We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel; value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pan Tower International Hotel
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Kaiping
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel; value for money”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Probably the best hotel in Kaiping which is an out-of-the-way Chinese city. Not five star as claimed but all the essentials well provided. Brilliant massage service. Great position on an island in the river. Easy access to Guangzhou for onwards travel.

Room Tip: High up in the building means great reviews down the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BNorthwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    72
    27
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
12
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kaiping, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Pan Tower is still the best in KP: English speaking staff (most speaks basic English), foreign currency exchange(front desk or the Bank of China next door), clean room, good breakfast (i mean like OJ, milk and toast), coffee house that serve good western and Chinese food, buffet from 6 p.m. to 9 p.m. (featuring different theme every month). I'm a local tour guide. One thing that my clients enjoy the most is the foot message parlor on the 5th floor after a long day of sightseeing.

One thing it doesn’t have is heating. Kai Ping can get to 2 degree Celsius in the winter(December to February) during days and below zero during nights. So, if you're coming from the tropics, this can be a problem for you, but you can always ask for a portable heater or extra blankets.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

It was the best hotel I could find in Kaiping at the time of my visit. The room was spacious with river view that was reasonably priced. The staff at the reception desk were polite. I therefore decided to stay there for 3 instead of 2 nights. Of course, it couldn't be compared to an international 5-star hotel but it was comfy with good value in my opinion.

The location is very remote though. There was no local restaurant nearby. As a result, I had to put up with the Chinese restaurant in the hotel for 3 days. I was not fussy with food although it was really below the average standard of Chinese food you could find in the mainland. It was the appalling customer service that put me off. The staff-customer ratio was the highest I had seen in any hotels I previously stayed including the international 5-star hotels. It was about 2 restaurant staff for every table.

These staff, however, were chatting to each other and had no intention to attend any customers in need. When the food didn't come 50 minutes after I made my order, I asked one staff to follow it up for me. She then walked away and never came back. After 5 minutes or so, I had to ask other staff till one cared enough to help.

This was not an isolated case. It happened every night I dined at the restaurant. One night a staff even told me that the chef went to work in another restaurant in the hotel, and she had to call him back in order to cook my food. She was a senior staff with good attitude. She apologized for the wait. But she was the only one who cared about the customers.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karmaexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The only way to reach/leave the hotel is by taxi. 17RMB from bus station.

Room was clean and comfortable with the common distribution but a nice river view.

Breakfast: simple buffet with a mix of western-chinese food. Till 10AM. Ok

The only bad experience was ordering seafood dish at "western restaurant", so try the chinese one in the 2nd floor.

Not a 5 stars hotel at all, maybe a liitle bit expensive but clean and comfortable

The only reason to visit Kaiping is because the Diaolou, strange building-towers which are a must see.
We rented a private car at hotel reception. 300 RMB-4 hours / 500RMB-8h. We went for only 4h. I'm sure there cheaper options...
I suggest to visit Zili village to see the towers(80RMB/person) and the unforgettable Chikan village (free) to enjoy a decadent but photogenic river side buildings.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesVacancesdeMrHulot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Pan Tower is a fine hotel on a spit of land at the fork of two rivers so there is no traffic or business nearby which make for a quiet stay. Nice rooms and usual Chinese Western breakfast but with good coffee. Our room about $80/nt.
The western restuarant on the main floor has some weird stuff on the menu which it calls Western Fusion. Are you eager to try 'cappachino mushroom soup' or 'caribou loose bacteria'? no kidding. It took us a while to find really fabulous Chinese food on the 2nd floor in the Cantonese restaurant. A good place to stay.
No problem with busses getting us there from Guanzhou and then on to Shenzhen. We went to see the Watchtowers which were fabulous. The hotel helped us hire a driver for 2 days and we were completely satisfied with the vehicle, driver and price.

Room Tip: The higher you go the better the view down the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ananda100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I have been stayed in this hotel for the last 6 years in different times. Before it was not a nice experience as the staff can not speak English, the rooms were old and the bed was so hard.
So i always preferred to stay in Jiangmen City which is very close to Kaiping and have more options. But this time i surprised that business rooms are renovated with modern bathroom and soft bed. They increase the prices of these rooms but it worth to stay. Keep away from the cheaper rooms. Reception staff are much more polite & can speak English well. Only problem is the breakfast. It is not suitable for western taste. Completely Chinese flavours.

Room Tip: The only tourist attraction in Kaiping is a compound of old villas. Entrance fee is a little high. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hakancan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

It is only fair to start this review with explaining what the Pan Tower is not -- it is not a major, 5 star, international hotel that can be reasonably compared with the Intercontinental, Mandarin Oriental, or Shangri-La (as I think a couple of reviewers have implicitly done). Rather, it is best in class hotel in a medium-sized Chinese city that does a good job providing a lot of facilities, English speaking staff and generally looking after it's guests well.

The hotel itself is enormous, with two restaurants (one Chinese, one loosely defined as Western), a pool, tennis courts, a gym, table tennis, billiards, a night club, kareoke rooms, a spa and a (male only) sauna. It has a slightly resort like feel and is clearly a meeting point for local families in the area for dim sum lunch, a dinner out, etc.

The staff could not be more pleasant or better trained. There was always at least one person with working English on duty, they were very helpful with booking taxis, cars and explaining the area, and when we mentioned our bed was very hard they immediately sent someone from housekeeping with a mattress topper (which allowed us to get a very good night's sleep).

The rooms are pleasant and clean, with nice, modern bathrooms.

A word of advice is to avoid asking the bellboys (several of whom speak English) to book any transport, as they tend to mark up the prices. The concierge desk is the much better option.

For those in Kaping on business or tourism, this is an ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaiping
0.0 mi away
Country Garden Jade Bay Phoenix Hotel
0.9 mi away
Wilson Hotel
Wilson Hotel
#23 of 66 in Kaiping
36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kai Ping Hotel
Kai Ping Hotel
#21 of 66 in Kaiping
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Country Garden Phoenix Hotel Taishan
10.1 mi away
Xinfuyuan Hotel
Xinfuyuan Hotel
#40 of 119 in Taishan
4 reviews
9.8 mi away
Gaoye Hotel
Gaoye Hotel
#1 of 119 in Taishan
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Tower International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Tower International Hotel

Property: Pan Tower International Hotel
Address: No.2 Zhong Yin Road, Kaiping 529300, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Kaiping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Kaiping
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pan Tower International Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 297
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA and Booking.com so you can book your Pan Tower International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pan Hotel International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing