We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views down the valley from Guadalest”
Review of Xorta

Xorta
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Guadalest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
campello
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful views down the valley from Guadalest”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The views are wonderful, we had the table looking directly down the valley. 26th of January and the outside temperatue was 24C. Even warmer inside. We arrived at 1345 and whilst some tables were in use it was not over busy, but by the end of our meal it was packed. Best advice is pre book. The food was enjoyable and a shared starter and a main meal each was as much as we could manage for lunch. As it was Sunday the menu del dia was 24 euro, (12 euro the rest of the week). But we were able to choose from the main menu and with wine it was only 15 euro each. Money well spent, enjoy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank acantilado3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    64
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great paella”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We have passed this restaurant so many times when in the area over the last ten years. Usually on our way to our favorite restaurant which has sadly closed due to the owners retirement.
So we thought we'd finally give it a try and we weren't disappointed.
Five of us had lunch here on a cool and rainy January day but the food soon cheered us up.
Three of us had an excellent paella that was not over moist like some can be and with a great crunchy base. We had the meat version and the pork, rabbit and chicken were all tender and tasty. The hake and beef shin ordered by the men got a big thumbs up also. The sweet trolley was to die for with far too many home made tasty choices to make a decision choice easy. We solved this by ordering 4 different ones and sharing..they were all delicious.
The decor is very tasteful, bright and airey and would be even better on a sunny day with an open terrace overlooking the wonderful view.
The waiter was very helpful and friendly and we thought the cost was extremely good.
Wheelchair access is easy into the front area of the restaurant where there are some accessible tables but there are four steps down to the main area. Toilets are unaccessible for wheelchairs.
Will definitely return on a sunny day and try the lamb next time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trayolfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
302 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Fabulous food. Fabulous views. Fabulous value. ”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Bearing in mind this is a popular tourist area we nevertheless trusted Tripadvisor and I am delighted we did.

I am sure that in season booking would be essential but we called in early (by Spanish standards!) at around 14:00 and got a table by the window with fabulous views.

We all chose the lamb and were presented with a truly great dish of tender succulent lamb which just fell off the bone. Massive portions which made it essential to choose a light desert!!

A great venue and look forward to a return visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kenny131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

After a bit of sightseeing in Guadalest, we decided on dining at Xorta. One of our party of four had been here on enough occasions to be recognized with a big smile by the waiter, even if it had been a couple of years since the last visit. We dropped the a la carte, and went for the today's special. The prices give fantastic value for money! We all went for the lamb, and it is without a doubt one of the two or three best lamb dishes I've ever tasted. Absolutely fantastic! The view from the restaurant is quite spectacular. The service was friendly, warm and efficient. The house wines were very good, both the red and the white. If you're in the area, a visit to this restaurant is a must!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arild S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely views, great food.”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Try the lamb main course. At 12.50 euros it is the best value for money around and absolutely delicious!
Try to book a table by the window for views over the valley.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Menjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xorta also viewed

Benimantell, Costa Blanca
Guadalest, Costa Blanca
 
Guadalest, Costa Blanca
Benimantell, Costa Blanca
 

Been to Xorta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing