We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in rural Cornwall”
other travelers have booked this property
Sumptuous sofas, a granite fireplace & log burner (freeview TV/Dvd & free Wi-Fi too).
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sumptuous sofas, a granite fireplace & log burner (freeview TV/Dvd & free Wi-Fi too).
The cottage is tucked away in a quiet lane off the village square. The open plan lounge, with original beams, & solid oak staircase.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Sumptuous sofas, a granite fireplace & log burner (freeview TV/Dvd & free Wi-Fi too).
The cottage is tucked away in a quiet lane off the village square.
The open plan lounge, with original beams, & solid oak staircase.
The kitchen was completely re-fitted in 2013.
The SMEG fridge-freezer has oodles of space for your BBQ fare, & drinks rack too!
The bright and fresh master bedroom.
Snuggle into the king size bed (5ft) with crisp Egyptian cotton linen.
Two spacious single bedrooms, (solid oak 'ledge & brace' doors lead into each room)
The second single bedroom (n.b. there are wardrobes in all bedrooms).
The west facing conservatory is perfect for afternoon cream tea.
Private courtyard garden to rear of cottage ideal for BBQ's. Church bells on Sunday mornings too!
Fairies in the garden x.
The pretty courtyard garden enjoys the afternoon sun.
The window seat is a cosy spot to watch the horse riders go by.
The upstairs bathroom has a shower over bath, shaver socket, & heated towel rail.
Meet the resident duck family x.
A double-sized powerful shower downstairs (not power shower but direct from boiler)
The cottage is close to a 15th century church, with the highest bell tower in Cornwall!
A farm shop with home-made pasties & cafe with Aga baked cakes on the doorstep
Portholland, one of many sandy beaches in the area, with wonderful rock pools too!
Full selection of local maps & guides to ensure you make the most of every moment!
Little extras await your arrival e.g. teas, coffee, milk, and a scrummy surprise too.
Our summer flower baskets at the front of the cottage are a feast of colour!
We hope to welcome you soon.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Probus, Truro District, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
smeneghet...
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage in rural Cornwall”
Reviewed July 21, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We stayed here for a week in the middle of June. Claire was lovely, so helpful and was always on hand to assist us, if we needed anything.

Bedrooms were so pretty, comfy and linen freshly ironed. Plenty of hot water, washing machine and gorgeous sunny garden. Great regular bus route into Truro. Probus had great pub and fish and chip shop, so reasonable. Yes definitely stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DRHLiss
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage”
Reviewed December 8, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We have just returned from a smashing week at Waterlily Cottage. The cottage is equipped with everything you might need and is extremely comfortable and clean. We were thrilled, when we arrived, to find a lit Christmas tree and nice decorations to make us really enter into the Christmas spirit and the log burner made it especially cosy in the evenings.
Probus has a welcoming pub, a well stocked shop/Post Office, a good Chinese takeaway, an Indian restaurant and a fish and chip takeaway so, no need to drive if you want to have a few drinks. It is also well connected by bus to a variety of places We visited Truro twice and used the Park and Ride. All in all a great week and the cottage is a good base for seeing this area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 20, 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay at the start of the Christmas period at Waterlily Holiday Cottage! Hopefully we will welcome you back again one day soon :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha...
1 review
“Such a beautiful cottage”
Reviewed May 6, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

WaterLily was very homey. It had the perfect amount of room for everyone four adults one child. Had all of the necessary need items all other items you can get in a short walk to the store.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BevCP
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Heavenly, restful, comfortable - would recommend”
Reviewed March 24, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I spent a very restful weekend with friends at Waterlily Cottage. On arrival after a long drive we found on the kitchen table a basket of goodies, scones, cream, jam and a selection of drinks. Just what we needed to revive us. We had a lovely walk around the village. I was delighted at the cleanliness of the cottage, I have stayed at many rentals that have required cleaning on arrival - not Waterlily it was spotless. Probus is a central place for many local attractions. The information folder in the cottage is fully of places to go, restaurants, walks etc to cater for all ages so families with children will not be lost for things to do nor were we as all adult travellers. The kitchen is well stocked with equipment, the living room comfortable with a selection of DVD's to watch - again to cater for all ages and tastes. There were games in the cupboard to keep us entertained. The bedrooms were comfortable and having 2 bathrooms was so helpful as we were a mixed party. All in we had a very comfortable, relaxing weekend and I would whole heartedly recommend Waterlily for a wonderful holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was so clean and fresh
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrs Carol...
1 review
“Cosy, comfortable cottage”
Reviewed February 6, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We had a lovely week in the cottage. Everything we needed for a very comfortable stay was provided. I would recommend "Waterlily Cottage" to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Really comfortable cottage
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandiwin
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage and an excellent stay”
Reviewed January 16, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We rented this cottage for my daughter and her family over Christmas while I stayed with my son over the road! Apart from the convenience of being able to roast the turkey in one oven while we did the rest in the other, and being able to drink and then just cross the road to go to bed, the cottage was a real find! It is beautifully decorated, including with pictures, ornaments etc that make it feel very homely, and wonderfully clean and warm. The living room had been decorated with Christmas decorations and a tree and was left ready with the heating on and some side lights so that the first impression was warm and cosy - brilliant! The basket of 'treats' was great too. The price was reasonable too for what was, effectively, a peak period letting. Thank you Lucy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that it was so home-like and went the extra mile to make you feel welcome and cosy.
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 18, 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am so glad you and your family had such a happy Christmas at Waterlily Holiday Cottage! Hopefully we will welcome you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing