We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to be” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spring Cottage B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spring Cottage B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Probus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were only guests for one night, could have happily stayed longer. Chris was a wonderful host, and the cottage with all its nooks and crannies was spotless and very comfortable. Tea and cake on arrival, and probably one of the best B&B breakfasts we have experienced so far on our 'grand tour'.
An added bonus was the clarity of directions supplied with our booking - something that had been lacking in some of our locations.
Would recommend this B&B to everyone, it's proximity to the town of Truro and surrounds adds to the appeal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 137Jennifer137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
147
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at Spring Cottage on our last visit to Cornwall 5 years ago. It obviously stuck in my mind because we stayed again last week and it didn't disappoint! Chris is a wonderful host with 2 lovely dogs and when he greeted us we were offered tea / coffee and cake! better than a lot of 5 star hotels! Room was bright and clean and bed was very comfortable. There was a great choice for breakfast and I settled for the american pancakes with bacon and syrup.... amazing! I could not recommend this B & B more highly!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just back from spending 2 nights at Spring Cottage. Chris and the dogs (Charlie and Jack) made me feel most welcome to their cosy quirky cottage. My room was light and airy and exceptionally clean. Breakfast was fantastic, with plenty of fresh fruit, strong coffee and fabulous local sausages. A good selection of DVDs is available to borrow for use in the TV/ DVD combo in the room, and the wine glasses and corkscrew in the sun room are a useful extra. I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this bed and breakfast and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flynntheeskimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We styed here only one night, we had a warm welcome, and were show around the cottage with the quaint breakst room and sun lounge and to our bed room. we stayed in Room 3.
The room was simple and tastfully decorated, everything was spotlessly clean, and our room had a door out into th enchanting garden.
Breakfast was fantastic! We had the pancakes, loads of fresh fruit yogart breakfast cericals on offer too, and enough coffe to keep you going for a week.
Excellant value for money, very friendly and in a convient location, just outside of Truro. Would definitly stay again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Fantastic
Peaceful
Quaint
Welcoming
The Mutts Nuts
Delightful
Felt like home

Chris is a top bloke and has a vast knowledge about places to visit in the surrounding areas as well as the best places to eat.

Room Tip: Ask Chris about this adventure in the Himalayas he's fascinating
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YummyYammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Somerset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend for a local wedding and really enjoyed this place. The owners were very accommodating and friendly and the room comfortable. Lovely en suite bathroom and an amazing bed. A fantastic breakfast in the morning too!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drewthemunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this excellent B&B. Tucked away up a narrow track, it is a delightful old cottage, skilfully arranged to accommodate ensuite rooms and a little sun room for guests (sadly they hadn't managed to lay on the sun!) We were warmly greeted by Chris, with tea, cake and conversation, and extremely well looked after for our stay. Breakfasts were delicious with a truly 'full' English, fruit or bacon pancakes or a wonderful fruit and yoghurt 'thickie'. Attention to detail was very impressive, with the daffs in our room changed for a camelia when they wilted, a good selection of maps and DVDs to borrow, and cunning torch/nightlights that lit automatically when it was dark. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SV_and_JM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Probus
3.8 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
7.7 mi away
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
Premier Inn Truro Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carnon Downs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
4.6 mi away
Merchant House
Merchant House
#4 of 6 in Truro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Mannings Hotel
Mannings Hotel
#2 of 6 in Truro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
19.1 mi away
The Old Chapel B&B
The Old Chapel B&B
#2 of 14 in Lostwithiel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Cottage B&B

Property: Spring Cottage B&B
Address: Spring Cottage Truck Hill, Probus TR2 4JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Probus
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Probus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Cottage B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality B&B in a charming Cornish cottage dating from the 17th century. Spring Cottage has been lovingly renovated by owners, Chris and David, offering 3 double en-suite rooms. Breakfast, their specialty, includes full English, vegetarian, or homemade pancakes, all at a time of your choosing. Spring Cottage's central location within the county is ideal for touring; all of Cornwall, Eden and Heligan are within easy reach, as are both coastlines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Spring Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spring Cottage B&B Probus, Cornwall, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing