.

A couple of other things:
• Wifi is free but available only in the restaurant area.
• Within walking distance to the Orang Utan Rehab Centre (10 minutes) and to the Rainforest Discovery Centre (15 to 20 minutes).
• The pool/hot tub was not well maintained. The water looked dirty and had lots of vegetation (leaves etc.) in it. We gave it a miss.

All in all, pretty good and we'd stay there again.

Room Tip: We loved the location of our chalet, called "Selignan". A bit of a walk from reception and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    169
    72
    17
    12
See reviews for
70
231
44
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muri, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

beautiful location, nice environment
untrained staff at the reception
unqualified staff in the restaurant
poor breaktfast
very good dinner
extremely shabby bathroom
large, clean rooms
beautyful views
near Sepilok Orangutan Rehabilitation Centre

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlies5630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Overall, we had a decent stay at the Sepilok Forest Edge Resort. I feel like it was a little overpriced for what was offered, and there was a bit of construction going on across the estate. The food in particular was overpriced with very little other dining options nearby. However, on our way out, I paid the front desk to mail several postcards for me, and none of them ever reached their final destinations. All of the other postcards I mailed from SE Asia arrived within a few weeks, but none of these have arrived in several months, which makes me think that the attendant just pocketed my money and tossed the cards. Very disappointing and cast a negative experience over our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in a "Standard Chalet" and had a very nice time although I think the price (70US$/night) is on the high end.
Of course, the rainforest surroundings and lush garden are what make this place special. The chalet was cosy and clean with A/C and ceiling fan, and lots of privacy, the staff was great and the food was really good too. We appreciated that they would serve lunch until 4pm which gives plenty of time to go on excursion in the morning and early afternoon and then come back eat and relax. The lodge is also 10 min walking from the Orang-Outang center and 25 min from the Rainforest discovery center (worth a visit!).
We also went on a tour to the Kinabatangan river through the lodge and everything was well organized (btw we would highly recommend the journey to the river). So overall a great experience.

Things that could be improved:
- bathroom was a bit outworn and not as well maintained as the rest of the chalet
- No house keeping during your stay at all...I understand they don't change the bed sheets everyday but at list they could empty the bins, etc...
- no towels are offered for the "jacuzzi" so you have to use your shower towel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda-Damien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in one of the dorm rooms in the long house and overall it was a positive experience. I loved that the staff were so friendly and made this stay so enjoyable. When I arrived me and my friend who was visiting just for the afternoon, were greeted with a fresh juice and cool towel. It was like 5 star service for a backpacker.

The resort is in a gorgeous setting and has it's own jungle trail. You can walk around the grounds and take in the scenery and visit the resident deer and goats kept in very nice enclosures. I enjoyed sitting on the deck of the cafe, relaxing with a fresh mango juice and taking advantage of the free, fast wifi. The food at the cafe, although a little on the pricy side, is superb and will have you coming back for more each time. I highly recommend ordering garlic fried rice as a side dish.

The only downside was the accommodation in the longhouse. I was very lucky to have the dorm room to myself which consisted of 1 bunk and a single bed. However, I had a lot of insect visitors in the room with me, although the geckos were a welcome guest, I did not enjoy the mosquitos and other flying critters. The walls also were very thin and it was hard to sleep the first night as I could hear the other guests. The second night was a lot quieter and I slept very well. The shower, although cold water, and bathroom was immaculate. You don't need a hot shower anyhow in the jungle and there was plenty of room to hang your cloths without them getting wet.

If I were to come to Sepilok again, I would have no hesitation in staying here again. The service, staff and grounds were outstanding.

Room Tip: Bring a good book to read for some quiet R&R. Sepilok is a great place to unwind and enjoy natur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeg81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

This place is one of my.favorite places so far in.Borneo. Reasonable price for dorm rooms.

But the tour de resistance is the outdoor garden, wild yet wonderfully.maintained and groomed. It is such a good place to rwst and ten minute walk from the orangutan sanctuary.

The staff are brilliant, great humour and helpful.

The food menu is good. The food is high quality and they have cheaper options for budget backpackers.

Dorm rooms are basic, but clean and with a fan. You wont want to stay in there anyway. Chill near the jacuzzi.

Had a great time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee horscraft1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loomis ca
Level Contributor
435 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stunning grounds, sweet small shallow pool to cool off in between excursions. We upgraded our room, which had a beautiful view of the canopy, nice furnishings, lots of privacy. The only puzzling thing was the bathroom did not match the more luxurious interior. Totally fine, but a bit of a disappointment.
Don't even think about going anywhere else to eat. The restaurant is terrific, very creative menu, and the best food we had on our 5 week trip. Also pretty affordable. The lodge is within walking distance of the Sepilok sanctuary (approx 20 minutes) but it is pretty hot. A taxi might be better advised, particularly if you are visiting in the afternoon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ernieLoomisCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sepilok
0.4 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
22.5 mi away
Selingan Turtle Island
Selingan Turtle Island
#1 of 1 in Pulau Selingan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
2.7 mi away
Paganakan Dii Tropical Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kinabatangan Sunshine Lodge
Show Prices

Been to Sepilok Forest Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sepilok Forest Edge Resort

Property: Sepilok Forest Edge Resort
Address: Sepilok, Mile 14 Jalan Rambutan, Sepilok, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sepilok
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sepilok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sepilok Forest Edge Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sepilok Forest Edge Resort comprise of beautiful village style chalets which is surrounded by lush green surroundings and hills as a backdrop which further embraces the amazing view. Several types of chalets are available to cater to your needs, starting from the standard chalet for a superb value lodging to the Family chalet for a worry free family outing. The superior chalet is also available for those who requires some extra pampering. The Long House (LBB )consists of several rooms which are also available for those who want to experience lodging with a difference. Labuk Bed & Breakfast (LBB) is the premiere lodging spot for backpackers, nature enthusiasts or families that are just looking for a retreat with nature. LBB has received recommendations by Lonely Planet as well as various other travel guides over the course of its 15 years heritage. LBB has since moved from jalan labuk, Mile 14 to its new location: which is just a 10 minutes walk to the Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Sepilok Forest Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sepilok Forest Edge Hotel Sepilok
Sepilok Forest Edge Sandakan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing