We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel has potential but....”

Hotel Islazul Las Yagrumas
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Islazul Las Yagrumas
Reviewed April 26, 2009

I've stayed at Las Yagrumas 3 times since 2000. I am a teacher and have brought just over 150 Canadian high school kids there as part of a larger exchange. Since 2000, the staff hasn't changed very much, but the cleanliness of the hotel has. (More about that below)

The hotel has 2 full time animateurs. Joel is terrific and will go well out of his way to ensure that you enjoy your stay. He runs the Cuban dance lessons and the karaokie bar amoung other things. He's a great guy. The front desk people are accomodating and friendly. They speak English well enough to understand any difficulties that people might have and they are anxious to correct any deficiencies.

The food is just ok by Canadian standards but superior by Cuban standards. The rooms are basic but functional. By Canadian standards I would rate this hotel as a 2 star at best.

Now for the problems....Cockroaches! Big ones! Only in certain rooms, but they were there. My group took up 22 rooms and we had bug problems in 7 of them. The hotel staff were eager to deal with the bug problems, but were limited by resources and therefore somewhat ineffective.

The second problem is probably what caused the cockroach problem to begin with. Since Raul Castro took over the country, he has loosened the restrictions on Cubans using local hotels and facilities. (I see this as a very positive move) The locals are permitted to use the pool and hotel facilities on weekends. (fabulous if you are looking for some interaction)The problem is, that on the Saturday and Sunday that we were there, there were hundreds of people in and around the pool. When they left at 6:00 pm, the litter, dirt and leftover food was everywhere and took hours to both clean up and refill the pool with water. Thus the cockroach problems.

I wouldn't bring another group of students there until the hotel is cleaned to Canadian standards, but for the adventurer who wants to learn something about real Cuban culture, I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this place.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CanadianDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 27 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2008

Stayed there (single woman from Ontario, Canada) Nov. 28 & 29 2008 with expectations of an eco/nature hotel. I understood this is not a luxury hotel, but did not anticipate staying in a 1.5*. Fortunately at the hotel I met a Canadian couple who frequent this hotel several times a year over the past six years - only because they visit friends in the area. The room and furnishings were extremely shabby, Spanish only TV; hot water maybe available 4 - 5 PM; all rooms encircle the pool, so when the music is blasting out from about 12 noon to 2 AM it's impossible to have a restful time in one's room. Cubans are sent there with their family, as a "bonus" for a job well done; and the baseball players also go there, however, not the star players - they go to the 4 or 5 * hotels. In the Buffet Restaurant you have to hunt for cutlery, napkins, salt & pepper, if it's available. The Buffet breakfast was O.K., however, the Buffet dinner was hardly edible; the pool Grill was O.K.; they also make sandwiches at the pool bar, which were good "ham & cheese". The last day I was advised by the Canadian couple that there was a "special" dining room beside the upper floor bar (above reception) and they invited me to have dinner with them. The "special" dining room service was good, table set with linen & they even had salt & pepper on the table and the fish dinner was good. Interestingly, the glass of wine and fish dinner cost less (7 CUC) as compared to the Buffet dinner - glass of wine & buffet (10 CUC). Other than the pool activities the only other activity was a boat ride (2 CUC for one hour) which was quite pleasant. The hiking trail is across the river, as a single woman I wasn't about to venture out on a hike in this area.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank OntHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2008

I have stayed at the Las Yagrumas several times as I travel with my students to Cuba. This is a good place to stay. Staff is wonderfully helpful, friendly, has a "we can do it" attitude. The entertainment director, Joel, is terrific. Local bands and dancers from the town of San Antonio de Los Banos come out to perform. Cuban families and sports teams frequent the hotel - you're not isolated in a gated tourist hotel like Varadaro. Food is simple but ample and good. Pool is extremely large and clean. Rooms are clean with new TVs, CNN on satellite, quieter air conditioners recently installed, basically furnished, showers, safes. Grounds are very nicely landscaped, lots of recent painting to spiff things up. Well stocked store, 24 hour medical care, bar, outdoor grill for lunches, This is not a resort hotel. Rather it is a quiet alternative located about 30 minutes south of Havana, and close to the Havana airport. It is very safe and has a family atmosphere where the staff work together as a good team. The staff look after some dogs and cats, so if you're an animal lover you have plenty of little friends to pet. I look forward to continuing to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cubaenthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Toronto Canadaa
15
Reviewed April 3, 2006

I loved it. The pool was always clean the workers were amazing and it was always alive. I would go back any day.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
British Columbia
17
Reviewed March 1, 2006

I agree with the previous review, except that there are a few things that help make this place worthwhile if you're not a person who needs a cruise ship/resort style holiday...for one, it's where the Cuban baseball teams stay when they are training or playing in Havana. There are some excellent local entertainers several times per week. The pool is great, and huge. There are lots of opportunities to get to know local Cubans, who will invite you to their nearby farms, or into their houses in the small town nearby. A stash of bicycles is available if you wish to take a ride to the local countryside.It's easy to hire locals to take you in their (interesting) old cars into Havana or wherever. Rowboats are available if you wish to take a row on the river. The staff and the locals are all very friendly and open.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2006

This is a three star hotel. They must be Cuban stars. The room is very basic and makes a Super 8 Motel look luxurious. Cold, stone floors, bare walls with empty nails, minimal furniture and storage space. Tiny towels that reek of bleach. Not everything works. Cold showers in the morning and scalding water at night - roof-top solar panels, maybe? The dining room is also very basic and so is the food. And that's being kind. Nobody will put on weight. The dining room keeps running short of things: coffee cups and juice glasses at breakfast, plates, spoons and dessert at dinner. However, the coffee is good. The best meal I had all week was on Air Canada coming home.

Having said that, the staff are friendly and willing. It's a nice looking building and clean enough. It is safe. There's huge pool, very nice. There's two permanent entertainment directors who organize various concerts and other distractions, particularly in the evenings. The rum is plentiful and good.

It seems to specialize in Canadian groups, schools or seniors, and is also used by Cubans on the weekends. It is located on the outskirts of San Antonio de los Banos which is about 12 miles southwest of Havana. If it was real cheap, you could accept the simple room and poor food. You get what you pay for (shrug).

8  Thank Shandie354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Antonio de los Banos
15.6 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 81 in Havana
3,560 reviews
473.5 mi away
Islazul Hotel Libertad
Islazul Hotel Libertad
#9 of 13 in Santiago de Cuba
66 reviews
388.9 mi away
Hotel Islazul Guacanayabo
Hotel Islazul Guacanayabo
#1 of 1 in Manzanillo
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.4 mi away
Moka Hotel
Moka Hotel
#1 of 1 in Las Terrazas
661 reviews
33.3 mi away
Villa Horizontes Soroa
13.8 mi away
Hotel Club Acuario
Hotel Club Acuario
#64 of 81 in Havana
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Islazul Las Yagrumas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Islazul Las Yagrumas

Address: Calle 40 y Final Autopista, San Antonio de los Banos 32500, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Artemisa Province > San Antonio de los Banos
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Antonio de los Banos
Price Range: $43 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Islazul Las Yagrumas 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Islazul Las Yagrumas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing