We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach getaway!!”
Review of Sun Cruise Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sun Cruise Resort
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Donghae
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed it! The hotel is so unique, and the grounds are beautiful. We enjoyed walking through the park areas around the ship. We had a junior suite room which was large, clean, and modern. We also enjoyed having wide windows and a balcony. The private beach front is very nice as well. Clean and spacious. Nice market on the beach with plenty of snacks and drinks which are not overpriced! Plenty to do on the beach....water sports are available or just relaxing. We found the hotel staff to be very friendly and courteous. The restaurants offered delicious Korean and Western options, as well as a bakery with fresh pastries for sale right in the lobby. Near the hotel is a park called "Unification Park" which features a Battleship and a Sub for walking through. Highly recommend this hotel!! The only thing I have negative to say is that I wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank runninmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
There are newer reviews for Sun Cruise Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 53 of 123 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Room was big. We were given the sun rise view. I like the hotel coz it is different. It is like you are in a cruise ship on top of a cliff. View was nice, the park was great. Sun rise was spectacular. Much better if you come here during their summer. There are lots of tourist spots nearby. The hour glass park is near the boat hotel. The Hassla art museum is also a must see while you are in the vicinity of the suncruise resort. The king crab was superb in the restaurant owned by the hotel and you can avail of the service van in going to the restaurant which is located near the sea.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank kalawakan60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We visited this place for the 4 of july weekend and we were amazed with the view of the place. It is located in a city that does not have a night life but there are interesting places to go during the day. The hotel has monuments, gardens and a park around it. The lounge area is awesome, it spin very slowly 360° while you eat and enjoy live music. The food prices are ok but be ready to pay for food the drinks which is not a big selection to choose from. The pool, parasailing and jetsky were not open because is not "summer" season. The yatch restaurant was very expensive (the lowest price was ₩80,000 per person). The room was clean but the lobby controled the AC and we had to contact them multiple times to make the room colder. In general, it is a nice place and we will visit it again.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Noelia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

This place is unique, clean & staff are helpful & there is free wifi -but that is where the good news ends.
We stayed in the junior suite
Room & we paid $240 per night.
The hotel looks impressive on the outside - but the inside is a mishmash of styles & concepts & it feels very dated!
The room was spacious, clean and we had lovely water views. The room decor is really something you would expect in a $100 per night Motel- it was not good.
The bath room
towels are tiny & thin ( think oversized hand towel ). There is no tea. & coffee making facility, no iron or ironing board in the room & the hair dryer is terrible.
On check in we called for an ironing board & iron and it took over 2 hours for it to be deliveried
We ate at the hotel restaurant- twice once for breakfast and once for dinner- terrible. Breakfast was average & for dinner I ordered the pasta which was awful.
Staff are friendly & helpful but staff numbers are very light on- eg the check in guy- was also the same person who serves you in the lobby cafe & also the same person that brings stuff to you room.
If you want to experience this hotel I would suggest you stay no longer that one night- as it really is lacking on so many levels.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank IAmAGlobalNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

While looking for a Memorial Day getaway that would be fun for the kids and away from the city, I came across this cruise ship hotel located on the near the beach and ocean. We were very pleased, and relieved, when we arrived. The grounds, facility were clean and the view was incredible.

Room Tip: Ocean view is beautiful, but ask for the sculpture park view. This is where the sun will rise.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Suncruise resort. We had dinner at June 20. We had confused with date, but the manage arranged the seats very well. And to the window side.

The scenery was really besutiful and spagetti was very tasty.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank KEVINHWANG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I'm not one for actual cruises, but I really dug the idea of staying in a cruise ship shaped hotel, which sits precariously on the top of a large cliff.

To start, the views are spectacular. My girlfriend and I came in on a gloomy Saturday and still were in awe of the impressive oceans views, the beach and the surrounding mountains. The Sky Lounge bar is also top notch. Although quite pricey, the drinks were good and it was nice to slowly rotate and take in even more of the nighttime views.

The room was comfortable and clean. There was a small kitchenette and a reasonably sized bathroom. There was also a small balcony, which was great to take in the sea breeze.

Check out's at 11, but we ended up not getting out until 11:30 and we were not charged for extra time.

Veering to more of the neutral side of the review, the food options were a bit lacking. My Korean is definitely not up to snuff, and that's completely my fault. However, it was really difficult to get recommendations for good seafood. It seemed apparent that the staff really wanted us to keep our business at the hotel. Even after saying "seafood restaurant" in Korean, we were told to eat up in the hotel restaurant. Although good, it was fairly overpriced. I wish I did some research about restaurants because later, when we ventured into the town, it looked like there were a bunch of really good places to eat. In contrast, the breakfast was delicious! Fresh eggs, toast, decent bacon and sausage and even a side salad! Only in Korea!

Back to the surrounding town, unless you feel like waiting around for a bus, you pretty much have to walk. There's really no direct way down and it was super annoying to wait for the bus. I think it comes once an hour. It's about a 20 minute walk from the bottom of the hill back to the hotel! I couldn't find a more direct route.

Additionally, definitely plan ahead! Buses are sparse and the one we waited for to get back into Gangneung, to catch an express bus to Seoul, didn't come at the designated time! Thankfully, a cabb rolled by and we were able to take that. Although, that was a pretty pricey ride, at 25,000 won for one way!

Overall, it's a fun place to spend a night. Just plan ahead and be prepared to fork over a fair amount of cash.

Room Tip: Plan ahead if you're coming in by express bus! Leave yourself plenty of time to make your ride!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andelroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donghae
6.7 mi away
Benikea Premier Donghae Medical Spa Convention Hotel
10.6 mi away
SEAMARQ Hotel
SEAMARQ Hotel
#1 of 28 in Gangneung
48 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hyunjin Tourist Hotel
Hyunjin Tourist Hotel
#2 of 16 in Donghae
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#6 of 16 in Donghae
13 reviews
2.5 mi away
Haslla Museum Hotel
Haslla Museum Hotel
#4 of 28 in Gangneung
18 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hong C Hotel
Hong C Hotel
#3 of 28 in Gangneung
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Cruise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Cruise Resort

Address: 950-39, Heonhwa-ro, Gangdong-myeon, Donghae, Gangwon-do 25631, South Korea
Location: South Korea > Gangwon-do > Donghae
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Donghae
Price Range: $73 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Cruise Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sun Cruise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Cruise Hotel Donghae
Sun Cruise Resort South Korea/Donghae

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing