We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful villa, beautiful view”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Suite Boudoir
Awesome view
outdoor suite boudoir
View Pinel Island
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin, St Martin / St Maarten

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
philFromO...
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Wonderful villa, beautiful view”
Reviewed March 25, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This is a wonderful place to spend a vacation.

First, as other reviewers have confirmed, this villa is exactly as described, and the photos portray it accurately, with one exception: the photos can't compare to the stunning views of Orient Bay, wide enough to include both sunrises and sunsets (when we were there in February).

Other than the views, my favorite part of the villa was the pool. It has bench-type steps/seats for sitting and having a drink or where children can stand and play (supervised, of course). The pool is warmed by the sun through most of the day; part of the deck area is covered for those who prefer shade. The deck has plenty of lounge chairs and other comfortable seating for relaxing. The pool is deep enough and long enough to swim short lengths (widths?). A pool alarm is provided for children's safety.

We also loved the large sliding glass doors that open the living area, dining area, and kitchen to the outside. With the front door and kitchen windows open, a delicious breeze blows through, making air conditioning unnecessary (although it is available in the living area and all bedrooms).

The bed mattresses are quite firm, which may not be to everyone's taste. Like the rest of the villa, the bedrooms are whimsically decorated. The large master bedroom has two glass doors and a wide patio-style door opening onto the deck and the beautiful bay view.

The ensuite bathroom in the master bedroom provides somewhat less privacy than North Americans may be used to, being separated from the bedroom by a wall that doesn't reach the ceiling. A little judicious scheduling worked for us, however. Note that this reduction of privacy doesn't exist with the other bathroom in the villa, the one shared by the other two bedrooms, as that bathroom's WC is a separate, private room.

The kitchen is equipped well enough for most casual cooking. Marion, the villa's charming owner, assured us that anything we felt was missing from the kitchen would be provided. The pantry area adjacent to the kitchen includes a small washing machine; clothes are dried on an outside rack.

Cul-de-sac is a quiet rural/residential part of Saint Martin. A convenience store and a few restaurants are within walking distance (I can especially recommend Pancho Villa). Cul-de-sac is almost as far away from the airport as it could be, yet is still only a half-hour drive away (depending on the traffic and time of day, of course). Saint Martin is small enough that everything on the island is accessible via a reasonably short drive. Like all of Saint Martin, the Cul-de-sac area is quite hilly. You can walk to the Pinel Island ferry dock. There is a small, generally empty beach also within walking distance of the villa, although if you like your sand to be clean of seaweed you might prefer to drive to one of the many more popular public beaches in Saint Martin. At the end of Rue de Grand Caye, near the garbage dump, is the entrance to the Red Rock trail, a littoral path running all the way to Anse Marcel. Although the trail is quite rugged in places, it does afford some beautiful views and is well worth the effort.

We all enjoyed our two-week stay very much. Marion popped in from time to time to make sure everything was going well. One evening during an area-wide power failure, she came over to make sure we were ok and to find candles for us. We're looking forward to coming back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 27, 2017
un Grand MERCI !!!
Thank you so much !!!!!
Look forward to seeing you and the all family !
Marion
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMH2012
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed April 26, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Marion was a gracious host and provided all the information we needed to enjoy our vacation. The house is exactly as you see it, but better in person. The location is perfect; esp when going to Pinel Island and close by beaches. Thank you for the hospitality and I would certainly return once I'm in St Martin again.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 27, 2016
Thank you so much!
Marion
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmela N
1 review
“Dreaming of my return to St. Martin and Villa Au fil de l'eau”
Reviewed April 28, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I visited this villa in mid April with my husband, baby and relatives and since my return, I have been daydreaming about my return. I had a fabulous time in St. Martin. This villa was amazing. Great location, modern, clean, and well kept with access to all that is required. The villa is also very safe and secure with an alarm system for both the home and pool. Marion, the owner, is so very kind, accommodating, and very available to help with anything. I would strongly recommend this villa, as it will not disappoint.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 29, 2015
Thank you so much for your so nice review !
Look forward to seeing you !
Marion
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna B
Markham, Canada
1 review
“Private, safe and modern piece of paradise.”
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Our family had a fantastic vacation is St. Maarten only made more incredible by our choice to stay at this villa. The Villa offered our group- 4 adults and 3 children- ample, clean space and a beautiful view of the ocean. The kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed to do some light cooking. Add to that a gorgeous deck that is really an outdoor extension of the indoor living space and a private pool with a built in alarm system which provided an extra level of safety for our kids and we couldn't ask for anymore- except a longer stay there!
The villa was close to the dock for Pinel Island- by far our favourite beach- and there were good restaurants nearby. Having a rental car was necessary but we wouldn't have chosen to stay along a main road and sacrifice the serenity and privacy this location provided. Marion, the owner, was a great host- thank you for sharing your wonderful home with us!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location, view and private pool.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2015
Bonjour Anna!
Thank you so much for your so nice review.
It was a pleasure to share our villa to you , your friends and the children.
Look forward to seeing you !
Marion
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio N
1 review
“Beyond expectations!!!”
Reviewed April 18, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I am an avid trip advisor user who was extremely pleased with the accomodations. Marion was an excellent host and essentially acted as a concierge for anything you may need. The villa is stunning with a great view, beautiful finishes and quiet and private location.

The villa is actually better than the listing and is stocked with all the essentials to make sure your comfortable at all times.

There is no question that I will stay here again the next time I'm in St. Martin.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That the property was exactly as advertised - no negative surprises.
Liked least: the directions to the villa were slightly challenging (although the roads are not labelled)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 19, 2015
Thank you so much Antonio!
Thank you so much for your so nice review!!!
Look forward to seeing you !
Marion
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annabelle...
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed March 28, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The villa is lovely and Marion was so helpful before we arrived answering all of our questions and she was so helpful when we arrived. The villa is spacious with open views from every room to enjoy the ocean sounds and breezes. The pool was perfect for our daughter. We enjoyed returning each day to the quiet neighborhood and breathtaking views. It was a perfect getaway to relax, enjoy the villa and cooking all meals at the villa. We would definitely rent this villa again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Open concept and views of the ocean
Liked least: pool not heated
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 29, 2015
Thank you so much for your nice review !
Look forward to seeing you with A.
Take care.
Marion
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony D
Toronto
1 review
“The most unbelievable vacation we have ever had!”
Reviewed March 27, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

The perfect family vacation. Marion our host was very accommodating to me and my famil it was like having your own personal concierge. The property was absolutely stunning!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 29, 2015
Thank you so much !
It was a pleasure to meet you and all the family !
Look forward to seeing you.
Marion
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing