We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just right, when it's right” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saarburg Waterfall

Saarburg Waterfall
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Saarburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
530 reviews
305 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
“Just right, when it's right”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Trier hotel we were staying at recommended a visit to the waterfall at Saarburg, otherwise we would never have heard of it. And there it was, a stream or rivulet running through the delightful town of Saarburg, with its very own waterfall. And the clever residents had made sure that the banks of the stream which overlooked the waterfall were populated with restaurants with outdoor seating. So the late Sunday afternoon we spent there, with a drink and something to snack, by a table in the sun, was just perfect.

But we were lucky, I suppose. The weather was fine, there were plenty of people about on a Sunday afternoon, but I could easily see conditions in which there was no way you would want to spend any time there.

But when the conditions are right, it’s a very pleasant place.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    60
    10
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really nice surprise in a lovely little town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Saarburg is a small and very picturesque town, and the waterfall right in the town centre is the best part. Its surrounded by pedestrian streets with street cafes. Really pretty.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank david F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Sight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

The 'Little Venice' area of Saarburg with its Waterfall, Mill and Kaffee Kultur, is a lovely spot to chill out with an ice cream or a schnitzel, Important to take your phone, because you will want to make this spot the background photo on your phone

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt_Robbo1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely little square surrounding the waterfall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the campsite on top of the hill. The old town of Saarburg took me by surprise. Lovely place with a small piazza of cafes and restaurants around the Brook and the waterfall. Spectacular and surprising. Make sure you look at the mills and the houses of the old town.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank watty-rugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A cute town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Wonderful cafes and shops line the town center where the waterfall is. Worth a day trip. Charming and relaxing place to enjoy some gelato or a meal.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JLeonard_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saarburg Waterfall also viewed

Saarburg, Rhineland-Palatinate
Saarburg, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Saarburg, Rhineland-Palatinate
Saarburg, Rhineland-Palatinate
 

Been to Saarburg Waterfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing