We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, disappointing food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Liapades Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Liapades Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Liapades
London
Level Contributor
285 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“Good location, disappointing food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

This busy hotel enjoys a good location on a steep hill just above a pretty cove. It's popular with Germans, Russians and Brits on package holidays. There's an attractive pool with its own bar. Despite having no view at all, our ground floor room was spacious, clean and in decent condition. Our TV had perfect reception of BBC World and various Greek and German channels. There was no noise at night.

Reception staff, including the manager, Spiros, were helpful and spoke excellent English. The main dining area used for dinner and breakfast is known as the Cricketers Taverna - but it isn't really a taverna at all. It's like a rather depressing and dimly lit 1980s company canteen.

The a la carte meals looked quite good, but for those on half board, it's a different story. There's no choice or advanced warning of what you're going to get. The food is just plonked down in front of you, and it's pretty basic fayre. One of the dishes served to us was a bowl of tasteless chopped cabbage 'garnished' with four small slices of tomato and a couple of olives. This apology for a salad was left untouched by most diners. Breakfast was better, with a standard selection of cereals, bread, ham and cheese. Weak coffee is dispensed from a machine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rentaquote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    28
    11
    3
    7
See reviews for
19
32
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

I booked my holiday via Olympic Holidays. They assured us this was a 3 star restaurant and having looked on the hotels website advertising every room with a 'sea and mountain' view I was so excited!

Olympic Holidays sent us our hotel info WRONG stating 2 star but refused to send us something that said 3 star on it. I emailed the hotel and they returned it saying they were a 3 star. When we arrived the reception guy told us it was actually only a 2?!

We arrived in August 2012 with our 2 star sheet, handed it to the guy on reception who allowed a young boy take us to our rooms. He was a student, very kind and polite but only offered to help us with our 20kg bags half way to the room leaving my mum lost and unable to lift it up the stairs to our room in the 'Katerina Apartments' He explained to us how to use the air-con etc and soon left us.

We were shocked, the shower was tiny, the view was just of trees and the local hotel grounds and it wasn't very nice. We complained and in the morning were moved to room 40, the best in the hotel with a gorgeous mountain & pool view and lovely bathroom. The trees in front of the sea had overgrown so no view of the sea unfortunately but this was okay. It was beautiful to wake up to every morning and also sit on the balcony at night.

The beds were atrocious! I left this holiday of 7 nights with the worst back pain I've ever had, and I'm a person with previous spinal issues so good mattress's are important to me. Having taken this holiday to rest I never felt more tired with the rubbish sleeps every night. This did allow me to easily fall asleep on the beach and by the pool every day to sun bathe which was what I wanted to do but did not appreciate their beds.

The first evening we went down to dinner we were told we would receive a starter, salad, main and dessert so assumed we could choose this off the restaurant menu. These were taken out of our hands without an explanation until we realized we weren't actually allowed to choose. Luckily if you didn't like something they could change it for you but I didn't want to eat garlic filled dishes every night as this always made me feel ill. The taste never disappears even after brushing!

Breakfast was very simple; ham, cheese, watery filter coffee, sour orange juice, hard croissants (don't expect M&S quality), bread, (the rolls were good and fresh!), peaches and jam/butter.

TYPICAL EVENING MEAL:
Starter: Lasagna/Cucumber Garlic Sauce with bread/Pasta
Salad: Tomatos and Cucumber/Greek Salad only 2 olives
Main: Grilled fish/Roasted Beef with potatos on Sunday/Lamb & Veg
Dessert: Peach/Melon/Ice-Cream

Ordering from their menu however at lunch if you're just half board is very good. Their food is lovely! (When you can choose what you want)

ENTERTAINMENT: They had a greek night with some dancers one evening. This was very good! Zumba was advertised in the hotel but information on when/where it was wasn't very confident. We came down on the night it was meant to run and couldn't find the class anywhere so gave up and had drinks.

Something that made this all good though was the staff's kindness. Every staff member was lovely and we were given complimentary extra starters at dinner if we weren't happy about something. I grew very addicted to their bruschetta! (However very garlicy)

I advise DO NOT EAT BY THE POOL. WASPS. I ate my bruschetta in front of the pool, loads of wasps decided to come down to join in. I got so scared I ran away bare foot without thinking and stood on one hiding in the grass. In absolute agony for ages as I had never been stung before and have since now become petrified of wasps, more than I am of spiders.

The pool was lovely though and very clean. You can't swim at night however because they clean it then. :( Not good when its still 42c at night and a cold swim is all you want! Me and my mum went to scout out 'Elly Beach Hotel' and their pool was green and murky with what seemed to be broken things everywhere.

Liapades Beach Hotel is very clean and they do what they can to tackle the wasps issue but you just can't escape them.

The pool bar was very nice, a massive selection of cocktails to try every day which I think I spent most of my holiday spending money on oops!

THINGS TO DO:
Visit Paleokastritza, Corfu Town, Rovinia Beach, Paradise Beach, the 1st bar snacks cafe on the beach front is brilliant. Lovely staff members and brilliant cheap food. Lovely place to sit and watch the sun set over the mountains and sea.

This is definitely a relaxing/swimming holiday. After 3 days I felt fully rested and ready to go back to work but had 4 more days left. If I were to return I would book direct with the hotel so it's cheaper and only go for 3 nights. I absolutely loved Rovinia beach. Such a good place to relax until it got busy midday! Once you get over the shock of difference to home luxury its actually a really lovely hotel and great when you have a very busy work lifestyle at home and need a break! :) I'd definitely return, but out of wasp season. This is what made it hard to relax in the last few days.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front overlooking the sea & mountain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana_Field
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Petersburg
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

I have just back from the Liopades Beach, where I was with my family during two weeks. First of all.
I have been seen very friendly and open atmosphere in the hotel, very kind relation between Spiros, staffs and guests. We have had HB; the cuisine was very good on dinner as well as in restaurant.
I have highly recommended the Liopades Beach for any one.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonidP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We have just returned from spending a wonderful few days at the Liapades Beach Hotel. The Hotle is in a great location and is away from the many other crazy holiday locations in Corfu. The room we had overlooking the pool area was light spacious and had a brilliant view. The pool area was also very welcoming.
However the best part of the hotel was the attached Cricketers Taverna - what a lovely setting! The food was brilliant and the staff very friendly. I am not one for returning to places (there is so much to see, but would go back to this Taverna).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LiamHum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolleston on Dove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We have just returned home after spending three weeks at the Liapades Beach hotel and I re-iterate exactly what I wrote last year. The welcome from Spiros and his staff is just as warm, the ambiance is just as good. Everyone works so hard to ensure you enjoy your stay without being intrusive. Ask for a room looking over towards Lakones and sit on the balcony in the evening watching the sun set and the eagles soaring in the sky, with a glass of chilled white wine, what more could you want, except one of Spiros delicious suppers! We are so pleased to have found this place and I think we will be returning for many years to come. Don't take my word, try it for yourselves.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lakones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

I love this hotel! We were here for six days in September 2011 and spent a great time. We were on HB board and everything was very tasty. The rooms are small, clean and pleasant, the staff is wonderful. There are great beaches nearby. I definitely recommend this small family hotel and surrounding area!

Room Tip: http://www.liapades-bliss.com/walking-guide/index.html - information about Liapades and beaches
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zany_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

Cricketers Taverna part of hotel and was brill. Look at reviews of Elly beach hotel for reference to this hotel - a refuge for great food and 1st rate service.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DoctorTechnical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liapades
3.2 mi away
Blue Princess Beach Hotel & Suites
2.2 mi away
Philoxenia
Philoxenia
#1 of 4 in Ermones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
3.4 mi away
Akrotiri Beach Hotel
Akrotiri Beach Hotel
#1 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
12.6 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
9.6 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liapades Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liapades Beach Hotel

Property: Liapades Beach Hotel
Address: Liapades, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Liapades
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Liapades
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Liapades Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Liapades Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liapades Beach Hotel Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing