We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT child friendly!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cashmoor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cashmoor Inn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“NOT child friendly!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Went there with friends from the Dorset Steam Fair. Told they would have to 'Check if there was a table available' even though the Restaurant was empty.
There were 6 adults, 3 children and a baby and we were NOT made to feel welcome especially when the landlady was heard to say 'Check the notes'. ?????
The children wanted to play pool but we were told they couldn't ..Fair enough. However the mutterings made us feel unwelcome so we said we would be leaving. The mutterings continued with 'They wont fond food anywhere else as the show is on'
Well WE DID!! It was lovely food the staff were extremely friendly and even the dog entertained the kids..

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy T, Manager at Cashmoor Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
With all due respect I was only carrying out my duty. No children under the age of 18 are allowed to play on any gaming tables or machines.
It is a licensing law throughout.
The families in question were made more than welcome the previous day.
As far as mutterings are concerned I am not aware of any of this.
I apologise if it caused any inconvenience but I was just doing what any other landlady would do when the are restrictions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    13
    7
    12
    9
See reviews for
21
27
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Corwen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We travelled down to the Dorset Steam Fair from North Wales, and always meet our friends in this nearby pub, and have a quick pint in the seating area at the front. The beer was good, and we noted that they had a "steak night" on the following evening. We returned with the intention of eating, 6 adults and 3 children. It was early evening, about 6.00pm, when we entered the pub. There were a few rowdy locals having a pint with the landlady. It became very obvious immediately that we were not welcome, as when we asked for a table for 9 people, there was some ambiguity as to whether they could accomodate us, despite the tables being empty. After some deliberation behind the bar, we were advised there would be a 40 minute wait. While we waited, the children wanted to play pool. The landlady made it clear than children were not allowed to play pool. The whole attitude was unhelpful and unfriendly. I suggested to the landlady that we felt we were not welcome, and that we would take our trade elsewhere. The rowdy locals were overheard commenting that we would be lucky to get a meal elsewhere, as other pubs were busy due to the local steam fair. We left, and enjoyed a warm welcome, and excellent food, at the Farquharson Arms, a few miles down the road. The "INN on the Chase" itself, is pleasant, but the landlady's manner needs to improve, unless she deliberately wishes to exclude families.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We visited for lunch en route from Salisbury to the south coast and having known previous owners was intrigued as to what it was now like. It was clean and well furnished and we found the staff to be most helpful. However it was quite busy and we arrived shortly after a large party so we had a considerable wait for our food but in fairness we were offered a complimentary drink for the delay but as I was driving, I declined! The food was good when it arrived and good value. My wife's home made chutney supplied with her Ploughman's lunch, was in fact Branston Pickle and was not home made as advertised! The toilets were clean and overall it was a nice place to stop off for a meal but as we weren't in a particular hurry it didn't matter to us that we had to wait for about an hour to get our meal but others may not be so patient.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stopped in on our way to Larmer Tree, for a quick cup of tea. Which came with chocolates and was £1.50, beats Starbucks any day!
Lovely chatty staff and good service. Though the coffee machine wasn't working on the day we visited. The loos were clean & well serviced too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clare r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Went for.lunch today with my father, my first time here, great warm and friendly welcome, shown to a table, given menus and served drinks, the food we ordered wad excellent, fresh,hot, tasteful and plentyfull, great service, great food, great value, highly reccomend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Andyt3362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I was rather nervous meeting my friend here for lunch reading the previous reviews.

I'm glad I gave it a chance as all the staff were very friendly.

The food was a very reasonable price. I had a steak and it was one of the best I've had in a long time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mandy179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Passing through from Weymouth to Salibury with the family and we had been reccommended to stop here as it was under new management. We were not dissappointed, we all really enjoyed our carvery lunch. The staff were very friendly and genuine and I have a bery good pint of ringwood Best Bitter. Although the restaurant was busy we were served quickly. We will be stopping here again if doing the same journey!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sixpenny Handley
8.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel
7.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Blandford Forum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth/Ferndown Hotel
6.9 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
5.0 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Wimborne Minster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cashmoor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cashmoor Inn

Property: Cashmoor Inn
Address: Cashmoor | Blandford Forum, Sixpenny Handley DT11 8DN, England (Formerly Inn on the Chase)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sixpenny Handley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sixpenny Handley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cashmoor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership from 8th September 2014. Refurbished rooms, refurbished kitchens and fresh new menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Cashmoor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cashmoor Inn Sixpenny Handley, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing