We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleep don't Eat”
Review of Silver Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Silver Beach Hotel
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Roda
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sleep don't Eat”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We booked this Hotel on a Halfboard Bases, the room was very basic the beds were hard, toast for breakfast was eatable but we only stayed for a couple of evening meals until I was really ill, on the third day, we never attempted to eat in the hotel again, I honestly don't know how they could make food so bad, we ate at the Italian at the end of the road, I'm still not 100 %, I wish we'd read the reviews before we'd booked, Bed and Breakfast is managable but halfboard is a NO NO

Room Tip: If you have to book this hotel don't waste your money on the food
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
5 Thank benben53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    51
    49
    44
    79
See reviews for
91
103
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

When we booked last minute we were chuffed to get this hotel as it seemed nice, when i got home from Thomas cook I read the reviews and was horrified at the comments, I called the travel agent and was told to ignore them, I kept an open mind, but to our horror the reviews were correct, very basic and very dirty bathroom, when we arrived back from our honeymoon we both were very poorly, thankgod it waited until we had got back, We would have hated to have been Ill in this hotel, please avoid it if you can, our overall holiday was fantastic and will defo go back next year

Room Tip: Avoid if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kerry Wheldon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Roda hotels

Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked our holiday to Corfu at the last minute, so there was not many hotels left. We thought The Silver Beach sounded nice. We were told it was a good, quiet, 3 star hotel. But this hotel is a disgrace.
Our room was small and dirty especially the bathroom. The taps had mould encrusted on them. The toilet was smelly and broken. And the shower was tiny! Not to mention the drain in the shower was blocked which made the bathroom flood. We told our rep from Jet2 Holidays (who was very nice and extremely helpful) and she informed a member of staff. However it did not get fixed. The food was absolutely disgusting. There was no fresh fruit, only cabbage and a tiny bit of tomato. You had to pay extra for drinks which we were not pleased about. My husband and 12 year old daughter got food poisoning and were extremely poorly for most of the holiday.
The beds in the room were very uncomfy and squeaky, and it was very hot in the night but you had to pay extra for air conditioning (and the fridge). There was no T.V but fortunately we were not too bothered about that. However, the hotel was sold to us as a 'good 3 star'. It is only a 2 star at the most.
The pool was nice though. A bit small but was kept clean. There were lots of sun loungers and sofas outside so we could sit in the sun or the shade. The Bar was nice and the food and drinks were cheap. It is only a 2 minute walk down the road to the beach from the hotel. The staff were very, nice and always said Hello.
Overall our holiday was nice but was ruined by the hotel rooms and the food. We will not be staying there again.
I have uploaded some pictures of the awful room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mgreeny24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We are the couple who the previous reviewers mention, hi there you guys hope you are well..sorry to have missed seeing you again in Roda, might have been down to the food poisoning I got through eating at the Silver Beach Hotel!!
Please avoid this disgusting hotel at all costs, everything about it is just unbelievable.
We suffered all that you have previously read about this place with an added extra of food poisoning, shockingly bad service especially from the hotel owner/manageress who is possibly the rudest, most patronizing and insulting individual one would wish to meet.
Having now read about rats running around the area near to their restaurant kitchen I'm not surprised we suffered food poisoning during most of our stay.
Those who stayed previously and had their rooms cleaned were lucky I'd say...our room was not once cleaned, all that happened was that on two occasions a maid came in and folded our top bed sheet and left us two toilet rolls, we had dirty bed sheets and towels all week, even after having reported politely to the reception that I had been vomiting all night due to the food poisoning I got from their restaurant, so a clean bed sheet would be nice, it sadly never turned up.
There are loads of places to stay in Roda, please choose anywhere but the Silver Beach Hotel.
Roda is beautiful and full of great people, wonderful base too for exploring the rest of Corfu which is really gorgeous.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BilliDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Booked this hotel as a last minute holiday. Really wished we hadnt bothered. Scummy does not even begin to describe this hotel and we should know as they moved us twice (packing and unpacking), during a one week stay (20/08/12 to 27/08/12). Arrived at 5.30am, handing our passports over for what we assumed was id. we were then told we could not have them back until the next day. The porter just waived away our protests saying " i dont speak english". On entering our room No 24, the stench of drainage and toilet could not even be masked by them leaving the balcony door wide open.The toilet did not look like it had been cleaned since it was even installed let alone before our arrival.The shower was broken, the curtain was mouldy,stained and did not even fit the shower tray, which in turn was filthy and stained. We had already made our minds up that we were not going to unpack as this was not what we had paid for. The pictures on their website were not the rooms in this hotel that we have seen. Our holiday cost us in the region of £1000 and this was not acceptable.We glanced around the room noticing filthy marks on the walls and ceiling, rusty coloured stains on bedding, a radio system in the headboard with no knobs on where your head had to rest. Then our balcony with gorgeous mountain veiws (ha ha). Outside on our balcony we were faced by a wall of tiles which was the roof of the adjascent building less than 4ft away.Between the 4ft gap was a corregated roof covered in litter and stinking.
With the porter being of no help whatsoever we had to walk around the town for 2hrs plus,until the reception opened after 8am. We were not alone as another couple also from England had similar problems. After a troubled debate they moved us to an apartment adjascent to the hotel. This apartment was still a disappointment hygiene wise but was acceptable. we were then told we may have to move if they needed the apartment for a family booking but that it was highly unlikely. For two nights we were reasonably content, then they knocked at the door telling us we had to pack our bags and move back to a hotel room. Fuming, we insisted we view the room they were moving us to, this room was clean and the balcony did have a view. However, the inconvenience of packing and unpacking during a very short holiday was given no consideration whatsoever. Reluctantly we moved after letting them know in no uncertain terms that they were responsible for disrupting our holiday, once again due to their total lack of professionalism and their ineptitude. The shower in our third room flooded the drain which is in the bathroom.which in turn spilled out into the bedroom. we still had to buy toilet cleaner and air freshener to keep the smell of blocked drains at bay. To finish it all off, sitting on the balcony late one night a large rat ran across the corrergated roof below our balcony which was above their kitchen. Please heed this awful review as we would not wish this dispicable place on our worst enemies.
Do not let this put you off going to the resort of Roda.It is the most warm and friendly place to visit with many great restaurants whether you want breakfast, lunch or a nice romantic dinner. We dined out all week as we did not trust the food within Silver Beach even though we had paid for bed and breakfast. We made a great many friends during our short stay and would definitely go back, as there are many better places to stay than the deplorable Silver Beach.

Room Tip: There isnt one....!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
5 Thank shazzabum1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Hard working staff,pleasant location.Rooms are basic,best to pay for air-con,and fridge.The food seems to be directed towards there main clients,East Europeans.Food diabolical.I wanted to intergrate,and have a chat.Know go area.

Room Tip: Ask for studio,Air Con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dubbo158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We booked the Silver Beach Hotel as part of a package deal. The cost of the hotel itself was around £200 of our week's booking and as we are regular visitors to Roda, Corfu, we had aspirations that the hotel would be fine for a week. Our view prior to staying was that it was ideally situated in the village for the beach, various pools and the restaurants, and that it looked well maintained. However, on arrival our room had not been cleaned from its previous occupants. We abandoned our luggage to meet friends, and when returned later the room was in the process of cleaning and sheet changing. The two cleaners did a good job of cleaning all week and worked from morning to night to cover the whole hotel, so there were times that they were cleaning the room when we returned from our days out which was inconvienent. Sheets were changed during our weeks' stay, and towels too. The space in the room was cramped due to 3 beds in the one room. The bathroom was awful - the toilet leaked and left a wet patch on the floor constantly, and the shower was so small that we could not shut the shower curtain to use the shower. The shower head was also not attached to the wall. This obviously resulted in more water being out the shower than in! Finally for the room the air conditioning was functioning (and extra cost along with the fridge, safe deposit box and WiFi) but the connection that operated the aircon needed wedged with a piece of cardboard to keep it working.

We were booked on a bed and breakfast basis, but only attended breakfast the first day and ate next to nothing due to the poor selection. It was geared towards the European continental and not to British tastes, i.e bread, one type of meat and one type of cheese oh with fried potatoes!! The coffee was not to our taste, leaving sediment in bottom of the cup. If you did want to have anything you had to fight through the swarm of people also trying to eat breakfast.

As earlier mentioned we were charged for all our extras - air con 35 euros, fridge 20 euros, safety deposit box 15 euros and finally wifi that you couldnt get in your room that was 5 euros, which if you went anywhere else in the village was free. The staff were friendly and helpful when we did need anything, but we basically used the Silver Beach to sleep and shower in and went elsewhere for all meals and drinks, as well as during the day. The pool looked clean but we were meeting friends elsewhere so did not use it.

We generally enjoyed our holiday but the Silver Beach left a lot to be desired and we are unlikely to stay there again. It is well situated in the village and kept clean, but it needs a massive upgrading to make improvements in keeping with modern times, and much more variety and choice on its breakfast menu. Roda itself is a delightful village and wonderful holiday experience and we will be back in the future, just not staying at the Silver Beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Carolyn1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roda
0.2 mi away
Pegasus Hotel
Pegasus Hotel
#2 of 15 in Roda
237 reviews
1.8 mi away
Corifo Village Hotel
Corifo Village Hotel
#5 of 20 in Acharavi
101 reviews
0.5 mi away
Semeli Hotel
Semeli Hotel
#11 of 15 in Roda
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.5 mi away
Mediterranean Blue Resort
5.5 mi away
Apraos Bay Hotel
Apraos Bay Hotel
#10 of 10 in Kassiopi
96 reviews
33.2 mi away
Morfeas Hotel
Morfeas Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kavos
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Beach Hotel

Property: Silver Beach Hotel
Address: Roda 49081, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Roda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Roda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Silver Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Beach Corfu
Silver Beach Hotel Corfu/Roda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing