We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B ever”
Review of Spring Cottage B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Spring Cottage B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Probus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2008

We stayed a few days in the Spring Cottage B&B and everything was perfect, the couple who runs the B&B is very caring and each room is wonderfully kept at the smallest detail. The highlight was the American style breakfast, a nice change from the full English breakfast (which they cook perfectly anyway)! I'd definitely recommend it, no doubt!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SilviaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 249 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2008

Just returned from one night's stay at Spring Cottage. Although in a tucked away postion we found it easily with the help of the accurate directions. We were given a very warm welcome, a freshly brewed cup of tea, a chat and an introduction to Charlie the dog and Jack, the puppy! The room was just lovely, spotlessly clean with a very comfortable bed and patio doors overlooking the garden. It was lovely to have a little sun room where we could make tea and coffee. In the morning we were greeted with a beautifully laid table, a log fire, candles and music. The choice of breakfast made it difficult to decide! It was all freshly prepared and delicious. Attention to detail was second to none and the whole house had a warm, relaxing feel. It was just like staying at a friend's house. Nothing was too much trouble and Chris and Dave truly have a Bed and Breakfast to be proud of. Hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haskinsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2007

We booked two rooms at Spring Cottage, and everything others have said about the setting is true. A good location, an excellent property, and a good price. What a value. The rooms were spacious, well kept, and delightful to stay in. Chris and "Charlie" could not have been better hosts. Chris had an excellent breakfast selection, and on the last day when we left for Gatewick at 5 in the morning he prepared a box with all kinds of goodies for the trip. Chris also recommended two local restaurants - a pub and pizza place, they were both superb.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank breeze_of_wind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2007

Spring cottage was beautiful and tranquil, situated down a quiet road, but still easy to get to.

Rooms were amazing and a lot of careful thought had obviously gone into making the rooms feel like a home from home as well as keeping the character of such a unique building.

The owners were welcoming and friendly, they had even put together a wonderful pack of some of the lesser known local attractions!

Breakfast was a welcome change from a week of the usual "full english"! How lovely to have a choice when the options are as good as Chris'!

The price was comparable to the other places we stayed in Dorset, Devon and Cornwall, yet the quality far exceeded them all!
When we return to Cornwall, we're love to return again.

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank RosieEverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2007

Always dubious with the term Bed & Breakfast but how mistaken you can be. Not your typical B&B this is the most idylic place I have stayed in with a wonderful host who looks upon this business as his own personal quest that the guests enjoy there stay.Met by Chris on arriving who had no problem that I arrived far earlier than any other guests and even made me a cup of tea as I had travelled so far.The attention to detail in cleanliness was very high with good furnishings and the cottage layout was absolutly fantastic. A credit to Chris who has made a great succes of this business and I will undoubtly stay again when next in the area.Please if you are looking at this review and are looking for a Hotel hideaway this is the place to stay dont look any were else and at such a low price.Eating places plentiful with the local pub my choice who served a fabulous meal washed down with Cornish Cider.Breakfast was superb and in such lovely surroundings with everything you could want including the famous pancakes.Book direct with the hotel and you get confirmation immediatly with directions which you definitly need.Hope you enjoy your stay as much as I did.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mumma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2007

We found the web-site for Spring Cottage whilst trawling the internet for suitable B&B accomodation in Cornwall. We subsequently booked for three nights without having first looked at any reviews here on trip advisor. A bit of a gamble some of you might be thinking! However, we were not dissapointed.

Spring Cottage was a gem of a find. We could not fault it in any way whatsoever. Our hosts were truly magnificent, going that extra distance to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

The 16th century cottage has been tastefully restored with an enchanting garden in which to relax. The breakfast is a joy, with fresh eggs produced by the host's own free range chickens. Yum, yum!

If ever in Cornwall again, we will certainly be booking with Spring Cottage again. And next time, I will be taking lovable Charlie (the resident labrador) for a walk along one of Cornwall's enchanting beaches.

Thanks Chris, David & Charlie for making our stay so welcoming.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank v-dub68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2007

We (3 couples in their 20's - 30's) booked all 3 rooms at Spring Cottage for one night in June at part of our 2 week break in Cornwall. It was lovely from start to finish!

The reception was fantatastic. Exceptionally friendly hosts (and a friendly dog!), who offered us tea (the hosts not the dog!) and a chat upon our arrival - a lovely touch.

All of the rooms were well furnished, comfortable and peaceful. They have large comfy beds, hot, powerful showers and not a piece of chinz in sight!!! Hooray!

Breakfast - what can I say.......superb! Orders taken the night before and prepared lovingly. We sampled the full range of breakfasts on offer and they were all fantastic. Large portions, freshly cooked, fresh fruit - excellent!

The B&B itself is quite close to a small village but we decided not to venture there after a hectic day and opted for a picnic in the garden. Peace and quiet - bliss! The owners did not object to this which was nice.

I would definately recommend this B&B. The friendly, individual service was a joy. The breakfasts were fantastic. The rooms were cosy and comfortable and had everything you need. We will certainly return again. Thank you so much for a lovey stay.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateBrookfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spring Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Cottage B&B

Address: Spring Cottage Truck Hill | Cornwall, Probus TR2 4JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Probus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Probus
Price Range: $95 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Cottage B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality B&B in a charming Cornish cottage dating from the 17th century. Spring Cottage has been lovingly renovated by owners, Chris and David, offering 3 double en-suite rooms. Breakfast, their specialty, includes full English, vegetarian, or homemade pancakes, all at a time of your choosing. Spring Cottage's central location within the county is ideal for touring; all of Cornwall, Eden and Heligan are within easy reach, as are both coastlines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Spring Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spring Cottage B&B Probus, Cornwall, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing