We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food great environment”
Review of Rollestone Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rollestone Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Shrewton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nanyuki Town, Kenya
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely food great environment”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely meal out with a friend here. Good selection to choose from on the menu and we weren't disappointed with what came out. Staff were very friendly and efficient. We've been before and it always seems to be a very popular B&B for the German tourists and is always busy and hard to get a table. Would definitely recommend but you need to book.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HockingC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rollestone, Manager at Rollestone Manor, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your review, very much appreciated.
We are so pleased you enjoyed dining at the Rollestone Manor, it is great to hear you felt there was lots to choose from. We hope you will visit us again and try out some more of the menu selections.
Kind Regards
Cyrille, Paula & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    42
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
45
167
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
103 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

After a 4 hour drive Rollestone Manor was the perfect rest place for us. Situated 1.5 miles from Stonehenge, the lovely little hotel, with only 7 bedrooms is full of history and comforts. We stayed in the 'Sir Nathaniel's' room which has two windows with lovely views over the gardens, large comfy bed and very powerful shower. We dined in the restaurant that although small had some of the best food we have eaten for a long time and we would highly recommend the plate of 'mini puddings'.
This is a friendly place with a family feel and is full of history. What a great find.
Tip: the stairs to the rooms are very narrow and steep, so would not be good for people who may struggle.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RaewynLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rollestone, Manager at Rollestone Manor, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your review, it is lovely to read your feed back and know that you were comfortable whilst staying in the room Sir Nathaniel. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Stonehenge and its new visitors center.
We are so pleased you enjoyed dining in the restaurant especially the plate of mini's.
Kindest Regards
Cyrille, Paula & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thurso
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

excellent in every way. nice welcome. great bedroom and shower. comfortable bar. high quality dinner and breakast. very quiet. Daddy Brian and Daughter Naomi rate the Rollestone top notch.very interesting history but amusing mistake ' the wiring from the 13th century had to be renewed'

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bvlamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rollestone, Manager at Rollestone Manor, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for your review, so pleased to hear you both enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our facilities bar & lounge area and restaurant.

Thank you for being the first guest to notice our deliberate and comical statement with regards to wiring :)
We hope you will visit us again if passing through the area, in the future.
Kind Regards
Cyrille, Paula & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Myself and a friend stayed at Rollestone Manor, neither of us knew what to expect from our stay but its fair to say we were very happy from the moment we got there.
We arrived at the Manor by taxi from Salisbury Station, beautiful area if you love the country side then Im sure you will be more than pleased. Once we had arrived at the Manor we were greeted by Cyrille, A very warm welcome. We already knew that check in time was not until 3pm, so we spoke to Cyrille who was very helpful and he explained that further down the road was a pub that was open which we could go to to have lunch. He also gave us an umbrella for our travels, which definitely saved us from the storm. The pub is about 30 mins down the road from the Manor. Lovely pub, pleased with the service and food.
Once we had arrived back at the Manor, which by this time we were soaked through by the rain. We were quickly shown to our room 'Lady Harriet'. The room was definitely greater than our expectations. Even had Easter Eggs for us to enjoy in our room. Cyrille offered to dry our shoes off for us, which we were both so grateful for!! Lovely size room with a modern bathroom. Beautiful views on to the country side.
We had already previously booked a table in the Manor for late evening dinner, we were able to relax once in the living room whilst being offered drinks. We were then shown into the dining area which was set out beautiful. Excellent service and food. Once we had finished our meal we were able to get a few drinks from the bar and games to take up to our room.
The next morning we had breakfast planned out for us, I had smoked salmon and scrambled egg which was divine. We were also offered a range of cereals, fruits and drinks once we had sat down. We decided to leave our bags and explained to Paula that we were heading to Stonehenge for the day, She was very warm and did not hesitate to take our bags from us . We headed on our way to Stonehenge, we literally got a few minutes up the road and we were stopped by Cyrille who went out of his own way to offer us a lift. We had already been so pleased by both Cyrille and Paula's kind nature so we did not expect anymore. He took us there and explained that we should ring him once we had finished. Stonehenge was beautiful! Once we had finished our time there we phoned Cyrille with hesitation as he had already done so much for the both of us. Within minutes he was outside even with our bags in the car!! He asked where we would like to be dropped off, we explained that we were going back to Salisbury so he offered to take us back there. We couldnt believe that he was going out of his way just to take us back although bearing in mind this was a 10-20 minute drive. We were both overwhelmed by how warm hearted himself and Paula were. Of course we offered to give himself money for the drive back, but Cyrille refused. We would like to thank both Cyrille and Paula for such an amazing stay at Rollestone Manor. Also for the great service in the evening.
Definitely recommend this place but more so what a wonderful couple !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rollestone, Owner at Rollestone Manor, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us, what a lovely detailed review. It is very much appreciated.
We are so pleased to hear that you both enjoyed your stay along with Cyrille's company. We hope you will visit us again when in the area. Kind Regards Cyrille, Paula & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

A lovely location and a pretty manor house. Staff were very helpful. Breakfast was nice and there was a lot of choice. My only complaint was that our bed made a squeaking sound with any movement, even just moving an arm, so we did not have a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexxy1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rollestone, Manager at Rollestone Manor, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us, it is great to know that you appreciated our location and its beautiful scenery and enjoyed the cooked breakfast options.
We are sorry that you didn't have a comfortable nights sleep, if you could kindly let us know which room you stayed in? we will be sure to look into this.
We hope that you will come back and visit us in the future and try out another of our rooms.
Thank you for your feedback.
Kind Regards Cyrille, Paula & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

A beautiful location, with very characterful rooms. We booked to dine here, which is advisable, because they get very busy. The dinner was excellent, as was the wine!
Have just enjoyed a really good breakfast, so now I'm all set up for a morning at the Henge.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank redstag194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rollestone, Manager at Rollestone Manor, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Rollestone Manor, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying with us and were able to try out our restaurant and relax with a few glasses of wine.
We hope you enjoyed visiting the new visitors center at Stonehenge and seeing the historic stones.
Kindest Regards
Cyrille, Paula & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

truly wonderful place to stay
i went with my wife,son and daughter in law
it was my birthday and i wanted to visit Stonehenge and the surrounding area
found rolleston manor on trip advisor
and the reviews don't lie
we stayed in Sir Nathaniel's Room
lovely room great outlook over the garden ,fields
we ate at the restaurant and was more than pleased with the food drinks and service
provided cyrille and paula you are a star act
we will return one day
once again thanks for a great stay

Room Tip: Sir Nathaniel's Room at the rear of house The Cardigan Room has a great bath in the main room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john-donovan101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rollestone, Owner at Rollestone Manor, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us it is great to know that you read through previous guests reviews prior to your stay, and most importantly that you were not disappointed. We hope you had a great birthday both here and at the world heritage site of Stonehenge.

We are pleased that you enjoyed dining in our restaurant and found the rooms comfortable.
We hope to welcome you all back in the future.
Kindest Regards
Cyrille, Paula & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shrewton
6.3 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge
7.7 mi away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Cricket Field House
Cricket Field House
#2 of 16 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Antrobus Hotel
The Antrobus Hotel
#3 of 3 in Amesbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
9.0 mi away
Milford Hall Hotel
Milford Hall Hotel
#5 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rollestone Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rollestone Manor

Property: Rollestone Manor
Address: 2 Rollestone Road, Shrewton SP3 4HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Shrewton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Shrewton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rollestone Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rollestone Manor is a privately owned beautiful grade II listed historic house, located just 1.5 miles from Stonehenge visitors centre. Our 7 bedrooms have their own individual style and ensuite facilities, furnished with antique furniture and modern technology. We have one room located on the ground floor - ideal if the steep staircase will cause a problem. Evening meals are served each night from 6.30pm, and booking a table is recommended. We are ideally located for touring Salisbury and South Wiltshire and minutes from the A303 - the main road from the East to the South West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Rollestone Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rollestone Manor Shrewton, Wiltshire, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing