We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kitesurfing experience”

Wind Adventures - Watersports Lessons
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kiteschool , windsurfing school and sailing school - kite surf , windsurf, hobie cat, kayak, surfing, stand up paddle board rental and tours - Also motor boat (cap camarat) rental and sailboats rental - Excursions to Anguilla and St Barth aboard catamaran - Hotel packages available
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Kitesurfing experience”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I was on vacation in St. Martin last month. I signed up for a lesson at Wind Adventures based on the positive reviews here.

I am an intermediate-level kiter, and I had an individual lesson with Toon. He gave me some good tips, and I was riding upwind comfortably by the end of the 2 hour session.

Manu, the manager of the club, suggested afterwards that I take advantage of the upwind 'drops' the club offers. Security seems a high priority of the club. There's not a lot of room to launch kites from the beach and it's quite crowded most of the time. The price of the drops is very reasonable, 50 euro for 5 drops - which guarantees many hours of kiting in this large, windy, wide open bay.

Overall, its a great spot for all levels of kiters. No hesitation in recommending this place.

Visited June 2014
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to learn to wind-surf”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Great instruction, exceptional venue.. Stick around after wind-sufing/surfing and enjoy the local beach

Visited July 2014
Thank bryan_mac55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One week sailing around St Barth on Lagoon 38: INCREDIBLE!”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We are a family of 6 and have just returned from a one week sailing trip around St Barth with Captain Dominique, aboard Wind Adventure's Lagoon Catamaran. What an amazing experience! The Captain is friendly, knowledgeable and very discrete. We had total confidence in his skills and knowledge. The boat was beautiful - fully equipped with great sleeping quarters, a nice kitchen, dining tables inside and out, stand up paddle-boards and a small zodiac for the kids to enjoy Wake-boarding. We snorkelled, sailed, fished and hiked. A MARVELLOUS vacation. Merci Capitaine Dominique and Wind Adventures! We WILL be back...J & S

Visited April 2014
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Honest management”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We were going to rent a Hobie Wave during the day our cruise ship was visiting St. Martin. Since my husband loves sailing small boats I made a reservation with Wind Adventures and pre-paid for a three hour rental.

Unfortunately when we arrived there were very high waves (2-3 feet) on the water and high winds. (This is apparently very unusual for Orient Bay.) The management was very gracious about refunding our money in full. I appreciate their honesty, and if we come back to St. Martin we will be sure to try again on the sailboat rental!

Visited April 2014
Thank Meg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Unfriendly Owner”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This place has a unique situation on Orient beach,
among the few places on the island where to sail and kite.
Unfortunately the owner is barely polite, unfriendly and sometimes even rude.
You are not welcome here !
This makes your sailing experience disappointing.
If you get lucky you'll only have to deal with one of his staff.
There are other places for kitesurfing in SXM when you can meet nice people.

Visited March 2014
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
demanez e, Gérant at Wind Adventures - Watersports Lessons, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hi, Thank you for your comment. We are happy to have criticisms , specially to improve our customer's service. It seems, you don't describe the facts, and also you were not guest from us... (our guest enjoy our services , please, check the excellent comments on Trip Advisors).
May be you were one of the irresponsible kiter (we have many dangerous kiters who do'nt respect the spot, and we want to protect our spot so that tourists enjoy our beautifl spot. ...). For sure, we explain to people the rules, but we are not unpolite doing that We are friendly with recpectfull people.... So please, respect the rules and help us keep the spot safe. Windy regards Emmanuel demanez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wind Adventures - Watersports Lessons also viewed

Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin

Been to Wind Adventures - Watersports Lessons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing